We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxurious hide-away in the beautiful hinterland...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cercal, Setubal District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
pescador2...
Bremen, Germany
1 review
“Luxurious hide-away in the beautiful hinterland of Alentejo”
Reviewed January 22, 2018 for a stay in September 2017

Nestled between old cork oaks and surrounded by rolling hills this vacation home offers everything you need to relax.
We stayed for two weeks with our two little daughters and enjoyed it so much. One can easily spend the days in the garden, strolling around the cork oak plantation and later having a Barbecue in the little garden. To get to the coast and nearby beaches it takes 20 to 30 minutes by car.
Toby and Cher are great and lovely hosts! Unobtrusive yet always within reach to answer questions or to help, they made us feel at home from the first day. We‘d be happy to visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inmaculad...
Dos Hermanas, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace, quiet and starry sky with the highest confort”
Reviewed December 11, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Everything was just perfect! The house was provided with all types of good quality facilities to make your stay pleasant, including a very efficient wood-burning stove and even underfloor heating !!! The house is charming and decorated with a nice style. Additionally, it is placed in a very peaceful hill, with an amazing landscape where the lack of light pollution offers you a striking starry sky. And all this, close to very interesting places, like Vila Nova de Mil Fontes, coastal lagoons or roman ruins of Mirobriga.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marta A
1 review
“Amazing week”
Reviewed September 4, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

All of our dreams were accomplished in Sernadinha. The house is perfect, with a lot of little details, all that you can need in a week, the atmosphere is very relaxed, and we loved cook and have dinner in the garden. The toilet is amazing, and we took a relaxing bath enyoying the views. The countryside is very special and quietly. At night you can see the stars and nothing to ear....Toby and Cher were extremely friendly and offered us some traditional wine, vegetables and fruits from their garden. Beaches from Villanova de Milfontes, Porto Covo and Zambujeira are spectacular. It has been the best week in this year. I hope we'll go there again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WG007
Koenigswinter, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful house - beautiful countryside - Toby an Cher are the best hosts!”
Reviewed September 3, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We certainly do agree with all the nice and positive things written in the reviews before.
Furthermore we want to mention that the location is really fantastic! It is very quiet, so you can hear and see bee-eaters, stonechats and crested larks.
Cher and Toby have their own vegetable garden. They gave us several wonderful things to cook and offered us the possibility to pick more, if we would like to. In the kitchen we found beside other delicious things "selfmade" olive oil, herbs and honey from the region.
Three houses in a hills landscape, far apart offering privacy, lots of enchanting details in and around the house and - not at least: lovely hosts let us spent a wonderful week in August.
We certainly would like to come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Анна Д
Kiev, Ukraine
2 reviews
“A little paradise in Alentejo”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The house is fantastic, traditional but totally renovated with great taste and love. Toby and Cher are very friendly and helpful. There are many beautiful beaches in the area as well as small villages where you can buy fresh fish and cook it on a BBQ which you have near the house. This is the best place to enjoy real Portugal in totally comfortable and inspiring environment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marko a
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect countryside getaway”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Our family of four found Casa Velha to more than exceed our expectations. The house is equipped with all the facilities of a modern home, elegantly decorated with extremely good taste and style perfectly matching the countryside scenery. Hills and valleys provide a soothing backdrop for the house and its charming garden. To spend a day on the beach the magnificent Atlantic coast is within 30 minutes drive. Still need an extra level of tranquility? Just switch off the Wi-Fi access point. Also, the hosts were incredibly helpful and friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvo N
1 review
“A wonderful and peaceful corner of Alentejo”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Such a nice experience!
The location itself and the property were surprisingly great.
First the location, you definitely need a car to get there, but it's worth it!

Atlantic Ocean (25 min car drive) both for surfing and for beach holidays, several nice towns around (less than 15 min car drive), as well as the touch of agriturismo concept - everything can be found at the location.

As for the property: you will find really well equipped little villa, which is not so usual. Devil is in the details. Everything you touch - kitchen tools, bed linens, dishes - is new and high quality.

All together it makes your staying so enjoyable and you definitely want to get back once again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing