We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monte do Papa Leguas
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Monte da Figueira(Zambujeira do Mar)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel(Sao Teotonio)(Great Value!)
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
HS Milfontes Beach(Vila Nova de Milfontes)
$80
$77
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Duna Parque(Vila Nova de Milfontes)(Great Value!)
$103
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vicentina Hotel(Aljezur)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$231
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$145
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spa d'Alma(Monchique)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveler rating
44
19
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
19
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was delicioustraditional stylehome made cakeslovely poolplace to stayclaudiahonestywifiaccommodationbeachesportugalhouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 66 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2014

What a delightful B&B and one we shall definitely be returning to - next time hopefully the weather will be kinder! And we shall get to try out the very inviting looking pool. Our welcome from Claudia set the scene for a perfect stay, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely lounge, the evening candles so relaxing. And the breakfast, one of the best we have ever had.
Looking forward very much to our second visit.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed 6 nights in early September. We needed a peacecful, quiet break and Monte do Papa Leguas was exactly what we needed! I don't know where to start with praising this place. The hospitality was just exquisite, Claudia went the extra mile to make us feel welcomed and at home, and we cannot thank her enough for that. As others have mentioned, the breakfast was AMAZING. Every day we got a different, delicious cake, fresh fruit (again, they changed every day: different types of berries, melon, watermelon, etc.), fresh goat's cheese, 2 different types of bread, 2 different types of jams/preserves (I LOVED the pumpkin jam!!), scrambled eggs, ham, freshly squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee. We were able to borrow beach towels, a beach umbrella, beach tennis rackets... The pool was really nice, although with such stunning beaches in short proximity we only used it twice in a week! Zambujeira do Mar is a 5-minute drive away, there was plenty of free parking spaces when we went and the beach is beautiful. Although our favourite beach was Carvalhal (about 15 minutes by car away, via the village of Brejao - I wouldn't recommend using the dirt road that gets there from the top of Zambujeira beach unless you have a 4x4 vehicle!). Just sun, beach, and the ocean... Bliss! Our room was big and very comfortable, with the HUGEST bed I have ever seen! It was quite hot during the day but cool at night. We didn't have any problems with mosquitos in September, but anyway every room has one of those anti-mosquito electric diffusers.
It was the perfect holiday for us and we loved the Alentejo area, the stunning Atlantic beaches, the rough cliffs and dramatic landscapes. I wish we had stayed longer and we will surely go back!

Room Tip: In room 5 (next to the reception) you get very good wifi signal!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Polpetta1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a beautiful part of the country and this hotel is a lovely rural retreat from the (low key in June) bustle of Zambujeira do Mar. We stayed for two nights in mid June and did part of the fisherman's trail in both directions which is well marked with good maps outside the church down in Zambujeira do Mar. The breakfast was excellent with homemade cakes and jams and the lovely fresh soft cheese they eat in Portugal for breakfast - lovely on bread or toast with a drizzle of honey. The rooms were very pleasantly decorated in a traditional style with the traditional building style too - bamboo rafters. You can specify, when you book online, to have a twin or double bed. It seems common in Portugal, perhaps because of the heat, to have large twin beds pushed together instead of doubles. In this case, as we specified a double, the twin beds were made up as one really enormous bed. We had to radio across during the night, 'Are you still there?'
The other plus was a lovely cool pool which is ideal in this climate and especially as the atlantic ocean can be a bit too wild at times for a decent swim. Another good idea here, as there is no staff present on site after 8pm, is the bar with an honesty system. You help yourself to a beer or wine and just declare what you had on a coupon and pay when you are checking out. There is a lovely shared outdoor space with tables and chairs and the small bar.

Although we liked this place a lot, our main criticism was the sound proofing between rooms - really very poor. We could hear our neighbours too well. This might put us off coming back as we didn't have a great night sleep between that and the mosquito.

Thought for the day: If you are feeling powerless in your life, just think what damage one little mosquito can do in a room for a night!

Room Tip: Maybe room No 1 as you will only have neighbours on one side
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bayheads12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Advantages:
First and foremost - breakfasts! I have to admit, I usually don't sleep in TOP20 world hotels, but I have been here and there, and have never been so much spoiled by the breakfast. Homemade cake, natural juice fresly squeezed, fruits etc. The drawback is that breakfast starts at 9, so if you are running/biking or having other activities early, this can be a problem.

Other advantage is location - if you are looking for calmness, relax and quietness - this is a perfect place. From stable apartments you get views to open fields. Apartments are also quite well equipped with a little kitchen annex. Decor is really appealing if you like rustic style (wood, bricks etc.), great attention to details.

Good place for children - lots of space. Very good pool - decent size, separated by a pine forest and a wall from rest of the resort which make it calm even during windy days, very clean (as the rooms and everything else was).

Resort is located around 2 km from the center of the village and nearby beach, car is a must.

Wi-fi worked well, staff was friendly and helpful.

Disadvantages:
Our double room had in fact two single beds put together which substantially lowered the sleep quality. In my opinion this should not be the case in this standard hotel.

Stable apartments are a bit too dark, larger window would be really nice. It is generally designed to spend whole day and evening outside.

Resort provides free bikes for guests use (which is a great features), quite decent machines but for a biker - my heart was crying to see them being so poorly maintained!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomaszSKrakow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This B&B is more like a hostel than a hotel - no-one lives there at night.
It consists of 5 rooms and 3 converted stables, with a communal area and pool, all created from a farmer's field in the middle of the countryside, but quite close to Zambujeira and the sea.
Plus points:
- quiet
- large pool
- quaint stable rooms (we stayed in one - a little dark and musty, but has a veranda)
- good breakfasts (served from 09:00 - 12:00 - too late for early risers).
Minus points:
- nothing to do in the evenings
- beds were quite hard
- no views.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RumsbyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews