We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good points bad points”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Not a great start as prebooked a transfer to the resort from the airport, whcih was all confirmed with them by email, but no transfer appeared upon arrival. When called hotel they said I was early ( I was exactly ontime), and told me to just get a cab, which cost USD45, better than what the hotel was charging which was USD52! Note that the hotel is actually pretty expensive to book anything through. I booked my own driver to return me to airport that cost 300,000 rupiah (approx USD30). The drive to the hotel is approximately 1 and half hours. Note this lack of transfer when prebooked seemed to be constant from chatting to other guests
Do not stay in room either it's no.9 or 10, it is mouldy and musty, directly behind the bar, with ithe mould just painted over (as reception even told me). They seemed happy enough to change my room to the other number, 9 or 10, though, which is upstairs over looking the pool. But watch out for those upper rooms on the East side of the hotel, as you'll have no sleep! There's a cockeral farm next door and they start crowing approx 2am every morning and do not stop until sundown. believe me one night is ok but a few of little sleep is not fun. No one on the other side or on lower levels seemed to hear them at all.
The bathroom's are tiny, with low flowrate running water, and as no good ventilation are a bit musty, plus there seemed to be a smell of stale urine in the air outside and sometimes in the room (maybe a waft from the farm next door). The towels are old and thread bare, and stained, although the beach towels slightly thicker, they too are stained. The beds are comfy, and tv and dvd players provided. However there was only ABC news and HBO (not available at all times) channels in English. Basic clean room with no where to lay a suitcase on (except the bed). Pic of the room attached. These rooms are just a basic hotel room with fridge only. There were 2 x small bottle of water each day provided for the room.
The bar and restaurant layout ok, but food pricey, and main meals seemed to be dry as cooked from frozen...there are far far better places to eat in the town. It was a quiet time throughout the whole of Candidasa though.
Staff are sweet, and speak pretty good English on the whole.
The pool was warm, and lovely to swim in, but obviously hasn't been cleaned in a while as the grease along the bottom and sides is pretty thick.
There's a massage cabana at the end on the west side, that charged 70,000 rupiah, and was great. Boatmen hang around at the bottom of the garden to take people out snorkelling, but haggle on the rate, and it's cheaper than booking through reception.
The dive shop at the hotel was shut due to the hotel being fairly quiet.
It's only a 3-5min walk, literally to the main strip.
There's a free shuttle bus too that stops in two places in town, running to and from the palms resort which is it's sister hotel
Overal there's better places to stay

Room Tip: Do not stay on East side top floor as cockerals will keep you awake from 2am! The room directly beh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannipee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Valued Partner,

many thanks for comment here.
we need to inform you that all issued risen here had been sorted out, from TV Channels completely clean, maintenance was increased its level as we do refurbishment
however regarding roaster, we can't do anything due to come from outside and so far from our understanding it was not serious disturbance as we live in the village and it sounds of the nature. it is like we can't complain with the sound of waive whilst hitting the rocks on the beach.

Thank you for your kind attention
Sincerely yours,
komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 312 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed one week. 3 star accomodations with my sister who was using time share points. Room was comfortable. Shower took a long time to warm up and had rather low flow rates. Beds comfortable. Small kitchen with only small refrigerator, microwave, and hot pot. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast was boring. Internet spotty. However the massage ladies gave one of the best massages I have had EVER. I had three while I was there and all were excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolBAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Bali Shangrila Beach Club as your accommodation during your holidays in Bali.
For sure we will look into all areas you rated poor and sort them out soonest

We look forward to welcoming you on upcoming trips

Sincerely yours,
komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed right near the lovely pool in room 3# and had a great time. The cocktails are nice during happy hour at sunset- in the warm pool and then take a few steps from the pool to overlook the ocean :) The beds are comfy but the bathroom is a bit smelly and I felt gross whenever I would take a shower because the water smelt weird (Not sure if this is just me being a bit fussy though haha)..The hotel food is expensive considering the other beautiful restaurants close by-(So definitely go out) but the morning breakfasts were alright! The fruit smoothies are full of real fruit- So be careful drinking these as I drank so many and spent quite a while on the toilet haha! Also I definitely prefer Shangrila to beach palms- its more open and you talk to other people more :)

The service and management are friendly- just make sure you print out a copy of the contract and everything that is included - eg. free drinks on arrival- free massage... etc. because we had to ask for these.

Just a tip- it is much cheaper to book boat trips with the Balinese men who hang around the back area resort of the pool who offer boat trips, rather than booking through the hotel. They offer boat trips to white sandy beach and the blue lagoon however PLEASE make sure you dont get ripped off because many of other people we met at the resort were ripped off. For three people for a boat trip to white sandy beach - we paid $40AUD. We found it a little boundary crossing when one of the Balinese men at the back came to our room and asked us not to tell other guests the price we paid haha
Also..
The bus shuttle service hourly from the Shangrila to whichever restaurant you'd like is also really handy!!! Usually selected restaurants have a shuttle back too. Also just another thing- the coolest (with big ceiling fans) restaurant we went to (also has a shuttle back) which was the best restaurant was Watergarden Cafe. Beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

We thank you for choosing Bali Shangrila Beach Club as your accommodation during your holidays in Bali
we noticed your comments were putted here which basically told us that our services met your satisfaction. Let we share all your outstanding feedback to all of our staff members as a kind of motivational on improvement

again we thank you and look forward to welcoming you on upcoming trips

Sincerely yours,
komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We had booked at this resort for a week but had to leave after 3 days. It was terrible. The rooms were small, tired, mouldy, noisy and smelly. The beach towel they gave us had holes in it and was frayed and faded. The bar was taken over by noisy Aussies watching sport all day long so if you want to relax and peacefully read your book while enjoying the beautiful sea view forget it. Yes!! A positive was the view, it was lovely. The staff were also very friendly and did their best under the circumstances.
Added to all this was the fact that we were kept awake from about 2am by the local roosters, was funny at first but soon became a problem. Not a relaxing nights sleep.
Bali has so much to offer and has so many lovely, reasonably priced resorts, please avoid this one. IT IS AWFUL.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladylee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest Greeting from Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Bali Shangrila Beach Club as your accommodation through then you decided to early check out
we just came through your comment was putted on this tripadvisor which is basically we appreciate for every proportional comment which the objective is to stimulate us for improvement. However we noticed some of your points were subjective because you were dislike with something then you judged everything were poor. to us this is bit unfair if we compare with most of our guests were satisfying about our services

we will look into all your concern and adjust them properly

Sincerely yours
Komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Did my second week of a time share presentation here after a week at Bali Palms!The first room #10 was a bit of a disaster! The aircon blew hot air,the dvd player did not work,the kettle was inefficient and the tv was a snow storm! Asked the staff to change rooms ,so moved to upstairs room with a view over the ocean! Everything worked here luckily as i could not stay in the other room without aircon!
Food at the restaurant was quite nice but nicer and cheaper places to eat in town!
Like the sister resort,the staff here are excellent!
Overall a nice week but the place needs major upgrading to bring it up to modern day comforts.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacksonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for posting comments on this tripadvisor. We definitely review and sort all the problem persist as you mentioned. we commit to provide you with a better services from now and onwards

Thank you for your kind attention and looking forward to welcome you on upcoming trips

Sincerely yours,
Komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We booked a week at the Bali Palms (a "sister resort") through a time share exchange. Prior to arrival we were notified that the resort was undergoing renovations so were were switched to this "superior" property We were there for 2 hours. Much of that time was spent by me walking back to the main road trying to find alternative accommodation. To give them their due they did give me a room on the ground floor as I requested. It faced the side wall of the dining area. The bedroom faced the side wall of the next unit but did have some very tired, bedraggled and thirsty pot plants as decoration. The unit had a small kitchen, a two door access bathroom with a step over divider of about 18" shower stall , a split unit airconditioner in the bedroom, (which to be fair was of adequate size) and a lounge area the main feature of which was a modular vinyl lounge . The property itself is shabby.The main entrance is via the rear with no reception area save for a hole in the wall counter. The pool area is totally concrete including the one table and chairs near the pool. There was a postcard size bit of lawn near the
sea-wall with about 8 lounges. There were no trees around the pool. There was a table and two chairs on the small verandah area outside the unit, wrought iron with vinyl seats. As we collected our luggage our last sight at the "resort" was of a young English couple holding their six month old baby in the shade afforded by the roof overhang. Not my idea of a resort I strong suspect that any positive reviews are written by the people who have bought into this hell , sorry timeshare.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Owly00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, General Manager at Bali Shangrila Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing our property as your accommodation during your holiday in Bali. regarding renovation was being progressed at Bali Palms Resort, in fact we have distributed announcement to all our business partners in last June , so all our business partners have much time to inform this issue to all of their guests. it was so wonder now if you said never advised. Moreover, we had an acknowledgment from our exchange company to accommodate their guests at Bali Shangrila which is the sister company of Bali Palms Resort.
Regarding all negative thing that you mentioned above, it is seemly too excessive in fact we have so many positive comments from most of our guests. Nevertheless we appreciate your feedback and from which we always strive to improve our quality of services.

Thank you for your kind attention
Look forward to welcoming you on upcoming trip

Sincerely yours,
Komang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been going to this resort now for two years & we cannot say enough about the wonderful staff & the resort. Staff know us well now, & we are thoroughly spoiled. Great place for a family relaxing holiday, only a short safe walk to main road with no hassles.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janeybabe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
836 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#6 of 20 in Candidasa
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#11 of 20 in Candidasa
132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Shangrila Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Shangrila Beach Club

Address: Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Price Range: $50 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Shangrila Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Shangrila Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Shangrila Beach Club Hotel Candidasa
Bali Shangrila Beach Hotel
Bali Shangrila Beach Club Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing