We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“small, damp & double” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alam Asmara Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Asmara Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 18 Candidasa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“small, damp & double”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

First the good news: the place is well located facing the sea, at walking distance to center of Candidasa; the staff in friendly, the room is nice decorated, the bed sleeps well and the airco works fine.
Restaurant is called Rendezvous has, as all Candidasa hotels, nice sea view and has quality food - I'll write separate review on Rendezvous.
However, the room is very small, no place for even the smallest writing table, and the outdoor space, covered with (water)plants has no fan, so is very damp, too damp to sit on in rainy season.
Solo traveller watch out: there's no single rate, so you pay for two, but don't get a second cup of coffee at breakfast or better a double breakfast, no second beach towel or the complimentary water and afternoon tea/coffee. Discussing this with operational manager Bagus, he couldn't change this on my three day visit. For additional items you pay European prices.
Alam Asmara is called Dive Resort, however the pool is way too small for any dive, only 10 meter long and appox 4 meter wide.

Room Tip: all 12 rooms are very close to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    55
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
170
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

My partner and I booked in for two nights, but stayed for four...it was too hard to leave. This is stylish intimate resort with enthusiastic and friendly staff. There is a lovely pool and restaurant by the seaside. Food and service was extremely good. Staying here was an absolute pleasure and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Rooms have a semi outdoor bath and shower that are very sweet. The room was spotless, and the bed supremely comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westsidejoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed two nights with myself and girlfriend as soon as we arrived reception was very helpful and spoke very good english which is always appreciated. The rooms were well planned with a big comfy bed in the main room and a bathroom outside with a massive stone bath tub and shower.hotel restaurant has great food, be sure to get the mahi mahi and the coconut tart. staff also are very helpful in organizing day trips at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baligoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

We cannot speak more highly about this wonderful, small, friendly, 12 room boutique hotel with its amazing garden and waterway running either side of the hotel rooms, leading to the pool and the Rendevous Restaurant at the front of the hotel, overlooking the sea and small islands. We'd stayed here for 3 days in 2010 and rebooked for Christmas and New Year (10 nights). My husband proposed that we marry in Bali. It was a last minute decision that we "elope" so when I emailed Mr Wayan Kariasa, the Manager, just 6 weeks out from our departure to Bali, he was able to plan and organise a legal wedding ceremony. We were more than impressed with the arrangements. It was a simple process of providing documents before leaving and when we arrived we were taken to the Australian Consulate in Denpasar for the final paperwork. Wayan had even calculated the most auspicious date for us to marry according to the Bali calendar on 29 December 2011.

Our wedding day could not have been more special and, in fact, it far exceeded our expectations. Every detail was planned and the organisation was brilliant. There were flowers placed on the ground leading from our room, around the swimming pool, pots of flowers and my bouquet was frangipanis plus a beautiful orchid spray for my husband and I. The staff had decorated the pool area with traditional Balinese "penjor" and also decorated the chairs (for "king" and "queen" - us). We had 10 beautiful young Balinese girls, and bridesmaid (Sita) and page boy (Rama), all dressed in magnificent traditional Balinese costumes. There were flowers thrown and music when I walked to the altar to join my husband. The liturgy (the words) for our service were well written and meaningful to us. We had cake and champagne after our marriage and had other photos taken at the nearby lagoon and also the beach.

Then back at the hotel we had a small reception where we were most fortunate to have our Balinese friends share in the celebration with a delicious 3 course lunch. Then later back at our room, the staff had decorated the entrance with an arch and a huge love heart made of flowers at the entrance. Inside, our room was awash with more beautiful flowers and the bathroom as well had a gorgeous array of flowers. We also had a 2 hour spa - what a treat - massage, body scrub and flower bath. What fun! Then after, the decorated car took us to the sister hotel Ashyana for a dinner on the beach. Wow! The table was set up right on the sand, with 2 Balinese men playing Ringdig (bamboo percussion). We had more champagne and a wonderful dinner overlooking the water and fishing boats. Then, another cake!

We could not fault the organisation and planning of our wedding. What really made our day were the genuine good wishes and greetings from the staff that really entered into the spirit of our wedding and made the ceremony so special for us. We were also presented with a photograph album, all beautifully wrapped with flowers. We are an older couple (young at heart) who were on a budget and the setting of the hotel, the wonderful staff and the fabulous food of the Rendezvous Restaurant overlooking the sea just suited us so well for the 10 nights that we were there. We also celebrated Christmas and New Year's Eve - and that was also a fabulous experience. Thank you Wayan and all the wonderful Alam Asmara staff! We will be returning!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill
Level Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel is a little gem. It’s quite small with a number of little individual chalets off a main walkway, surrounded by gardens and ponds with fish. There is a lovely pool and a restaurant area. The rooms are squeaky clean, a lovely comfortable netted four poster bed and TV. The main room however was too small for us to have both suitcases open (we were here 2 days as part of a tour) but we managed with a bit of manoevering. If you were staying longer though you could unpack a bit and would be fine. There was a safe. The bathroom is cool as is an ‘outside’ bathroom although very private and secure. The shower/bath area is all done in stone and it’s lovely having the fresh air whilst bathing. Also there was no problem with flooding or poor ventilation as experienced in other hotels in Bali. The staff were excellent, customer service skills were very good and without exception everyone was friendly and helpful, everyone from the receptionist to the waiting staff to the maintenance workers. We spent a lovely afternoon on the sun deck and had a lovely swim in the lovely cool pool. There were tea and coffee facilities on the veranda of each chalet – a hot water jug being replenished each day. There was a choice of 4 set menus (seafood, chicken, beef, vegetarian) for our dinner on the first night, a set lunch the following day and a BBQ evening on the 2nd evening we were there. The set menu dinners were really lovely – we had chicken and fish and the Indonesian lunch the following day was equally good. The BBQ buffet was good but the meat being cooked to order was not the best I’ve had and the organisation was a bit chaotic, but I didn’t really mind as had enough nice things to eat and had a few beers whilst watching some Balinese dancers the hotel had by the pool area that evening. Best of all we used the spa. For less than £50 my partner and I both had an amazing massage and treatments, for 2 hours. Bliss. I was sad to leave this hotel as really could have enjoyed a day or two more however there isn’t much to do locally outside and there isn’t a beach – we just stayed en route to our next destination, so if you’re looking for somewhere small and lovely to spend a couple of days on a tour I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnotgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maffra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

After arriving on a early morning flight we were promptly picked up from the airport by resort staff. Agus was exceptionally friendly and helpful during our stay and nothing was ever too much trouble with any of the staff. Our room was ready even though we were early, it was clean and what a surprise to walk the boardwalk to our room with all the running water and foliage you wouldn't know anyone else was at the resort. The food was great freshly cooked and plenty of variety. We did a days dive with YOS dive and had a fantastic day with them. Wish we stayed longer at Alam Asmara rather than Kuta was soooo quiet and relaxing. Would have liked to have known Alam Asmara support an orphanage as I would have taken clothing and school supplies for them in my half empty suitcase. We certainly will be repeat guests to Alam Asmara when we return for another holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Entry of the resort wouldn't give you much expectation but once you step into the door, it clear my mind. It's a tiny resort but variety of plants, ponds of fishes, greenery pave way refresh my soul. Ideal for couples to spend few days here. Rooms are comparatively small, bathroom at back provide sufficient sunlight and space sharing half of the chalet. Small balcony in front is leisure for smoking and reading. Very good attendants gave us all their smiles and help. Food provided need improvement. YOS Bali dive center provide all our needs for diving. It was a present stay for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diver666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kariasa W, General Manager at Alam Asmara Dive Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
We thank you for your attention and have provided input to our resort, you may experience can be accepted by other tourists.

we would love if you can stay back at Alam Asmara.

on behalf of the management and staff would like to thank and we gladly await your return.


I Wayan Kariasa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#9 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rama Shinta Hotel
Rama Shinta Hotel
#8 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Genggong at Candidasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Asmara Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Asmara Dive Resort

Property: Alam Asmara Dive Resort
Address: Jln. BTN Candi Dasa, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Candidasa
Hotel Class:3 star — Alam Asmara Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Alam Asmara Dive Hotel Candidasa
Alam Asmara Dive Resort Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing