We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
4
8
15
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4
8
15
10
7
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2015

fair confortable rooms and clean bathrooms, very spacey. mine had a balcony from where I could see the day raise over the hill behind the huge public garden. such a perfect place. also, has a restaurant where they cook you local delicacies.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2015

I stayed recently in this hotel and what I have to say is that is is a very good place to stay, nice rooms (not too big but big enough), spotless clean. The staff is VERY friendly and accommodating. The whole ambience makes you feel at home and welcome.
The restaurant has very good food (home cooking, to tell the truth) and the portions are huge, at least for me :)
Ask for a room viewing the park. I stayed on the 1st floor. It is not a big hotel, so you are treated like a guest and not as another number!
Breakfast is buffet and quite reasonable.
The prices also make this hotel a great choice, both for the room and for meals, F.example, a meal, with Portuguese average wine (good) will cost around 10 Euro.
Great location too.

Room tip: Ask for room with a view over the park. Make your choice for the floor, as it has no elevator/lift.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2014 via mobile

Vi bodde 5 netter på hotellet som en del av en Temareise. Hotellet skulle være koselig og med hyggelig vertskap. Tja!
Greit nok for 1 natt, men et knøttlite bad hvor du måtte opp i badekaret for å åpne vinduet, knallhard seng (vanlig i Portugal) og et vertskap uten smil som nærmest kastet deg ut av restauranten kl. 21.00 er ikke noe vi vil tilbake til. Mangelen på et felles oppholdsrom var et stort minus. Byen og området rundt var derimot en opplevelse.

We stayed 5 nights with Tema at this hotel. We were told that the hotel should be cosy and with friendly hosts. Well!
It's OK for 1 night, but a tiny bathroom where you had to step into the bathtub to be able to open the window, an uncomfortable bed and hosts without a smile who nearly trorw us out of the restaurant at 9 pm didn't impress us much. The lack of a lounge where we could sit down and relax together with the other people in the group was also lacking. The little town and the surroundings, however, were beautiful.

Finn Audun Bohne

Date of stay: October 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2014

Castelo de Vide is a lovely town and the hotel is nicely situated, The food and the waitress staff were fine but we had a problem with the lady owner and the accommodation. The room was fine when you first looked but then the TV was held on the stand by wire, the bedside lamp lead was bare wire pushed into the plug. We woke at about 2,30 am, switched the light on and my husbands bed cover had bugs coming out of it. The shower curtain wasn't very clean I couldn't use the shower. But the worst part was when we came to check out and pay. Bookings.com states they accept creditcards. The owner would not accept a card stating the electric wasn't working, but the lights were on, but she did not even have a card machine. Not good

Room tip: Dont book the hotel
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We (myself and my wife) have been staying for one night at the Casa do Parque hotel in Castelo de Vide.

Castelo de Vide is a very picturesque village: old stone houses and very narrow streets, tilted by 45 degrees and more, with respect to the horizontal plane.
There are just a few tourists around, even though the place definitely deserves to be a tourist attraction. In any case, for us it was perfect: we hate to be in overcrowded tourist attractions.

The staff personnel at the hotel were very nice and friendly. We came late (probably around 11pm) to the hotel, but they waited for us. The woman even came out to help us parking (even though there was obviously plenty of parking space, so we could definitely do it ourselves).

The hotel is an historic unique old, yet well-maintained, house. The building gives a feeling of the local atmosphere; this is so unusual in the modern world, where global trends dominate and most hotels look quite the same being either in USA, in Europe, or in the China. In this sense, Casa do Parque gave us a little bit of a taste of the local culture and history.

The WiFi worked fine, allowing smooth Skype connection. The shampoos and soaps were quite fancy. The hotel is basically in the old part of the village. A couple of minutes walking from there are already the medieval streets. The hotel is less than 10 min walking from the jewish museum (probably used to be a synagogue of the converted jews, the "new christians"). About 10-15 minutes walking from there is the castle and there are beautiful streets inside the castle as well. There are also two small museums in the castle.

The breakfast at the hotel looked very tasty and rich. However, ourselves keeping strict kosher, we made them a hard time, asking lots of questions and eating only those products about which we could really be sure (…clearly, kosher food is not easy to find in Portugal, and to the best of our knowledge there are no kosher hotels whatsoever in the whole country). In any case, the staff was very friendly in spite of our questions and demands probably looking to them quite strange…

Some of the staff members were fluent in English, others a bit less, but all of them were very helpful.

Finally, when we were about to leave, there was a surprise: a souvenir cute small box made of cork. They explained that local villagers take their lunch in such boxes (yet of a larger size) with them to the field.

In summary, we have enjoyed the stay very much. This was also amazingly cheap (just 40 Euro per night for a double room, with a breakfast included!!!). We warmly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay there again if we ever get back to Castelo de Vide, which is a beautiful village.

Room tip: Just explain the staff what you want. They are very helpful.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews