We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magnificent retreat”
Review of Herdade da Matinha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herdade da Matinha
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cercal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I felt relaxed and at home the very moment I got to the place. The welcome was warm and the owner and staff looked after us as though we were part of the family or long lost friends.
Our room was very comfortable and stylish. One can see that the owners had spent considerable time and care with the interior design of the establishment. I do not speak portugese but this did not present any problem with the staff understanding me. In fact, English was spoken with ease by all the key staff.
Now lets talk about the food and wine. One word- "Superb"!! In fact, I would go back just for the food alone. I spent a week here and every day dinner was excellent. The selection of very very good Portugese wine married well with the food.
I have already booked for a stay during 2013 and cannot wait.

Room Tip: Get Alfredo, the owner, to make the wine suggestions to go with diner. He never fails to impress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

99 - 105 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Quite simply the most inspirational accommodation I have stayed in. The colours and bucolic sounds of silence. Herdade da Matinha offers everything. We so loved our time here (i don't think any length of stay would be long enough!) that we changed our travel itinerary and returned for our last few days in Portugal.

True relaxation, bush walking, yoga, a massage, swimming, great home cooked lunch featuring produce from the farm married to one of Alfredo's fantastic hand picked wines.. A place to really chill out. We broke up our day by the pool by picking fresh figs and apples from the orchid for a snack! The near by beaches are quiet and beautiful. Great waves at St Topes and "secrets" (a tip from Alfredo and Monica's boys whom are keen surfers). Everything about this place is unique and balanced: ticks all our boxes..nature, luxury, culture, food and wine.

We were amazed there is 20 rooms as you don't ever feel like you are sharing property with other guests. Everything has been spread out and there is plenty of space (aside from you room) to hang out. Infact there is a rambling selection of beautiful designed rooms in the main house to explore, a library worth of coffee table books to read, games room, piano, artworks to appreciate, outdoor daybeds..wow!

Come dinner time, the jazz is turned up in the main house and it is time to settle into a daily changing menu created by the talented and helpful chef Paola. The food was exceptional on all occasions.

Our room was wonderful, both times we stayed. Sonia was most helpful, gracious and charming with helping us tailor our stay. We can't wait to return. Thank you for creating the magic and sharing it!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebyrontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is an absolutely fantastic place to visit/stay. The location in nestled within nature and is cozy, inviting and warm. The decor is elegant, yet eccentric and each room is decorated different. My boyfriend and I are English speaking and had no trouble with the staff as some have mentioned in other reviews- every single member of the staff was friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating. The food is delicious! They don't mention it anywhere i have seen, but the restaurant is Michelin recommended and very delicious, they also have an extensive selection of wines and will help guide you for taste. The ground were stunning, the pool bigger than it appears in photos and the beach is about a 15 minute drive away. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We had such a romantic/lovely time here and will be back someday and will recommend it for couples, families, singles, etc. Very wonderful- cant say enough positive things about the place and ALL the staff.

Room Tip: We chose a romantic room and had a private terrace and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with our baby, for whom a bed was kindly provided. The room was pleasant, and included a terrace, but was terribly damp (it was like I was sleeping in wet sheets) and smelled musty. I was disappointed that the towels were not changed daily---it's not very ecological of me to ask but the dampness meant that the towels were never dry. So, I feel that the room rates are a little expensive given the discomfort I experienced. There was also no guest information, so the first morning we had no idea what time breakfast was (9.30 am---a little late for families) or how things worked in terms of getting drinks, room service, etc. The fixed menus were very good (the first night we were served an incredible veal dish--the best I've ever had), and there was a lot of flexibility as we were served even though we arrived late the first night, and certain food preferences in our party were accommodated. The price (35 Euros) was correct for the quality of the food, as there was an appetizer, fish dish, meat dish and dessert. Breakfast was adequate and plentiful, and we were offered eggs in addition to the typical European continental fare on offer. One problem with dining there with children is that there is only one high chair available, so we had to use our own travel seat. However, coming from Switzerland we are used to the lack of facilities for very young children. We didn't have much interaction with the owners, but the chef was great-she was very helpful, warm and is also multilingual. We ended up asking her for anything we needed, as she was the most present during our stay. On last thing--the owners seemed to have been entertaining their own personal guests, as well as us regular guests, which kind of gave me the strange impression that I was crashing a private party. I think they should entertain privately or make more of an effort to mingle with the other guests if they want to maintain a public presence in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kslausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerdadeMatinha, Gerente at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear guest, first of all we would like thank you for your review and your positive feedback about our breakfast and dinner, that are made with local ingredients. Also thank you for your kind words about our staff that were helpful to you during your stay. About the bed linen we receive it every day from the laundry and it is done by machines therefore they come completely dry. Regarding the towels, sometimes with the hot weather they get some humidity, we would have some much appreciatted to know about this during your stay as we would have changed it asap. About the owners, please understand that this is their house that is open to family, guests and friends and of course there is a time for all and the good will to approach all. Many thanks and we hope to receive you in the nearby future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is an absolutely stunning place and a must-go-there-place for anybody looking for a laid-back, authentic and unwinding hideaway. In the middle of almost nowhere, two hours south of Lisbon, Herdade da Matinha and its really most charming and welcoming hosts, Monica & Alfredo, sport a combination to die for: excellent cuisine (Alfredo cooks), a super wine list and an atmosphere that just reeks tranquility and serenity. Loungy with deep couches & shaded daybeds everywhere, a super elegant woody pool, cool jazz playing in the evening and the whole thing surrounded by a most delightful greenery. Also treat yourself to a horseback ride that takes you to some most spectacular views of the surrounding area - and the Atlantic Ocean lying under the sun in the horizon (rode a beautiful, very rideable Haflinger mare). A place you do not want to miss and a place & people you do not want to leave again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamEstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Quinta da Matinha

Good things:

The beautiful surroundings (garden/ horses/rooms)
things to do: horses/yoga
good decoration

Bad things:

breakfast poor:
just had to eat: bread with ham / cheese / sweet corn flakes
to drink: milk and juice
really EXPENSIVE dinner 35€/person/just food (you eat very cheap, near the farm (10 € / maximum))
around the homestead is no light in ways that give access to places of prominence
Horse rides are too short
No Tv in the rooms

Neutral as regards the friendliness of the managers
Do not know if I will return because it is too expensive for what it is

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerdadeMatinha, Manager at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear guest, we appreciate your time and thank you for your review. First of all we are glad you have liked the house and decoration of it. It's our goal to make sure our guests are happy and have enjoyed staying at Herdade da Matinha, so your feedback is very important to us. Our spirit is total relax so we do not have tv's, only in a specific living room, but we really want guests to disconnect from the outside world. Regarding dinner time, it's our goal to offer more than a meal, a culinary experience, therefore, we try hard to serve creative dishes, that's why we offer starters, 2 main dishes and dessert, with a different menu everyday. Our breakfast includes freshly squeezed orange juice, milk, tea and coffee, as well as daily baked bread from Alentejo and several jams, cheese, ham, fresh sliced fruit, cereals, scrambled eggs, fresh daily cake. We would really like your comment on what could we add to make the breakfast a better experience. Regarding the horses, we tell our guests about the different activities and time for each one. We hope we can receive you again in the nearby future and thank you again for your comments. Herdade da Matinha Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

Sometimes you arrive at a place and you know at once you’re going to like it. That’s how we felt, when we arrived at Herdade da Matinha in early January 2012. In a remote valley, 15 minutes from the Atlantic coast, lies the herdade: two guest houses located on a fairy-tale property full of plants and fruit trees, grazing horses and a swimming pool as icing on the cake (ok, in January only for 10 seconds). The guest houses are arranged with loving attention to detail. They both have a dozen of guestrooms and provide generous common spaces with cozy sofas to relax in front of a burning fireplace. The whole interior was less rustic than we thought and could be featured in an interior design magazine.

We stayed in a lovely room in the main house, which was even more spacious and classy than the website suggested. The rooms there actually consist of two rooms, separated by a window. They have a little terrace in the back, as well as a little lounge bed in front of the entrance.

We ate in the restaurant of the herdade on both nights of our stay, and we didn’t regret it. The atmosphere in the restaurant was warm and intimate, as Monica, Alfredo and their family have their dinner in the same room as well. The prix-fixe menu was freshly prepared in the open kitchen, usually four delicious courses (think Jamie Oliver style) at a very fair price.

We cannot share the partly negative opinions mentioned above. We found the hosts and the whole team to be very friendly and approachable. You could always go to the kitchen and request snacks or sandwiches. Even when we didn’t order anything, Monica brought us tea and cookies to the fireplace. She recommended us nice beaches in the area and both, she and Alfredo, sketched us out a great drive route off the beaten paths for our way back to Lisbon.

If you’re a nature-loving and relaxed type of tourist willing to spend your holidays far away from crowded package tour deals, then you’ll like the herdade as much as we did – no matter if you’re travelling on you own, as a couple, with friends or family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerdadeMatinha, Owner at Herdade da Matinha, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2012

Good afternoon from sunny Alentejo!
Many thanks for your kind words.
We have started from now on to reply to our guests and we are so happy that you will be the number one :)
We hope to have the honour of receiving you in our cozy country house again.
All the best :)
Mónica & Alfredo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cercal
8.1 mi away
Monte Xisto Hotel Rural
Monte Xisto Hotel Rural
#2 of 5 in Santiago do Cacem
59 reviews
23.3 mi away
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
Enigma - Nature & Water Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sao Teotonio
113 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Porto Covo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
HS Milfontes Beach
HS Milfontes Beach
#2 of 3 in Vila Nova de Milfontes
187 reviews
14.8 mi away
Santiago Hotel Cooking & Nature
Santiago Hotel Cooking & Nature
#1 of 5 in Santiago do Cacem
34 reviews
13.5 mi away
Sinerama Hotel Apartamento
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdade da Matinha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdade da Matinha

Address: Cercal 7555-231, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Cercal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cercal
Price Range: $98 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Herdade da Matinha 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Herdade da Matinha is a country house in the middle of the nature in Alentejo, very close to the beach. We have 20 rooms (7 classic double rooms, 8 romantic rooms, 3 familiar rooms, 2 suites). A place for relaxation and rejuvenation, Herdade Da Matinha is surrounded by old oak trees. Start the day with breakfast in bed or on the covered veranda. Meals are prepared by the owner and feature farmhouse breads and cheeses, as well as renowned Portuguese wines. Sample local specialities made with homegrown, organic vegetables.Spend time exploring the area on horseback. Alternatively, you can soak up sun while relaxing next to Herdade Da Matinha outdoor pool.The entire building is kept in white, earthy tones, with comfortable seating areas inviting you to take it easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Herdade da Matinha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Herdade Da Matinha Hotel Cercal Do Alentejo
Herdade Da Matinha Portugal/Alentejo - Cercal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing