We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Herdade do Touril

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herdade do Touril
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

This is the first time I've written a review on tripadvisor after using the site many times to research places before booking.Staying at Herdade do Touril for 9 nights finally prompted me to actually write a review myself. Our stay was very very enjoyable not just for the fact that the place is relaxing and in a superb location (if you like the outdoors and tranquility) but also because the service is so personal. We were shown where to eat some great food in local restaurants, where to find some great local beaches, info on walks, bike rides and just general places to visit. The Herdade itself is a great place to spend your time and the surrounding area is a lovely place to explore. The staff are worth a special mention as they made the stay feel even more relaxing with great service plus you can have up to 12 noon if you have had late night. We would love to go back there the next time we visit the Alentejo region or just want to chill out.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    51
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
84
190
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We did a trip to Portugal and stayed a few days in Touril. The arrival was very good. From the moment we arrived, we really felt at ease. We stayed in one of the houses and this gave us some more privacy. It feels like you are both on your own and at the same time everything is prepared for you... Also The location is really magnificent. It is only a 5 min walk to the cliffs / beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Herdade do Touril is so calm and quiet that we can enjoy the breeze, the splash of the ocean while reading a nice book, and then go on the bicycles for an excellent meal in one of the restaurants close by. Eat some excellent seafood or grilled fish and come back and take a nice walk watching the natural fauna, and the birds along the coast.

The staff are the real soul of this place as they really make you feel at home, the trust system works great as you can help yourself to whatever you want in the house and then just write down what you drank or ate, they also make it easy to do some trekking routes, with all the detailed information, maps and locations.

It's a dream spot for love and for couples that want to have a really nice time in the west of Portugal.

We loved it there

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrySteinbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed in Touril for a couple of nights and had a lovely time. The place has been slowly but tastefuly renovated and looks really nice. The staff is extremely helpful, discrete and friendly. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Friendly staff, beautiful place. It was exactly what we needed to relax and recharge the batteries.

Room Tip: Rooms with WI-FI available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

we really enjoyed our short weekend stay - wonderful landscape together with very nicely arranged rooms in old farm houses.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

One of my favorite spots in the world to stay, for the simplicity, warm feeling of home when I walk through the door of the main house. Also, the breakfast is always very good, with homemade bread and fresh orange juice, fresh everything. I particularly like the great, unique and ranch-style decorations throughout the place, and the rooms are very nice, everything solid and well thought-out for comfort. Stay, and take an early morning and evening bike ride for free along the bluffs for some scenic coastline.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zambujeira do Mar
7.2 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
17.0 mi away
Herdade da Matinha
Herdade da Matinha
#1 of 2 in Cercal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monte do Papa Leguas
Monte do Papa Leguas
#1 of 2 in Zambujeira do Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Casa do Adro
Casa do Adro
#1 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
10.7 mi away
Herdade do Amarelo Nature & Spa
2.7 mi away
Monte Das Alpenduradas
Monte Das Alpenduradas
#2 of 12 in Zambujeira do Mar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade do Touril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade do Touril

Property: Herdade do Touril
Address: Herdade do Touril - Turismo Rural | Zambujeira do Mar, Zambujeira do Mar, Odemira 7630-734, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Odemira > Zambujeira do Mar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Zambujeira do Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herdade do Touril 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 4 km from Zambujeira do Mar and about 20 km from Vila Nova de Milfontes, within the Natural Park of south-east Alentejo, this unit provides a new concept in tourism. The Herdade do Touril de Baixo provides a relaxing retreat whatever the time of year. In the summer, cool off in the gorgeous outdoor pool, and in the winter, curl up in the lounge by the warmth and character of our real fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Herdade do Touril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Do Touril Hotel Zambujeira Do Mar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing