We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most wonderful Vacation: Great House with the loveliest owner Sally”
Review of Casa Grande

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burgau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Grande
Ranked #4 of 4 Burgau B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had planned to only stay for a night and then move on, but ended up spendig the rest of our vacation there. We instantly fell in love with the old romantic house, its spacious rooms (each one of them painted and decorated in a different colour) and of course the owner, Sally. She is the most wonderful person, will help you with anything, is fun and interesting to talk to, knows the area and the people. Thank you so much Sally! The location is great, everything is walking-distance, hiking from Burgau is fantastic.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiffany G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 106 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you like bland, predictable, corporate hotels, then Casa Grande isn't the place for you. If you like warm hospitality, a unique and quirky atmosphere and a lovely location, then you'll love Casa Grande. Sally is a great hostess and we enjoyed sharing breakfast with her each morning and chatting over our plans for the day. Each of the bedrooms are differently decorated and furnished and have all the facilities you might need to ensure your comfort. But if you are looking for a tv and phone in your room, you wont find it. Casa Grande is not a luxury hotel, it is an interesting and engaging place to stay and will remain in your memory far longer than a visit to a 'name brand' hotel. Thanks Sally.

Stayed: March 2013
4  Thank Calmcglaughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I first came to casa grande in 2006 and fell in love with the place. i returned twice since then and plan to go back again soon. Very interesting and unique building. not your average guesthouse. the owner sally was very nice and tells great storys. the restaurant is fantastic. it is an old adega where they used to make wine in the olden days now converted to a beautiful little eatery with delicious food. i recommend the beef and cream, chicken and local sausage, the sole and the lightly seared tuna with sesame, but you cant go wrong with any of sallys dishes... yum yum
there are various room options for different budgets and also a beautiful cottage out back for family or larger groups. burgau is a beautiful little fishing village west of lagos. its nice and quite there with many amazing beaches nearby and some beautiful cliff top walks also.

Room Tip: if you have a big group or can afford it. go for the cottage out back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmadihen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

one of the most exciting holidays we ever had: stayed 4 weeks at Casa Grande! We met so many great people, musicians, had sessions and party all the time! And our host- lovely sally- was always having new plans. From fado night to rockn roll fever- she knows whats going on. We visited all the wonderful different beaches in and next to Burgau- the small cosy ones and the large ones whith huge waves- perfekt for surfing. Love and laughter is the spirit of Casa Grande- a beautiful old house, with rooms in different colours. A perfekt place for all people beeing open minded, creative and young at heart! We hope the house- and its owner- still reminds us well- as we do!! Andy and Conny

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank conandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Visited this beautiful old grand mansion with my girlfriend in September 2012. It was great, in spite of the rain falling the whole 3 days we spend there. Sally is a warm, friendly and joyful person.

She was having her birthday and we even got invited to her birthday party and met a lot of her friends and family! We really had a wonderful time here!!

Thank you Sally and take care of yourself and your war family who welcomed us with open arms!!

Room Tip: Be aware that there are no locks on the door. We had the room on the ground floor, but we felt very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mirella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Visited on a Sunday evening in November, quite a few customers in and service prompt and efficient. Starters nice but pizzas ok and no more, glad we went and tried it out but probably use one of the other pizza resturants in the village next time

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ianto999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Not for those who like everything spotless and sanitised. Full of old world character and charm which includes the very friendly and entertaining hostess.
Like staying with a favourite aunt. A beautiful old house with spacious bedrooms and balconies. Close to beach and centre of an attractive fishing village. Well worth visiting. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Morris1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burgau
3.2 mi away
Salema Beach Village
Salema Beach Village
#1 of 3 in Salema
145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quinta Do Mar Da Luz
5.0 mi away
Villa Valmar
Villa Valmar
#24 of 53 in Lagos
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
#3 of 10 in Sagres
1,493 reviews
5.2 mi away
Canavial I & II Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Praia do Burgau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande

Address: Rua Principal | Burgau, Lagos, Algarve, Burgau 8650-117, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Burgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Burgau
Price Range: $40 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Hotel Burgau
Casa Grande Burgau, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing