We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”
Review of Herdade do Touril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Herdade do Touril
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beautifully decorated rooms. It has got a very nice swimming pool which we did not have the chance to enjoy. Very nice breakfast. It is a very good place indeed. Good location too, very near an astnonishing cape. Good service.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliaDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
85
195
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I had a fantastic overnight stay in the Herdade do Touril in Zambujeira do Mar in Portugal last week. The property is absolutely exquisite surrounded by gently rolling hills and sunflowers fields. The Herdade has repurposed an old Portuguese ranch, including the original home, where some guest rooms are located. Other guest rooms are located in adjacent buildings. It has all the modern amenities a guest could ask for combined with an authentic rustic feel. Remnants from the ranch make up a mini museum throughout the main guest house with old farm tools and other items dating back to the 18th century decorated beautifully in the rooms. It is ideal both for couples or families seeking an alternative type of refuge in Portugal. The staff were extremely kind and helpful during our brief stay. They recommended the best restaurants in the local town of Zambujeira and gave us a traditional loaf of Alentejo bread at the end of our stay. In addition, we asked for a pair of sandwiches and a large bottle of water to take out on our initial bike ride which were supposed to be charged to our room. When we checked out we were told they were "on the house" and we weren't charged at all. A very nice little gift. The property comprises many kilometers and you can utilize the bike or hiking trails (with free bikes to use whenever you wish) to get around and explore. About a 5-10 minute bike ride away you'll find a beautiful, secluded beach at the base of some cliffs. If you're brave enough you can climb down the makeshift trail to get to the sand. It was peak beach season in Portugal and we sat on a beach with only a handful of other people. Truly a remarkable and wonderful experience. This was one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever visited and the Herdade do Touril was one of the best rustic/boutique hotels we've ever stayed in. I cannot offer enough praise in this brief review. If you visit the west coast of Portugal in the Alentejo region, the Herdade do Touril in the only place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miguel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at Herdado do Touril for 4 nights in July 2012 and really enjoyed it. The town of Zambujeira is a little gem. For those used to UK holidays, a bit like Cornwall but hot and sunny. A very civilised and tidy resort, with mainly Portugese holiday-makers, plus a few other Eurpoeans. Ideal for families. The Herdado was delightful, clean, characterful, peaceful and very well equipped. A great pool and surround, not too busy and plenty of loungers. It's a couple of miles from town so you'll need to be driving. Some great restaurants in town and nearby, but all a car drive.

Room Tip: Some rooms are quite remote from the central facilities, others are right on top of them, so conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This was our 'break' in between hefty sightseeing around Portugal & Spain and what a great choice! From the start, the staff were polite, helpful & informative. We wanted a fridge - we got a fridge! Breakfast great with lots of choice. Lovely pool & a wonderful setting. Free use of bikes & towels. You will need a car if you stay here as it is at least 25 minutes walk from the nearest restaurant, and about an hour's walk to the nearest town - Zambujeira Do Mar (NOT Odemira!). Their 'private' beach involved a rope to get down (!) but with a car you have access to so many beautiful beaches of Alentejo.
Only tiny criticism - if you are looking for a completely peaceful retreat, be prepared to share with lots of children & families which appear round the pool on occasions. And a suggestion - why not do evening meals - they'd make a fortune! And the post box on the wall is a fake!
Overall, amazing and we also enjoyed our surprise when we left!

Room Tip: Stay in the main house - it overlooks pool & in same house as breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sclate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We wanted to get away from the Algarve for a few days at the end of our holiday and Herdade do Touril was the ideal location. It's not that far from the Algarve but a massive difference from the commercialism and intensity. The minute we arrived it felt like a different world. It's so peaceful and remote (but not that far from the restaurants and shops in Zambujeira do Mar).

The rooms are split over a number of small buildings that are spread out across the estate. We stayed in the Junior Suite in Pastors House which was excellent. The small kitchen had everything you could ask for and the fridge was stocked with everything needed for breakfast. There was even a freshly baked cake awaiting our arrival and they bought fresh bread every morning. The house is the furthest from the main building and closest to the beach. It was wonderful to wake up to nothing expect the birds chirping.

The staff were friendly and helpful and it was great to experience a little of the real Portugal. It was nice to go into a restaurant where the menu wasn't printed in 5 languages and the waiter's English was very limited. It's all part of the fun.

We had a totally relaxing time and would recommend it as a great place to visit if you want to experience more of what Portugal has to offer.

Room Tip: Choose a room in one of the outbuildings if you want extra privacy and peace - either Pastors or Fei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just 200Km from Lisbon. Excellent accommodation, food (try the strawberry ice cream),and staff. Near the nicest beaches of Alentejo. Very quiet and charming. Enjoy nature at its best. And ... you have surprise when you leave.

Room Tip: Suite Dossel - Casa do Feitor - the modern style
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuisaFSPorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is the first time I've written a review on tripadvisor after using the site many times to research places before booking.Staying at Herdade do Touril for 9 nights finally prompted me to actually write a review myself. Our stay was very very enjoyable not just for the fact that the place is relaxing and in a superb location (if you like the outdoors and tranquility) but also because the service is so personal. We were shown where to eat some great food in local restaurants, where to find some great local beaches, info on walks, bike rides and just general places to visit. The Herdade itself is a great place to spend your time and the surrounding area is a lovely place to explore. The staff are worth a special mention as they made the stay feel even more relaxing with great service plus you can have up to 12 noon if you have had late night. We would love to go back there the next time we visit the Alentejo region or just want to chill out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zambujeira do Mar
7.2 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
17.0 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte do Papa Leguas
Monte do Papa Leguas
#1 of 2 in Zambujeira do Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Herdade do Amarelo Nature & Spa
2.7 mi away
Monte Das Alpenduradas
Monte Das Alpenduradas
#2 of 12 in Zambujeira do Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Monte do Zeca
Monte do Zeca
#3 of 12 in Zambujeira do Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade do Touril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade do Touril

Property: Herdade do Touril
Address: Herdade do Touril - Turismo Rural | Zambujeira do Mar, Zambujeira do Mar, Odemira 7630-734, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Odemira > Zambujeira do Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Zambujeira do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Herdade do Touril 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 4 km from Zambujeira do Mar and about 20 km from Vila Nova de Milfontes, within the Natural Park of south-east Alentejo, this unit provides a new concept in tourism. The Herdade do Touril de Baixo provides a relaxing retreat whatever the time of year. In the summer, cool off in the gorgeous outdoor pool, and in the winter, curl up in the lounge by the warmth and character of our real fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Herdade do Touril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Do Touril Hotel Zambujeira Do Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing