We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for exploring East Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Asmara Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Candidasa B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Alam Asmara as a couple for 5 days to explore East Bali. The small hotel complex (12 bungalows all of equal size) is very pretty, scenic and relaxing and the staff were truly excellent, professional, efficient and friendly (especially the lovely Mudita).

All of the small bungalows are set back off a beautifully kept water walkway with fish swimming and trees overhanging, creating privacy between the accommodation. Unlike other comments here we found the accommodation perfectly large enough with good a/c, fully provisioned and clean garden bathrooms and a small terrace at the front.

At the rear of the complex is an infinity pool, and the 'Rendezvous' restaurant overlooks the sea (great sunset viewing). The food is good but there are lots of other options nearby also.

We cant comment on the diving as we chose this hotel as a base to explore from and the hotel staff organised car&driver and itinerary with ease.

A great relaxed and romantic setting with impeccable service, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 256 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

We spent 5 days here. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. The hotel is in a peaceful location overlooking the sea. We enjoyed the style of the rooms and everything was very clean and well maintained. We ate all our dinners there because the food was good and the setting was perfect for us. No beach but there were boats or cars to take us to a lovely sandy cove close by and the swimming pool was good to have a quick dip. We went snorkelling and fishing. The hotel arranged a car for us to visit a traditional village and some temples . We would like to go back...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thirdage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The small bungalow style rooms with kingsized bed and outdoor stone bathroom were wonderful for a traditional feel of Bali. The walkways surrounded buy lush tropical plants and Koi fishponds were stunning. The pool was clean and refreshing and hubby loved being able to dive straight into the ocean in the mornings. The whole resort was imaculately clean and fresh. The restaurant food was sensational and we loved the food so much we ate nearly every meal there. Hubby LOVED the sate beef! As it was our 20th anniversary we were treated like a honeymoon couple with a petal heart welcoming doormat and a delicious heart shapped anniversary cake. The greatest asset to this resort is the staff. They were the best we found in the whole of Bali. Super friendly, very efficient at their jobs, and they were attentive to every wish you had and then all the ones you hadn't thought of yet. We were totally pampered! Snorkelling, fishing and trekking are the main adventure activities in Candidasa, so unless you are happy to lounge around the pool or go sightseeing 3 or 4 days is probably enough time in Candidasa for a young couple. Absolutely LOVED Alam Asmara and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

It has good location, close to everything and has affordable price level. Here is cheap minibar, laundry service. Room was small, dark, with bad noise insulation, but bed was really kingsize and very very comfortable. I dont like outside bathroom without sidewall, it is not for me. Territory is also too small, bungalows is very closed to each other. There is no beach, only small swimming pool with 4 or 5 sun-beds. Staff is very friendly, like everywhere in Bali. They have own dive center with excellent dive master Tika. This man is great profi! I'm thankful for my unforgettable diving with him. So, if you search hotel for beach rest you need something other, if you come for find great entertainment outside, and you need hotel for sleeping and for storage your bags Alam Asmara is the best choice in Candidasa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Losuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

beautiful hotel, clean rooms, soft (comfy!) king bed, outdoor bathroom with huge stone bathtub, delicious food, best scrambled eggs in Bali...and the staff is excellent! they organized a dive trip for us, took care of transportation, everything. so friendly and kind.
it's right on the water but no beach. not a problem, since there is an amazing white sand beach a ten minute drive away...
we loved it here.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gennyrietze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kariasa W, General Manager at Alam Asmara Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Value Guest..

Thank you for your complimentary comment and glad to hear that you were happy with our service and small boutique resort and with my team love to welcoming you comeback again in future.

We will keep and do more for our more feel touch service, once your comment is our great support to do again some more different.

Nice regards,

Wayan Kariasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The Alam Asmara Dive Resort is situated on a stunning piece of coast line with beautifully laid out rooms. The semi enclosed bathroom gives the traveller plenty of room to unwind and enjoy garden scenery that is lush and tropical. The hotel restaurant served tasty yet timely food with a variety of choices. The resort staff were always extremely helpful, respectful and organised absolutely anything we wanted with a welcoming smile. The scuba diving packages offered through the hotel were competitive with local individual tour operators and did not disappoint well experienced divers. Should you want to go diving in some of Bali's best sites and be welcomed home with a cold drink and a smile, then stay at Alam Asmara Resort :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kariasa W, General Manager at Alam Asmara Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Value Guest...

Warmest greeting from our team at Alam Asmara Dive Resort & Spa...

Thank you for your absolute and complimentary comment, our team was so happy to hear from you and you were happy and enjoy to stay with us...

Once again thank you and waiting your return again.

Nice regards,


Wayan Kariasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Three couples stayed at the Alam Asmara and we loved the resort. The rooms are modern and very clean with the bathroom partly open air. The resort is set on a narrow block with a lovely pool that has some shade and some sun. Sunbeds look across the water where you can go fishing or snorkelling. The breakfast was fresh and the staff friendly. There are many restaurants close to the resort and the Rendevous Restaurant at the resort has a very good reputation, particularly for seafood. The main street is just outside the resort a very short walk where you will find a Family Mart where you can buy water etc. Vincent's Restaurant is a favourite and we ate there more than once. When you walk out of the resort the little restaurant on the left side corner had excellent Indonesian food. Candidasa is small and quiet but has enough to see and enjoy such as a trip up to Ahmed which has stunning views across the beautiful blue waters.
We have recommended Alam Asmara to our friends who will be staying there in May-June 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East (right hand side when you are facing the water) have more natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kariasa W, General Manager at Alam Asmara Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest.

Warmest greeting from east of Bali...with small boutique resort at Alam Asmara Dive Resort.

As management and team want to thank you for your stay and you were enjoy and happy to stay in our resort.

Nice regards.

Wayan kariasa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
879 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
1 mi away
Bali Santi-Bungalows By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
360 reviews
2 mi away
Sea Breeze Candidasa
Sea Breeze Candidasa
#3 of 28 in Candidasa
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Asmara Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Asmara Dive Resort

Address: Jl. BTN Candi Dasa, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Candidasa
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Asmara Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alam Asmara Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Asmara Dive Hotel Candidasa
Alam Asmara Dive Resort Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing