We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, pity about the service”

Esquina Restaurante
Ranked #4 of 31 Restaurants in Burgau
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 29, 2019

Esquina was recommended to us so visited for the first time this week. Nicely decorated, buzzing but the service was not. After getting a drink and ordering starters, nothing fancy - soup/sardine passed bread, we waited 15 mins. Main meal came soon after that and was fantastic. One meal duck, the other monkfish. We then waited another 15 mins til we were asked if we would like to see the dessert menu, yes we said. It didn’t appear! In the end we decided to ask for the bill and leave. The problem was that the two young men running the restaurant kept disappearing out the door to talk on the phone or other people.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 413 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Great food and well prepared, some confusion over order was quickly resolved, but could be bit more attentive. Nevertheless a great meal.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank fishnship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2019 via mobile

First time in Burgau, first restaurant tried, 10 out of 10. Me and the wife had the monk fish for 2 and it was to die for, best meal we’ve had for many a year. Daughter had the steak with creamy mushroom sauce. Her plate was left spotless nuff said.
The atmosphere was nice and friendly as were the staff.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank jetdaddio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019 via mobile

Have eaten here many times now & all the food is amazing. All fresh ingredients and the owner Jorge & his son Harrison make you feel so welcome.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank Carron15_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

We visited here twice whilst on our trip to burgau it’s quite high end but very nice food and lovely staff. I myself are coeliac and they were very accommodating for me with many gluten free options, also the staff spoke very good English which made it easier. They had a good range of alcohol and overall the food was lovely. Booking is advised as it’s quite small.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank _laurenjackson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Esquina Restaurante also viewed

Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Esquina Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing