We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful & quiet stay away from the busy city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful & quiet stay away from the busy city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I left it to my brother to make the bookings of 3 nights for Rama Candidasa and I totally have no idea of the resort except for some pictures from the internet after the bookings were finalized. We, eight of us including my brother's family checked in last mid December at almost midnight. Despite the wee hour of our arrival at the resort, we were warmly welcome and greeted by their staff with cheerfulness on their faces. They place garland of sweet smelling flowers around our neck and served us refreshments. To our surprise, two of our four rooms booked were upgraded from superior to junior suite with complimentary from the resort.
The rooms are clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped. The resort has beautiful landscape with a lovely swimming pool overlooking the ocean. Refreshments can be ordered and served to you at the pool from Garpu Restaurant next to the pool. So so relaxing lying on the beach chair near the pool and seeping cool fresh fruit juice, facing the ocean enjoying the breeze and sound of the waves.
Half a day spent at the spa, enjoying the relaxing treatment in an individual room for a full body massage and facial followed by flower bath. Nice ambiance with an outdoor feel concept, in fact the shower is outdoor with stone surface. Simply love it and I had a sound sleep that night (i normally face problem to have a good sleep).
We even attended a free yoga class which is on every Wednesday & Saturday. Our yoga master, Mr Kawi is such a patient and soft spoken guy who taught well eventhough all of us are first timers in yoga. There is also bicycles for guests use.
This resort will suit those who want a relaxing and quiet breakaway holiday from the hustle and bustle of the city,

Room Tip: All our rooms allocated are on the ground floor. Perhaps the upper level rooms may be of a better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our rooms, our swimming pool, our Garpu Restaurant services, our Spa Treatment, our Yoga activity, our beautiful Resort views and our Hotel and Staff services.
Your satisfaction experiences is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    452
    95
    33
    25
See reviews for
211
581
55
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over Xmas. This property met/exceeeded expectations. Our brief was for moderate priced, great value. For this we could not fault it. We are quite accustomed to purchasing accommodation at over double the rate of this hotel and for this reason it can be difficult to enjoy less salubrious surrounds. It was very popular with families and whilst this is not my favourite demographic it didn't take away from our opportunity to seek peace on the lovely big day beds overlooking the ocean (no beach) or in the library area. Delightfully presented resort for its age. its like an old dame haven taken good care of itself. Delightful and attentive staff. Would highly recommend. A 20 minute walk to a town that is very ordinary but for a number of good restaurants. 90 minutes to Ubud and the unspoilt eastern Bali, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallylyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It's great to know you met/exceeded your expectation.
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our beautiful resort views and our Hotel and Staff services.
Also, thank you very much for your highly recommend us.
Your satisfaction experiences is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coffs harbour
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We have travelled to Bali many times, but not to this particular area, the photo's on the internet looked great of the hotel and the cost was very reasonable so we booked. When we arrived we were very impressed how nice the hotel was and the Candadisa area was. The hotel to us is 5 star quality. With a beautiful pool overlooking the ocean - so peaceful, lovely lovely gardens, great food in the restaurant (and not expensive as you would expect from a hotel of this standard) all with friendly, helpful and professional staff.

We stayed in a Deluxe Garden View on the 2nd Level (request a 2nd level, much nicer deck and outlook than the ground floor) with a huge balcony, more like a deck, with a day bed to chill out on. The first morning we awake to a plate of fresh fruit on the table on the balcony. The rooms are very spacious, very clean and have every facility required (including a full size fridge, sink and kitchen area (no cooking facilities or cutlery etc.) Our view over the gardens was lovely and we could also partially see the ocean. I see some previous reviews complain of smells and sewerage, we did not experience anything like that at all.

Great and plentiful buffet breakfast. We had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights and was a great meal. Room Service was not so good. The meals arrived cold, but the restaurant was great.

I spent one afternoon in the spa having a facial and massage. One of the most relaxing, professional treatments I have experienced in Bali. The individual rooms are beautiful with stone baths, outdoor showers etc. Not the cheapest, but worth the experience. Loved it.


The day we arrived my Husband was not to well (touch of Bali Belly) and it was raining and very overcast, but we were still very impressed with first impressions and our stay only got better as the weather and my Husband improved. We will definitely be return to this hotel and this part of Bali.

Room Tip: Stay either in the Deluxe Suites or the Ocean View. The Superior Wing is at the back of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PerucciFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It's great to know you met your expectation.
Thank you very much for your compliment.
Your satisfaction experiences is our top priority.
Sure, we will look into the room service and be assured we will improve it.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel we stayed at at the end of December and over the new year. We had planned to stay until the 10th of January 2014 but got so dissolusioned with the whole experience that we bailed out and went to Seminyak. We blew away the pre paid room but could not hack the hotel any more.
The key issues are that the Garpu Restaurant is just terrible and even for breakfast has a very limited range of food. simple stuff like no baked beans, unsalted butter (yuk), bacon very salty etc left both of us with no real options. Fruit selection was very poor and presentation was poor.
The final excruciating touch was loud pan flute music played at breakfast every day. We had to constantly ask them to turn it down or off.
The Garpu menu is so bad that we only had two meals there and cabbed downtown to Vincents and other places to eat. The menu's are dog eared from use and just rubbish. No seafood and no simple stuff like grilled chicken. Do not bother eating there.

Room Tip: Do not get any room other than a ground floor room or you will be sorry. Also make sure it has an um...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mervin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We regret unable to meet you expectation.
We will make effort to improve for all of your comments.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin NT
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We checked in with our friends and expected to be located next to or across from as we were in 216 and they in 218. No.. we were two rows away from them. On entering our Deluxe Garden Bungalow we noticed the distinct smell of raw sewerage and on flushing the loo had actual sewerage come up the drain. The stench was unbelievable. When we called reception to request a change of room we were told they could bring deoderiser but they were full and could not give us another room. So suffer it we did with the promise of a change and an upgrade to a Jnr suite the next day. But alas except for a room 4 flights up they had nothing. One more night with the stench and now a dripping ceiling it was looking like a great entry in to the New Year.
On NY eve we were moved to a Jnr Deluxe Suite with water views and just up from the pool.
I think it was no surprise to the reception staff that this room had an issue; hence the strong smell of deoderiser on entry when we arrived.to the room on the 1st day.
Actually the whole resort has some sort of plumbing problem because when the wind dropped there was always a distinct smell of raw sewerage anywhere you were in the resort,
I wouldn't recommend for a long stay. A night on your way somewhere else maybe but not for your entire vacation.
I have been travelling to Bali for over 30 years and this is the first time I have been unhappy enough to write a negative comment.
Also when ordering cocktails from the bar they were definitely watered down. We tried everything on the menu and weren't even tipsy - that was evidence enough for me

Room Tip: Ask to see before you commit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidfree4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you and we appreciated your comments.
We regret fail to meet up with your expectation.
We will concern on those problem then assure measures are taken to rectify to our shortcoming.
We hope to welcoming you again in the near future with your family and friends soon.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

After signing in to stay at Rama we were told we couldn't have our beachfront bungalow which we found deceiving. We were then told we were to be upgraded (very difficult when you're meant to be in their best room).
That room was ok except for a slight smell of sewer. Once again upgraded? to a room which poured water through the window frames in admittedly heavy rain, rain which penetrated one of the power circuits and blacked us out.
You wouldn't believe it, yep another upgrade? The room shown to me was out the back in the Zen Garden and high enough to make your nose bleed.
Unfortunately both levels of this tree house were ankle deep in water and the balcony railing was just above my nervous knee.
Finally after leaving three days early, twice Rama attempted to have us sign documents indicating we had stayed the full originally intended duration.
Sorry Rama Candidasa, we would have dealt with it but for the constant misleading.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you and we appreciated your comments.
We regret fail to meet up with your expectation.
We will concern on those problem then assure measures are taken to rectify to our shortcoming.
Hope to welcoming you again in the near future with your family and friends soon.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

I have been lucky enough to stay at several beachside resorts and this rates as one of the best. It was an all round relaxing and peaceful experience. The staff are very friendly (no surprise as you're in Bali) and I loved how every one you passed seemed genuine in asking how you were.

The restaurant is standard resort arrangement, reasonable in price, and can serve to you poolside. The breakfast has a good variety, with some days having better selection than others. Bali is known for its laid back style and the service speed reflects that - but it was never to the point of being a problem. Just know you will be well looked after...at some stage.

The resort has ample facilities for its size and many little activities that you can do for free. There's a little convenience store across the road as well as a taxi stand so it's quiet location is not an inconvenience.

The spa has a lovely atmosphere, although honestly a little on the pricey side for what you get. The treatments themselves are nice, but not particularly memorable. The helpfulness and kindness of the staff makes up for it and you still walk out with a smile on your face.

All in all, this resort delivered on what it advertised and was a great spot for rest and relaxation.

Be aware there were several families and Candidasa itself does not have a lot "to do", so it's not the place for you if kids playing in a pool annoys you or if you need to consistently venture out from the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank NKBHappyExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SM_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
It's great to know you met your expectation.
Thank you very much for your compliment.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, our prices/rates, our rooms, our pool, our beautiful resort views, our Spa, our foods and beverage at Garpu Restaurant and our Hotel and Staff services.
Your satisfaction experiences is our top priority.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future with many of your friends and family soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.0 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#7 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#9 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#13 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Property: Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Address: Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | PO Box 120, Candidasa, Karangasem 80801, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Family Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa is located in the east of Bali, in the heart of the Candidasa district. With private beach frontage and a beach terrace above, the resort offers tranquility, ocean breezes, and a romantic atmosphere for nature lovers. Accommodations are artistically furnished and decorated with contemporary Balinese décor and modern facilities, and secluded balconies offering views over the ocean, pool, or garden.The natural serenity of being set amongst, mountains, rice fields and ocean, that offers the ultimate peace and tranquility. Whether you want shopping, activity ; such as diving, snorkeling and yoga, or just relaxing and daydreaming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Candidasa Resort And Spa
Rama Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing