We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanakazu

Hanakazu
Ranked #29 of 310 Restaurants in Paranaque
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Having read the reviews my wife and I went on a Sunday. Good sashimi albeit a bit pricey. Ebi Tempura very good. We then had both a chicken and a beef dish which were disappointing. Service was good.

This was our first visit having normally gone to Japanese Restaurants in BGC and Makati. Overall ok but not exceptional and certainly pricey even compared with "town".

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Family Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

If there is a restaurant that connected with my family its Hanakazu. Once, my kids were all so excited that we were gonna eat there again after a very long time. Unfortunately, we forgot that it closes on Mondays. Well, my youngest cried; I mean, real tears. So when we finally got back to eat in Hanakazu, I was amazed at how fast the ebi tan maki, california maki and salmon sashimi disappeared from the table. And their chicken teriyaki is amazingly good.

The waiter of so many years was so happy to see us again. She recalls how fast our kids have grown. They have undergone a rennovation of their facade and interior. But for us, its still the same Hanakazu. Good for another ten years. Definitely!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Maximillan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Japanese restaurant in southern Metro Manila”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Very good sashimi and sushi
Perfect for those who live on southern Metro Manila
Otherwise, think twice about the travel time and toll fees
Tsukiji in Pasay Road is an alternative for those in Makati City

Helpful?
Thank percydcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united states
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

If you want authentic quality Japanese food, then Hanakazu is the place to be. The ingredients are fresh and the food is just delicious. The owner I believe is a Japanese and I would see him preparing the food himself. It's a pricey restaurant I should say, but you'll get your money's worth and you're not short-changed. I love their special California maki and the seaweed salad among others. They also have a variety of Japanese ice cream. I just hope they won't raise their prices anymore.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Paranaque's secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

This quiet restaurant offers very high quality Japanese cuisine. Their ingredients are of very high quality and the chef creates delicious dishes.
Price is on the high side, but not as high as Makati Japanese restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanakazu also viewed

Paranaque, Metro Manila
Paranaque, Metro Manila
 
Paranaque, Metro Manila
Paranaque, Metro Manila
 
Paranaque, Metro Manila
 

Been to Hanakazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing