We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Herdade do Touril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herdade do Touril
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stay here!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two nights here in early December and it was wonderful. It is very rural and peaceful so do not stay here if you want bright lights and activity but if you want a few nights' retreat in the countryside near the sea then this is your place. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful. Our room was gorgeous with a lovely bathroom and terrace which in the summer would be amazing. The pool looked great but we didn't get in it! The sitting room was very comfortable and has good wi-fi, and breakfast was delicious. Because we stayed in December a lot of the local restaurants that Angela normally recommended were closed but we found good pizza in Zambujeira so no complaints. We walked within the Herdade's property down to the sea and it was great. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BristolMartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
85
194
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We arrived as tired strangers and left as refreshed, enthused travellers! This is a property that we will return to for a longer stay to enjoy the tranquility and tender care od the staff! A real tourism gem in a fabulous setting!

Room Tip: Try to avoid interleading rooms if you want real tranquility
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank safarigirlsafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Perfect Infrastructure, 2 nice seafood restaurants nearby, nice walks and a great and cosy lounge to finish the day with a Porto.
The Staff was very friendly but also discrete in order to give you privacy and calm. They provided useful information about the nearby beaches and villages.
We really appreciated very much this guest house.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big_L_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

this place was really cool. The property it was on was stunning. They have bikes to use, and the path you take is right on huge cliffs on teh ocean. We had a suite and loved it. Big, comfortable with great patios. breakfast was good, and they gave us a home made loaf on departure. I think thsi would be a great place for extended stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teliguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed for just one night at this lovely hotel in October on a walking holiday where we were walking from hotel to hotel along the Ruta Vicentina. This was our favourite hotel as it was beautifully situated with well-appointed rooms with private terrace and sun loungers and an inviting (although too cold for us!) pool. Having walked some 18km to get there, we were very impressed by and grateful for the warm welcome from Angela and the huge glass of freshly squeezed orange juice she offered us. The hotel is a large country manor house with additional buildings and one has the impression of being a guest in someone's home. The reception rooms are tastefully decorated and inviting and there is also an honesty bar. Breakfast was also delicious. There is not a restaurant (we were there out of season so perhaps it is different at other times of the year) but there are two restaurants in the next hamlet about 5 minutes by car from the hotel..Altogether a great experience and we would definitely like to return in the future. Recommended.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room in the main house overlooking the pool with a bougainvillia-covered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summtheone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was lovely staying at Herdade do Touril. I could easily imagine to stay there for more days. We loved the surrounding, the smell of the see and herbs, the cliffs (although a bit dangerous to go to the nearest beach) but there is an easy axcess to the beach in Zambujeira.
We could even change to a better room without paying more. Everything is done with love and proudness.
Breakfast was lovely with tables outside. I can truly recommend staying at this beautiful place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NathalieStreit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salamanca, Spain
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

we have stayed for 3 nights in October month in Touril. The service is very friendly and helpful and the all property very well taken care, The rooms are confortable, simple and with a feel-at-home touch. So is the breakfast, not fancy but very local touch and delicious. The surroundings are beautiful and you can walk to the cliffs and enjoy beautiful sea and countryside views. Proximity to very nice restaurants and to Zambujeira do Mar to where you can drive or alternatively bike (bikes available in Touril for guests use).
We have stayed as a couple with a 4 month old baby in a room part of the main complex (other 4-5 rooms only in this part of the Touril) but plan to come with our older children as the several houses available in the property ensure a perfect accomodation for a family.

Room Tip: if you have small children propose you ask for rooms not in main building that is very close and ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 750Maria_C750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zambujeira do Mar
7.2 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
74 reviews
17.0 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte do Papa Leguas
Monte do Papa Leguas
#1 of 2 in Zambujeira do Mar
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
250 reviews
10.6 mi away
Herdade do Amarelo Nature & Spa
2.7 mi away
Monte Das Alpenduradas
Monte Das Alpenduradas
#2 of 12 in Zambujeira do Mar
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade do Touril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade do Touril

Property: Herdade do Touril
Address: Herdade do Touril - Turismo Rural | Zambujeira do Mar, Zambujeira do Mar, Odemira 7630-734, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Odemira > Zambujeira do Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Zambujeira do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Herdade do Touril 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 4 km from Zambujeira do Mar and about 20 km from Vila Nova de Milfontes, within the Natural Park of south-east Alentejo, this unit provides a new concept in tourism. The Herdade do Touril de Baixo provides a relaxing retreat whatever the time of year. In the summer, cool off in the gorgeous outdoor pool, and in the winter, curl up in the lounge by the warmth and character of our real fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herdade do Touril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Do Touril Hotel Zambujeira Do Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing