We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Castelo de Vide
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castelo de Vide
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We didn't like this hotel that much. 1 of our room was very smelly. The furniture in the rooms are very old. However, the city center is in walking distance.
Try to look for an alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herman24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 23 of 98 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Our room was clean and we didn't hear noise from neighbors. We booked a room for 3 ppl, and those are not too spacious. The swimming pool was quite cold, but that might be because the summer was just beginning. Breakfast was very good. Internet in our room never worked, except one morning and we always had perfect signal.

All major attractions of the town are on walking distance. We never had any problem finding (free) parking place for our car.

Our only negative experience is that we had to wait about 15-20 minutes before someone showed up so that we could check out.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerbelgium_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Visited Portugal in 2008.

Found this hotel after dark with no reservations when we couldn't get a bed in Marvao and were very pleased with out 1-night stay. Comfortable, well-appointed and spacious rooms, within our budget ( in which we were NOT being spendy on accomodations),

Very nice (included) breakfast, typical European fare but tasty and generous.

Staff were helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations.

Parking was free and close. Window views lovely from our room and the hotel has the most gorgeous parquet floors, maybe made from cork?

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank buttem0ntana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

i came to portugal for a holiday, and had grandly planned to stay in those beautiful pousadas until i realized that i would have to take out a bank loan to pay for them. so, i started looking into alternative hotels that were cheaper. i am really happy with the hotel castelo de vide. it is super affordable and i was initially afraid that it would be shabby, but i was definitely wrong. it is not technically in the city center but is just a few minutes away by walking. parking is easy and free. it is really not that hard to find, just across from the public pool.

my room was very spacious with a balcony that got lots of sun. the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. breakfast is included and consists of yogurt, cereals, deli meats, cheeses, your typical european breakfast. it is buffet style and despite being simple, was very good. there is also a small pool with lounge chairs.

staff members were very courteous and gave good restaurant recommendations, including the great restaurant called paladar which i encourage everyone to check out. very tasty!

my only problem is that the housekeeping staff is rather loud. it appeared to be a fairly sizable group of housekeepers and they were very social with each other...but it does make it a bit noisy to take a nap in the daytime. one day, i sat outside by the pool and could hear them talking loudly from inside the rooms they happened to be cleaning.

all in all though, this is a hotel of great value and i would stay again....unless i win the lottery and can stay in those beautiful pousadas.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sigrid1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank LucaGeom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos traseiros são excepcionalmente silenciosos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graça P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelo de Vide
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sol e Serra
Hotel Sol e Serra
#2 of 5 in Castelo de Vide
162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa do Parque Hotel
Casa do Parque Hotel
#4 of 5 in Castelo de Vide
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Amarela
Casa Amarela
#3 of 5 in Castelo de Vide
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Pousada Marvao
Pousada Marvao
#3 of 4 in Marvao
303 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel El Rei Dom Manuel
4.1 mi away
Dom Dinis
Dom Dinis
#1 of 4 in Marvao
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Castelo de Vide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Castelo de Vide

Address: Avenida da Europa, Castelo de Vide 7320-435, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Portalegre District > Castelo de Vide
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Castelo de Vide
Price Range: $52 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Castelo de Vide 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castelo de Vide Hotel is located in the historical village of Castelo de Vide. The hotel offers 53 guestrooms that are well equipped with private bathroom, conditioned air, direct phone, satellite TV, video channel, radio and balcony. During leisure, guests can relax at the lobby or sip a drink in the India bar. Here you'll have an unforgettable holiday, with a lot of fun and a lot of interesting places to visit. Only 10km from Spain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Castelo de Vide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing