We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Shangrila Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Candidasa
Wallaroo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have been going to this resort now for two years & we cannot say enough about the wonderful staff & the resort. Staff know us well now, & we are thoroughly spoiled. Great place for a family relaxing holiday, only a short safe walk to main road with no hassles.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeybabe19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    112
    47
    20
    15
See reviews for
69
115
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

BSBC was an ideal location for my stay in Candidasa. A few minutes walk from most of the best restaurents in Candidasa (and some tasty meals on BSBC menu, also), located on the beach with some beautiful views. Atmosphere is relaxed and the staff are engaging and soooo polite.
My room was a basic grade and it was clean and comfortable, AC did it's job and space was sufficient.
I enjoyed my stay at BSBC and hope to return there again to enjoy their hospitality and beautiful staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Neary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

A very relaxed and enjoyable holiday. the staff are all very friendly and the position of hotel is magic. Reefs with lots of fish right on your door step, DO go snorkeling! We had a single room on the first floor which was very roomy and had a view to die for!!!! Steep stairs up to the room and very low water pressure but otherwise great. It is a time share but anyone can go there, we will be returning and look forward to lounging by the pool or walking the main street which has numerous yummy restaurants and a few shops. Much more relaxed than Kuta!

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms, they are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Olympic Park, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Bali Shangrila is a mixture of timeshare guests and short term stayers. Although we are owners, we stayed only 3 nights this time because of a tight schedule, and booked through Agoda.
What can we say.....typical Balinese village surroundings, wonderful friendly staff, good quality food, 400 metres from the shops and restaurants, absolute beachfront, friendly guests who engage in conversation in the favourite meeting place, the pool!
Yes, Bali Shangrila can be spruced up in a number of ways. Yes,, the hot water smells first when you turn on the shower. But these are minor inconveniences.
There is no hard sell of timeshare there. We had to ask to see Del, the timeshare manager, who is located at the sister property, Bali Palms.
In a word, Recommended if you like a quiet laid back holiday out of the Kuta rat race.

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redcentre434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eerwah Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
253 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Whenever we visit Bali, which is very often, we stay here and even bought into the ownership.It i so friendly, small and the staff are just wonderful. Although it needs a bit of renovation because emphasis has been on its new 'sister' resort Bali Palms, we prefer Shangrila. The beach has returned; you can laze by the pool, snorkel just metres off the beach, go scuba diving, have a massage on site, go fishing with the locals, take tours throughout Bali, dine in the restaurant or visit the many top class ones in the main street of Candidasa and it is so much quieter than all the hustle of Kuta or Legian.
We would never stay in Kuta, Legian, Ubud or Seminyak again now we have found our second home. Just returned from our 6th visit

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms often hear roosters in the village at very early hours but just take ear plugs. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EileenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
369 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been going to Shangrila twice a year for 5 years.If you want to weight up the goods with the bads,theres no doubt the goods will win.
The staff have changed quite a bit since we started going but are all excellent and treat the Resort as their own.
The view is magnificent and whilst the rooms might need a little maintenance we usually find this is done by our next trip.
The town strip is quiet,the outside restaurants outstanding and reasonable,as good a quality as many in Aus.
At the resort you can snorkel,go diving,swim in the ocean without any problems,go fishing and generally relax.
If you want a tast of the real Bali try it out.
Its not luxury but cosy and friendly.
We always look forward to going back.

Room Tip: Bottom rooms are good especially on south side. The roosters are on the other side so you dony here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennisp859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

It is not 4 or 5 star, but if you don't want the glittering chrome and stainless steel this has it all!
Location, cleanliness,staff who believe that they are in a 5 star hotel and treat you accordingly without any snootyness, but rather a genuine pleasure to serve you, and a great restaurant and menu.
Sure, if you look closely you can see that the beach umbrellas need replacing, and the plaster here and there needs a bit of a touch up, but that is the nature of the Bali climate
Very happy to have spent a week here, and would happily return!
The chickens didn't wake us at all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.4 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#13 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rama Shinta Hotel
Rama Shinta Hotel
#8 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Shangrila Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Shangrila Beach Club

Property: Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Address: Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Shangrila Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bali Shangrila Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Shangrila Beach Club Hotel Candidasa
Bali Shangrila Beach Hotel
Bali Shangrila Beach Club Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing