We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Melb, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and a great location.”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at Bali Shangrila on a freestay voucher for one week, only catch was we had to sit through a 'Time Share' Marketing talk. (We had our first week at Bali Palms Resort, had our marketing talk with Alex, he was hard core and the talk was HARD WORK!, however the marketing guy at Shangrila called John was very friendly, he does his informal talks around the bar and is easy going with no real hard sell.)

The resort is lovely, all the staff were really friendly and caring. On a 'Freestay' package you are put in one of the hotel style accom, of course this is the smallest and cheapest, but even so, this accom was fine. There were self contained rooms available, bigger with a lounge area, but for the most part the hotel style accom suited us.

Originally we were given a ground floor room, right next to the bar, it was very, very noisy, with NO privacy at all, we were then offered an upstairs one the next day. This one was great, had a balcony with table and chairs - perfect for us to sit at night and watch the sunsets.

This Shangrila has a small pool, lounges that face the beach (The umbrellas are old, falling to bits and are not so great, when they are up you still get pretty burnt through the flimsy material) a great bar and restaurant that often has good live entertainment.

It has a dive center attached to it, so you have available at any time, snorkling and diving equipment and tours.

We stayed there in Sept, very windy... was told that always, July, Aug & Sept very windy, and as the resort sits right on the ocean the wind NEVER lets up - you do get used to it, but I would not go there again in these months.

Bali Shangrila is off the main street, but is in easy walking distance to everything - I would recommend taking a torch with you when walking out at night as there is no street lighting, the edge of the road is messy and unstable and the motor bikes zoom past you pretty fast.

All in all this resort was fine, it is a little tired look and has seen better days, but the staff do make up for this, they are all gorgeous, friendly and caring. For us, we felt all the rooms were too close to the bar/restaurant area, when in your room you could hear everything and when they were having any live entertainment, you may as well be in the restaurnat watching the entertainment than try sleeping in your room.

Room Tip: We stayed in the hotel style room, second floor no 9 on the left hand side as you look out to the wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deb&Bruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    124
    50
    20
    15
See reviews for
73
132
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Bali Shangrila Beach Club is a value for the money hotel especially suited for families and couples. The hotel is located a 3 minute walk from the restaurant street, and it is located in a quiet area.

Plus:
+ Clean and nice rooms
+ Nice and polite staff
+ Great view
+ Okay pool / restaurant

Minus:
- The Wi-fi at this hotel is very unstable, and have been down about 50% of the time
- There are no lights on the road between the hotel and the restaurant street, this means that you walk in complete darkness during the night, so bring a flashlight. The hotel really should set up at least one light.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gulosten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the BSBC. The rooms are only of an average standard, but the location is superb. The resort is situated on the beach front which has amazing snorkelling. It is a very social place, you will meet some great people. If you love R&R and you love crystal clear water and love to snorkel, you will be very happy with this place.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neiceNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Each year my wife and I come back to the Bali Shangrila for a minimum 7 day stay to relax, enjoy the sun, the atmosphere and all our good friends the staff and management who take great care of us during our stay.

See you all again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank morryg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

The staff were great, but it ends there. The beach club is so out of the way its on a dirt track for a drive way. We stayed in a very ordinary room next to the bar. could not sleep due to noise and got woken up due to kids. Got told to go to a manadatory time share meeting which we our booking made no mention of. We left our prepaid room 3 days early and returned to seminyak.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank T0ny289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Right on the beach so a choice of swimming pool or beach water. Fishing excursions available literally at your doorstep. Outdoor massage. Excellent place to relax, read and meet new people. Well maintained resort. Some evening entertainment provided. Free shuttle to sister resort in Candidasa for a change of scenery and facilities. Great cocktails but food could have been better.

Room Tip: Second level has best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canuchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom by the pool. 2 Tvs, microwave, small fridge and a trundle bed suitable for a child under the lounge.

Staff as usual always friendly.

For the first time we snorkeling off the beach. Wow were we in for suprise. Amazing fish life and we took some bread with us and the fish were everywhere

We also paid 200,000 to go fishing wish we hadn't done either. We caught a big (6kg dolphin fish)

Had 2 great meals at Vincents restaurant and breakfast at Aquaria is lovely (and cheap)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kadek_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
588 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#13 of 20 in Candidasa
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
#15 of 20 in Candidasa
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Shangrila Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Shangrila Beach Club

Property: Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Address: Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bali Shangrila Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Shangrila Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Shangrila Beach Club Hotel Candidasa
Bali Shangrila Beach Hotel
Bali Shangrila Beach Club Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing