We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing meal of local foods with a modern twist and reasonable prices”

Restaurante Caravela
Ranked #15 of 31 Restaurants in Burgau
Price range: $11 - $51
Description: See us, NEW MANAGEMENT, every day fresh seafood, fresh fish, lamb rack, duck breast and other specialities. We are waiting for you.
Restaurant details
Description: See us, NEW MANAGEMENT, every day fresh seafood, fresh fish, lamb rack, duck breast and other specialities. We are waiting for you.
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Last night we dined in Caravela for the first time. The menu was varied and the staff were knowledgable and friendly. We had a variety of breads to start with a bittersweet compote, aubergine paste and flavoured olive oils. We both had orange carpaccio with dried figs and mint to follow which was refreshing and subtly flavoured. My husband had chicken stuffed with spinach as a main and I had the most delicious octopus and two bean stew. It seemed rude not to go for a dessert as well! These did not disappoint - ice cream for me with flavours I have not previously experienced while my husband had chocolate mousse flavoured with lavender and served with an almond soup! All of this was washed down by a very reasonably priced and absolutely delicious house red. Each course was beautifully presented and the staff are clearly passionate about the food created at Caravela.
Situated as you enter Burgau, it does not have a sea view but nevertheless, you are missing an amazing food experience if you don't pay Caravela a visit.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sallytravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 108 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Visited with friends mid-week and had a fantastic meal, ordered an assortment of breads with pots of fish, seaweed and chutney, followed by fillet steak, cod loin, chicken stuffed with spinach. It was a sublime experience and I recommend this restaurant. Staff attentive and took the time to explain the menu. Well worth a visit

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank michelle31c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016 via mobile

A breath of culinary fresh air in Burgau. Fresh ingredients, exciting menu from a young chef and excellent service. Portuguese cooking with a twist. The Prawn Tagine was delicious as were the unique puddings. Great value for money. Highly recommend it - go and see for yourself.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank BomdiaMiddx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2016

Under new management so decided to give it a go. The menu sounds a bit 'out there' but great flavours. Good service, a very interesting menu with something for everyone. Enjoyed it immensely. Staff eager to assist and please.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Visited tonight with my husband and enjoyed the experience so much just had to review before going to sleep. The menu is exciting with traditional Portuguese dishes given a modern twist. With help we ordered a local, light and fruity bottle of red wine . We were advised of the daily specials by Marco, one of the two waiters. After perusing the menu opted to share an appetizer of artisan breads with seaweed mousse and sardines accompanied by the most delicious and unusual olive oil I have ever tried with a savoury dish. It was favoured with cinnamon and orange. There was also a second oil flavoured with herbs. We went on to share a starter of sweet potato, cooked in its skin, topped with rocket, black olive tempenade and sardines. It was served cold and was really unusual and very tasty. For mains we had rack of lamb, which was served with saute new potatoes and Mediterranean vegetables and the special of octopus stew which contained red, white and black beans in a delicious sauce that also contained chorizo, bacon lardons and vegetables. We looked at the dessert menu and although were not particularly planning on ordering were so intrigued by several of the dishes that we couldn't resist and had the chocolate mousse and speciality ice cream. This was rounded off by coffee with the addition of complimentary port and a very interesting chat to Romiro, the other waiter. We were pleasantly surprised when our bill came compared to some of the other restaurants in Burgau. We enjoyed the evening so much that we immediately booked again for our last meal next week before returning home. We agree with other reviewers that the lightening is bright and chatted to Marco about this. He explained that they were in the process of organizing the fitting of a dimmer switch. Only downside was the restaurant was quiet but it has only been open a very few weeks. Would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lonsie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Caravela also viewed

Burgau, Faro District
Burgau, Faro District
 
Burgau, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante Caravela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing