We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whatch out shuttle bus to the airport is not free” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oyster Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oyster Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Paranaque
Rhodes, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Whatch out shuttle bus to the airport is not free”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

I have travelled from boracay to manila for the day and decided to book this hotel for the hours i would spend in Manila. The hotel charged me almost php2000 for 9 hours with no overnight! The room was basic and small and the cleaningness was a questionable. The staff was overaly friendly but when i had a problem the girl in the reception refused to let me speak with someone im charge. The aircondition is very loud and the windows dont close very well and as a result the noice from the street is disturbing

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank YannisFChatzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    13
    25
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
18
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

If you are flying out the next day and have to overnight it close to the airport; then you have little choice but to choose a hotel from a very poor selection.

At the Oyster Plaza, the staff are friendly and welcoming, no problem there.
There is a small restaurant attached on the ground floor to serve you dinner and if you are flying later in the morning then you will also eat your inclusive breakfast here. But that's the whole point of staying here isn't it? . . . you have an early departure, so you will not be eating breakfast. However you will not get any consideration for not getting what you pay for.

My room was on the 2nd floor and at the back (not facing the road), so the road noise was significantly reduced but the A/C rattled and banged continuously and would let out a loud groan every 20 or 30 minutes, so sleep was not deep or very restful.
The room is small and smells musty, the staff actually sprayed air freshener after we agreed to take the room and went down to check in.
The bathroom is a typical Filipino affair. Poor water pressure, luke warm water, slow draining drains, thin tatty towels and lots soap scum around the lower tiles.. . . you get the picture.

I have traveled the Philippines extensively for the last 12 months and am very familiar with the inconsistencies of Filipino guest houses and resorts. The Oyster Plaza is just another one of them but for me . . . it's the last I will have to put up with.

At 1700 peso for a standard double it is at least a thousand over priced but it is only for one night.

Room Tip: It is essential to get a room furthest from the road. But the A/C will probably keep you awake anywa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nomad_Lez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very friendly telephone booking. Free airport shuttle T3 Bay# 8. Nice van were on time. Helpful driver. My booking of a twin deluxe room off the street did not materialize !!! However, the staff
did their best to amend. Ended up with a perfectly O.K. single standard room off the street for P300- less. Slept well. Barely heard airplanes above the a/c's noise. Price included free breakfast and free pick-up airport shuttle.
I had a simple American breakfast. Nothing to write home about, but adequate.
Airport shuttle back to T 3 was P300- A McDonald's 100 meters away. Short taxi ride to
a mall (SM, Sucat, Paranaque)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank esenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We needed a place close to the airport for just one night on April 26, 2013. After making our reservations we were told a van driver would be waiting for us when we arrived. We waited for 45mins then finally called the hotel. The driver hadn't left yet so we had to wait another 30mins due to traffic. We got in the van and the driver said we had to wait as another party was arriving in about 15mins. After a 16hr flight and more than an hour wait for the van, this request wasn't something we wanted to hear. We told the driver to take us to the airport and then to come back and pick up the others. They said the airport was only a few kilos away. What they fail to mention is it takes 15-30mins depending on traffic. We finally arrived at our hotel about 2hrs later than expected. We were told our room rate included a ride back to the airport. What they didn't say was that there is an extra charge if they have to bring you to the main airport. After pleading that they waive this fee because of what happened that night, they said no. To make matters worse, they called us at 5am that morning to ask if we can leave in 15mins as they were taking another passenger to the same airport. We ended up paying the extra transportation fee and left earlier than expected to accommodate their other guest. We were patient, gave in to their numerous excuses, and paid whatever fees they charged us. Not once did they say thank you. The room itself was mediocre, but the street noise was loud. I guess you get what you pay for but this was horrible. Bottom line, stay away from this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldview8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paranaque hotels

Beijing, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived Manila airport at mid night. Airport information counter introduced this hotel to us. 2000p/night.The hotel reception staff is nice. The problem is the room given to us is one facing the main street. Over the whole night,the traffic noise made me totally sleepless! Just like I'm sleeping on the street & cars, trucks,,,, passing by! The hotel picture looks nice, but the actual room facility is old & shabby. Never want to try it agian.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubon Ratchathani, Thailand
Level Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here on my last night because I was between flights to Manila and out of the country. It is close to the airport. (Try to get a metered taxi.) The staff were helpful and friendly. I had an inside room without a window that was small but adequate. When I left, the van took me to the airport without charge, a policy I was told was good only for Internet reservations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel was rated a 2.5 star on the booking site we used, but I think 2 star should be the maximum rating. It's definitely a "budget" option and you get what you pay for. The service was decent - we had no trouble with that - and the breakfast was decent too and a good price. The room was pretty basic but relatively clean. Our "window" was fairly insecure and looked out to another building and a messy kind of alleyway - not pleasant. And the room was loud - you can hear planes coming into the airport, and the air conditioner sounded almost like one of the jet engines. Overall, if you're looking for an inexpensive option for one night near the airport as you're arriving in or leaving Manila this place is OK. I likely wouldn't stay there again - for me it's worth the money to spend more and get something better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paranaque
4.5 mi away
Go Hotels Manila Airport Road
5.3 mi away
Red Planet Aseana City, Manila
4.9 mi away
Nichols Airport Hotel
Nichols Airport Hotel
#11 of 16 in Paranaque
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Azumi Boutique Hotel
Azumi Boutique Hotel
#2 of 9 in Muntinlupa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eurotel Las Pinas
Eurotel Las Pinas
#1 of 1 in Las Pinas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
4.7 mi away
DG Budget Hotel Salem
DG Budget Hotel Salem
#13 of 31 in Pasay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Plaza Hotel

Property: Oyster Plaza Hotel
Address: Dr. A. Santos Avenue Corner Victor Medina St., Sucat Road, Paranaque, Luzon 1700, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Paranaque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Paranaque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oyster Plaza Hotel is the ideal choice of destination for its great location and relaxing atmosphere. We offer a range of accommodation to match your lifestyle at great value. Each room has been designed to suit our guests' needs, enticing them to make themselves feel at home. We offer services at the highest possible quality such as fully air-conditioned and comfortable stylish rooms, free use of wi-fi, in-room massage service, laundry service, car rental, free parking and room service . At Oyster Plaza Restaurant, treat yourself to a wide variety of food from different cuisines. We also offer free airport pick-up service for hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oyster Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Plaza Hotel Metro Manila/Paranaque, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing