We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We didn't want to leave... :o(” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
tatouage
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave... :o(”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is about an hour and a half's drive from Ngurah Rai Airport, depending on the traffic. You could get the hotel to pick you up which would be easier than haggling at the airport. The alley leading up to the hotel would make you wonder about the authenticity of the photos posted on the hotel's homepage. However all traces of doubt were erased as soon as the taxi drove up into the hotel!

We were greeted warmly with flower garlands, cooling towels and welcome drinks. And the surrounding was exactly as it was depicted in the photos. Luscious greenery, and Balinese style architecture.

We stayed on the ground floor of the villa. The room and bathroom were very spacious, with air-conditioning. And clean. Bathroom amenities are provided as well as bottled drinking water, which are replenished daily. Rooms are cleaned daily and towels changed.

Facilities:
Swimming pool: Good, medium-sized pool and a children's pool, towels provided.
Daily free activities: Walking tour, yoga, games
Wifi: Free, ask for the code from the reception (works for 12 hours at a time)
Restaurant: Restaurant Garpu serves good daily breakfast, lunch and dinner. Local and western food available. Prices are ++
Spa: Professional spa and massuesse
Bike rental: Only for daredevils....

There is no beach at the hotel, however it is located at the edge of the sea. To get to a beach take the taxi from the hotel and drive about 25-30 minutes to White Sandy Beach (the sand is not white, though). Strong waves, but makes for a good day out if you absolutely need to feel the sand in between your toes.... (Pack a lunch from the hotel or there are also restaurants at the beach). Otherwise the pool is a great place to get the sun and still get the seabreeze and hear waves crashing. The lounging bed is fantastic! We slept half the day away on it....

The "city" of Candidasa is about 5 minutes' drive from the hotel (Rp.25.000 with a taxi from the hotel). Nothing much to see except restaurants if you would like to try other restaurants, ATMs, mini-markets and the obligatory souvenir shops. You can get the driver to pick you up for the return journey or get your own cab. The taxis here do not have the taxi sign on top. It is usually a 7-seater mpv. There is a taxi service located in front of the Gemini mini-market (near the lagoon) if you decide to catch a cab on your own.

We (myself and my 7-year-old son) got massages at the spa. We loved it! The hotel gave vouchers to the spa which entitled guests to an hour massage for Rp250.000 instead of Rp.350.000.

We absolutely love this hotel, not just because of the facilities. Yes, we loved the fact that they worked fine and the hotel is very well-kept. However we would also credit the excellent stay to the hotel staff from front-desk to restaurant and kitchen and everybody else was just so helpful, courteous and professional. We would return in a heartbeat.

Minuses:
- There was a constant sewage smell in the bathroom. We kept the bathroom door shut to avoid the smell getting in the rest of the room.
- Ants in the bathroom and worktop.
- We saw a cockroach in the restaurant
- There is no immediate accessible beach

Pluses:
Everything else!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tatouage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Very pleased you chose us for your holiday and glad we meet up to your expectation.
Thank you for the compliments.
Measures are being taken to improve the smell in the bath room.
Hope to see you here soon.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    452
    95
    33
    25
See reviews for
211
582
55
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Rama Candidasa is a lovely and quiet resort and spa located on the south end of Candidasa, Bali. My husband and I spent the last two nights of our honeymoon at this resort and enjoyed every minute. We had been very busy exploring all of Bali for 3 weeks and were looking forward to two days of relaxation before making the long journey home.

Upon arrival we were greeted by friendly staff members, a cold towel, and a refreshing welcome drink. In celebration of our honeymoon, the receptionist upgraded us to the junior suite. This was quite a treat. The room was fantastic and the bed was the most comfortable we had found in 3 weeks of traveling around the island. The room was very clean and plenty of room for two adults. The bathroom is quite spacious and has a huge walk-in shower with great water pressure. There was a small kitchen and a sitting area as well in the room. The air conditioner worked very well and kept the room nice and cool.

We never left the resort, so I can't say much about the surrounding areas. We ate all of our meals at the hotel. The fare is pretty typical Bali resort fare with a variety of Indonesian, Asian, Indian, and Western selections. If you are a vegetarian, I highly recommend the Vegetables Curried Rice dish. I liked it so much that I ordered it for dinner both evenings. Each guest is given a voucher for the breakfast buffet which is served from 7 am - 10 am each morning. They serve a variety of pastries, cereal, pancakes, fresh fruit, many hot dishes, and an egg/omelet station.

The pool is beautiful and was never crowded. The resort provides towels for the resort guests as well several board games. Unfortunately, although the resort is oceanfront, it does not have a beach for swimming. As I looked along the coastline, I didn't see many white sand beaches in Candidasa. I'm sure we could have found some if we had bothered to do a little work, but we just enjoyed relaxing at the pool all day.

The resort offers free internet service to all guests. You must ask for the username and password at the front desk. The code and username are only good for 12 hours at a time. After 12 hours you must return to the front desk to ask for a new code. This can prove to be a little inconvenient at times.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Rama Candidasa Resort and Spa and will recommend it to family and friends traveling to Bali.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerchill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Very pleased you chose us for your Honeymoon.
Thanks for the compliments which i have shared with all our staffs.
Glad you were pleasntly upraised with the upgrade to the junior suite.
Yes, our curry rice dish is our top seller for the vegetarians .
Hope to see you with us again soon.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved our time at this hotel. The room we had was in the older wing which was spotless and contained everything we needed including a lovely view of the hills from our balcony. All the staff were extremely helpful and always smiling and greeting us and making s feel special. The pool was immaculate in its cleanliness and the facilities around the hotel included lovely beach beds, small pagoda beds in the garden and sun deck chairs around the pool. The restaurant was inexpensive and provided great food in a nice environment overlooking the sea. We had easy access to drivers whenever we wanted them and free snorkelling equipment to use when we went on our boat trips. The spa facilities were also very good and the other rooms closer to the beach and pool looked very inviting. Overall a nice, quiet and calming place to be. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Big thank you for your compliments and rating us beyond our expectation.
Glad you enjoyed your holiday with us.It was a pleasure serving you.
Hope to see you in the near future.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just returned from 19 days stay at the Rama Candidasa and it was pure bliss! Super relaxing, we stayed in a garden villa and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.
The staff at the Hotel, wether reception, housekeeping or restaurant were all without exception so friendly and courteous, customer service was excellent!
Lovely pool area, the restaurant served great food and the location is just right for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieTravellers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Glad you had a Super Relaxing holiday with us.
Thank you for the compliments on the food and service level.
Hope to see both soon at Rama Candidasa Resort .
Cheers
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel has a gorgeous location right on the water in Candidasa. The ocean view rooms are worth every penny--just a stones throw from the water and right near the pool and restaurant. Lots of lounging areas and day beds in beauty spots around the resort. Staff is very nice, room was well equipped and very comfortable. Only complaint would be the strange and impractical internet access that involved continuously going to the staff for a new code, though the staff told me they are trying to upgrade this service.

It's an easy walk down the lane to a service station with an ATM and mini mart. Candidasa center is a bit of a walk, but inexpensive taxis ($2) are readily available at the hotel. There is a woman who makes amazing baskets just outside the entrance-well worth stopping by!

Room Tip: Ocean room views are worth the money. You are steps from the ocean front and the gorgeous surf, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surreyhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for the compliments.
Glad you enjoyed the ocean view room.
Yes, we are taking measure to improve the internet.
Hope to see you in the near future at Rama Candidasa Resort.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling the world
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Beautiful grounds over looking the ocean, nice pool and good breakfast buffet. Rooms were nice but bathrooms could be updated. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The hotel offers different free activities each day which is a nice plus. It also offers 2hr free bicycle rentals: perfect for going into town for a meal. Overall a good stay and worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Rama Candidasa Resort for your holiday.
Appreciate your compliments.
We will share it with all the staffs.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this magnificent resort in May 2013, the grounds and gardens were just magnificent, staff very friendly and rooms comfortable. We were very impressed by the friendliness of all staff from gardeners and pool attendents to head waiters.

The resort offers some free activities rostered during the week; We participated in yoga and walking tour of the village and surounding farms. These were conducted by both profesional and very knowlegable people. We would highly recomend the walking tour, as we got to see more of real life practices in Bali.

The restorant menu offers a range of high quality food, but it is a little short of variaty, this is offset by some nights offering buffet meals at dinner time. The breakfast buffet provides good choice of meals and treats.

The rooms are comfortable and cleaned daily, but are showing signs of aging; however I consider them very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks you for the compliments.
We are pleased you enjoyed the activities.
I agree, walking tour of the farm is really Bali.
Hope to see you back soon at Rama Candidasa Resort.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.0 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#7 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#13 of 19 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Property: Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Address: Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | PO Box 120, Candidasa, Karangasem 80801, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Family Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa is located in the east of Bali, in the heart of the Candidasa district. With private beach frontage and a beach terrace above, the resort offers tranquility, ocean breezes, and a romantic atmosphere for nature lovers. Accommodations are artistically furnished and decorated with contemporary Balinese décor and modern facilities, and secluded balconies offering views over the ocean, pool, or garden.The natural serenity of being set amongst, mountains, rice fields and ocean, that offers the ultimate peace and tranquility. Whether you want shopping, activity ; such as diving, snorkeling and yoga, or just relaxing and daydreaming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Candidasa Resort And Spa
Rama Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing