We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kubu Bali Hotel(Karangasem)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Pondok Bambu(Candidasa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveler rating
99
144
59
22
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
144
59
22
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscandi dasalocal driverthe main streetstudio roomsecond homesmall beachgreat cocktailsbeach frontbit datedquiet holidayyour doorstepoverlooking the beachfree shuttleblue lagoonhome away from homethe ground flooran upgrade
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 341 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

HavE been to better...for the price...not a bargain! The rooms are average..bed comfortable...linens clean..however...living room furniture as alot to be desired. Shower...bring a nose clip...smells of rotton eggs.."sulpher" and no hot water..luke warm. Food at restaurant is good a little pricey...I thought... When trying to lounge on lawn area..be prepared to be bothered!!!! Locals trying to sell either fishing..snorkeling...massage ..taxi..etc. Very irritating when you want to be quiet and enjoy yourself.I will not be coming back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

First of all, many thanks for having stay at our resort and this is also to acknowledge your reviews posted on this site. we do sorry for your dissatisfaction during stay at our resort, yes we admitted we got trouble with hot water system in few days but have been fixed properly.
Regarding fishermen, actually we keep monitoring and advising them don't do aggressively in selling activities, even we have gave uniform free of charge to follow through our role but seemly they always want to do the same, we realized that they are people surrounding us and dedicated their life to feeding their family from selling the services to the guests who stay at the resorts in their village. we will keep engage with them for a better solution

Many thanks
Komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Booked with time share credits via RCI.
Checked in two nights ago, unit 4. Mixed review.
Below are initial impressions.....will update as needed. Will be here 5 more.


Pros: Good location
Staff very professional
Rathbones food (on site eatery) very good.....and Very convenient.
But a spec of water.....pool is nice.
Bed comfy.
Resort arranged excellent transfer from resort in Densaper to BSBC.

Cons: No hot water....barely luke warm
Water smells badly of sulpher.
Water pressure??? The pool clean off shower has more pressure.
Aircon cools bedroom suffciently....but rest of unit it does not.
Though bed comfy, couch....not so comfy.
Food....PRICEY. Though good quality, we can get similar better quality in US.....SF Bay area for less cost. So far haven't found much less in town. I don't comprehend the high food cost. I can buy a $4 beer at home. High food costs eat up budget = less money for tips, excursions and souveniers!
3 star should = hair dryer in bathroom....iron and board. These are non existent.
Every evening, peace interrupted with sellers near beach line trying to sell boat excursions........Every evening.
Drinkable water options limited. Be prepared to haul liters and liters from market.

Thats it for now. So far with experience and many other local options, do not plan to rebook here. Even considered booking at adjacent resort....but will stick it out for now.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Gus U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

this is to acknowledge your reviews posted on this site. we noted all of your dissatisfaction and strive our best for improvement. we noticed last few days we got trouble with our hot water system but everything is fixed properly

Sincerely yours,
komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Only had one night here, but thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was good, although a little dated it was very clean and spacious and had a nice relaxed feel. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help you out. The snorkelling right in front of the beach club was quiet good and safe for kids and beginners inside the reef. Took a local fishing boat to white sandy beach a short trip north, this was the highlight of the trip by far, a great spot un commercialised which is what made it so good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first stay at the Bali Shangrila Beach Club, It was given to us a wedding present.
And we enjoyed every minute of it, very quiet and restful,
We had a hotel style room directly across from the bar and the pool, so not far to get cooled down inside or out, the food was great and the chefs looked after me very well ( I have egg and peanut allergies ) as did the rest of the staff.
We got to know most of them well.
Snorkeling and swimming at the beach out the back of the resort was excellent at mid to low tide with good access to the reefs and plenty of fish to be seen, A trip with a local fisherman (Wayan) to Blue lagoon to go swimming and snorkeling followed by lunch at White sands beach was well worth the effort he looked after us very well, we also hired a local driver (Bar) who knows where to take you for shopping or sight seeing or transfers to the airport etc. If you want a nice quiet holiday this is the spot to come to, plenty of eateries along the strip if you want something different.
We are planning to visit again

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms near the pool are great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRP57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

many thanks for leaving the proportional reviews on this site, we much appreciate it. yes we are fortune as our resort situated just on the clear white sanded beach which is apparently a rare landscape you got in Candi dasa area. not just that, you got so richness coral reef and fishes dwell in a warm sea water just in front of our resort. you discover a hidden paradise by just snorkeling or swimming there

we look forward to welcoming you on upcoming trips

sincerely yours,
komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our third visit to this property. We are timeshareowners here, but we prefer to book our accommodation at Shangrila through a discount booking agency, and leave our annual allocation for exchange somewhere else more expensive, usually in Europe or the US.

This is no five star rated property, but the service and friendliness of the Balinese staff are unsurpassed. Food is well prepared and of good quality. There are many other restaurant options within 5-10 minutes walk offering very good food at unbelievably inexpensive prices.

Rooms are comfortable and well cooled. There is continuous maintenance in evidence.

The pool is clean, close and inviting. The beach is immediately in front of the property. There are few sellers on the beach to cause any interruption to a peaceful holiday. The beachfront is very clean, and is a snorkeller's paradise. Very accessible reefs at low tide. Local fishing boats are moored in front of the property.

This is not Kuta or Legian or Seminyak. Candidasa is a fishing village, But a short walk around Candidasa shows that many expats have found their little bit of quiet paradise, and have built some wonderful holiday homes.

Access to the area has been improved greatly by the building of a new highway up the east coast.

We usually stay up to a week, and have had no problems filling our time. The lack of tourist shopping is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Stairs can be steep for many, so request a downstairs unit.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redcentre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all, allow us to express our sincere gratitude and excitement to know that you are one of our valued members who always love to come back and stay at our property, who always keen to get services from our friendly staff. yes.. you are treated as a family member which is full of warm and fun....
Wishing you always come back and stay at our beautiful resort

Sincerely yours,
Komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews