We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay during Spring”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open the gates and there it is! Welcome inside the mill's cosy lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Open the gates and there it is!
Welcome inside the mill's cosy lounge.
Woodburner for those colder months.
Ideal setting for a romantic evening.
Up the winding stairs.
Ensuite bedroom in the mill.
Super King size bed.
Ensuite Bathroom.
Single bedroom with bunk beds.
The mill is full of features.
Typical Portuguese tiling.
A perfect place for lunch.
The annex.
Kitchen / Diner with open fire and bread oven.
Seating for eight.
Seating area.
Double Bedroom
Annex Bathroom with Rain Forest Shower.
Explore the outdoor space.
Pretty Gardens.
Plenty of space to relax.
Enjoy a glass of wine on the terrace.
Time for a dip!
Outdoor Shower.
Purpose built BBQ
Enjoy some outdoor cooking!
It's beautiful at night too.
Far reaching views.
Secluded but not isolated.
A serene pace of life as seen from the mill.
Even poor weather brings beautiful views.
Beautiful sunsets.
Stunning!
Inquisitive neighbours.
Attractive local shop.
Seafood platter for two. 25 Euros at a local restaurant.
The mill as seen through the cornfield.
Local walks.
Wonderful countryside - perfect walks from the mill.
Meet and make new friends!
View of the coast - a 45 minute walk away from the mill.
Villa Nova De Milfontes - a fifteen minute drive from Windmill Hill.
Porto Covo - 20 minutes drive from Windmill Hill.
Fantastic beaches.
Hidden coves.
Pristine beaches.
Coastal walks.
A wild but beautiful coastline.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cercal, Setubal District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Elly K
Chiang Rai, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay during Spring”
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We had a great time at windmill hill. We stayed there during March and April.
Although it is the beginning of Spring the weather is pleasant and in the beautiful enclosed garden there are many areas you can sit to enjoy the sun or out of the wind. It can be very windy around the mill; maybe Keith and Fiona better put a sign to inform the wind the Mill is inoperative. During the evening the gas heater and the open fire makes it pleasant to stay in the large kitchen-dining-living room.
We didn't use the available swimming pool, because we find the water still too cold. Instead we did a lot of hiking. The surroundings is so beautiful and there are many paths around the Windmill that you can take.
It's a place we can recommend if you love hiking and nature and would like to experience staying in a Converted Windmill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TedWynne
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Winter Break”
Reviewed February 21, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We rented Windmill Hill for our February half-term get-away, with another teaching couple. We stayed in the beautiful old converted windmill and our friends stayed in the annexe within the same grounds. We were all very comfortable but, because it was mid-winter, we didn't spend much time lounging by the pool. Instead, thanks to Shona's recommendations, we went on some super walks beginning at the gates of the property, and enjoyed some delicious authentic Portuguese meals in the nearby town of Cercal. In the evenings, the lovely wood burning stove and thoughtfully provided DVD player, games and hot water bottles kept us nice and cosy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarew610
Kelso, United Kingdom
1 review
“A genuine rural Potuguese experience”
Reviewed October 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The windmill is a lovely place to stay as it has gorgeous views and lots of different places to sit in, although, it can sometimes be windy sitting outside, particularly on the Mill terrace. There is one place, at the bottom of the pool (not literally), where it is sheltered - we often ate there during the day. The Mill itself still has lots of character and the enclosed gardens give the place a very private feel.
It is in a great location with lots of places to visit that are not far away (Santiago de Cacem, Porto Covo, Villa nova Milfontes, Odemira, Almagrave to name a few). Currently it is not too touristy, which we liked, and there is still a feel of authentic Portugal about the whole area. The fact that the coast is a protected nature reserve is great, as it is very unlikely to be developed. The wines and cheeses were great and the pastries – well what can we say!!!!
All in all it was a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location in a rural, unspoilt part of Portugal
Liked least: Getting onto the motorway from the airport!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
512jenny
Muscat, Oman
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, peaceful place.”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed at the windmill with my husband and sister in August 2015. The windmill and the garden are beautiful. The accommodation in both the windmill and annexe is really comfortable.There is a 360 degree view of the Alentejo countryside from the balcony in the windmill and stunning sunsets and sunrises. There are plenty of things to do around Cercal, but just hanging out by the pool is a holiday in itself. Thanks to Shona and Keith and to Fred who is always available for information and any help required. I hoe we can get back there soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hanging out in the courtyard in the evening.
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Windmill with pool and annex building in own grounds, privacy and facilities.”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed our stay at the windmill on the hill, it is extremelly private in its own walled in area. It is accessed via a country lane (we used rental Nissan Micra car) and is situated in the middle of rural fields. Large pool with plenty of areas to sit and enjoy sun or shade. Met by Fred (English speaking Dutch) who was extremely helpful, gave his mobile and only arrived on request or as previos agreed. Would advise picking up a local tour map as there are plenty of secluded beaches only fifteen to twenty minutes away.
Local village Cercal has supermarkets and bars etc.
We travelled from Faro airport around one and half hours, easy drive on the motorway.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usuenckse...
Cercal, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing