We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amarta Beach Cottages
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
315 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Good value in a quiet location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent a few nights here upon arrival in Bali. The place is quiet and pleasant, staff are friendly and helpful. Cabins are roomy enough. There is a nice pool.

The restaurant food provides a great variety of good food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank klimazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    63
    18
    7
    8
See reviews for
31
59
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Id agree with previous reviewer that this place is a hidden gem but it has some problems..

Our check in was pretty weird. I booked this a few days before and my expectation was we would have a double room. Instead we were given a twin when we queried this and asked staff to solve the solution was we could cancel our booking and find something else.

The whole place is over run by ants. They run around the tables when you are eating. Our room was full of them too even though we didn't eat around our room.

There are mosquitos in the rooms too and no nets are provided.

They charge $5 a day for snorkeling gear that's in really bad condition. The masks leaked. The snorkels were cracked fins are ok though. Other guests experienced this as well. There is plenty of nice snorkeling right outside so my suggestion would be to bring a mask and snorkel.

The pool is very nice and clean. Food in general is good quality. The grounds are well looked after.

Anyone we spoke to who stayed in the sweets accommodation was really happy so perhaps the room issues are only with the budget rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hungry_Neilius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just spent 2 nights 3 days at Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows. The "sweets" are nice and modern, missing perhaps only a coffee machine and a safe. Otherwise very nicely done and comfortable, with a view of the ocean from the bedroom. Pool is lovely, food is incredible-breakfast is simple, staff is okay, not overly friendly, but nice.
Mosquitos were an issue despite the lovely constant breeze.
Difficult to find but great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

A great find in unspoilt Candidasa. The food is V good and a nice mixed menu of indonesian and European. My bavette steak was perfectly cooked and Mia Mia with garlic butter was divine. Lovely restaurant by the sea. The reputation of this hotel has been built on the high standard of the food.

However since the addition last year of new bigger & more modern rooms the accommodation now equals the level of the food.

Book the "Sweet" rooms on the website. Photos on the website don't do the rooms justice - they are fabulous.

The older rooms are cute cottages. Definitely choose superior for AC, but do not compare with the new rooms. All the rooms face the sea and have great personal decorations.

The new seawater infinity pool is truly heavenly. The beach is tiny but this is normal for Candidasa. You can easily get in the sea to snorkel. You don't miss a bigger beach with such a good clean modern pool. They hire snorkel gear.

I googled "Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows" to find the hotel website & couldn't find it. I ended up booking through ABL (Ayu Bali Lestari) http://baliwww.com/ - as one of the only options to book. Be warned off doing this. Email communication was appalling, they quoted and took payment for an incorrect room rate. Turned up at the hotel and found out the rate was for a cottage with a fan. Luckily one of the "Sweet" villa rooms was available for 3 of our 4 nights. The extra cost not much at all. The management were really helpful. Emailed ABL Tours and never heard back - very shoddy. Go direct to www.amartabeachcottages.com

Quite a small hotel but fabulous. Only 6 "Sweet" rooms. Book ASAP, as new rooms will be in very popular once word gets out ; )

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kittylaroar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I've been here couple of times with friends or my husband. We basically really like eating here. The food is good and reasonable. The view in the restaurant is beautiful too. The rooms are decent and nice. They need a bigger parking lot though. The location is also easy to find and close to the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ochie_DeMeulenaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

i have been amarta beach inn bungalows last december 2012 with friends. my review about this hotel are: good price, good food, food place, good swimming pool, good breakfast.
hopefully i can find similar place in other place at indonesia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tulus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have just come back from Candidasa where we stayed at the Candi Beach Cottages. We have always stayed there, but each trip we have several meals at the Amarta restaurant. We love the atmosphere and the food here is excellent (good value too). It feels like a beach hut and has great views over the water. We also checked out the new studio rooms. These are modern and open onto a lovely lawn area which then overlooks the water, with lounge chairs on a sandy deck. Quite lovely, and the rooms are well set out with beds facing out to the garden and sea. They have also put in a pool since we last visited and whilst smallish, it is enough and also overlooks the water. You can access the little beach via stone steps either near the restaurant or just outside. This area is great for snorkelling and the water is clear. It is a lovely part of Candidasa and close enough to the town centre to try lots of other restaurants. We are certainly thining of giving the new rooms a try next trip - they are great value!

Room Tip: Only new studio rooms have aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kendoandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rama Shinta Hotel
Rama Shinta Hotel
#9 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarta Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarta Beach Cottages

Property: Amarta Beach Cottages
Address: Sengkidu village, Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarta Beach Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Amarta Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarta Beach Inn Bungalows Hotel Candidasa
Amarta Beach Hotel
Amarta Beach Cottages Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing