We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - worth the stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Beautiful grounds over looking the ocean, nice pool and good breakfast buffet. Rooms were nice but bathrooms could be updated. Staff are friendly and accommodating. The hotel offers different free activities each day which is a nice plus. It also offers 2hr free bicycle rentals: perfect for going into town for a meal. Overall a good stay and worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morgan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Rama Candidasa Resort for your holiday.
Appreciate your compliments.
We will share it with all the staffs.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 1,314 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this magnificent resort in May 2013, the grounds and gardens were just magnificent, staff very friendly and rooms comfortable. We were very impressed by the friendliness of all staff from gardeners and pool attendents to head waiters.

The resort offers some free activities rostered during the week; We participated in yoga and walking tour of the village and surounding farms. These were conducted by both profesional and very knowlegable people. We would highly recomend the walking tour, as we got to see more of real life practices in Bali.

The restorant menu offers a range of high quality food, but it is a little short of variaty, this is offset by some nights offering buffet meals at dinner time. The breakfast buffet provides good choice of meals and treats.

The rooms are comfortable and cleaned daily, but are showing signs of aging; however I consider them very good value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks you for the compliments.
We are pleased you enjoyed the activities.
I agree, walking tour of the farm is really Bali.
Hope to see you back soon at Rama Candidasa Resort.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for only one night at the resort, but had enjoyed every minute of it. The lobby is nicely designed, balinese art piece, statues of Rama decorated the corner area. Swimming pool area is the winner. Not too large, just nice and very refreshing with ocan view!! You can sunbathe by the pool and enjoy the ocean view at the same time. The hotel also had 3 blanco bale or hanging gazebos that can swing, coz it is hang instead of grounded. Noticed only one restaurant that serve dinner buffet and ala carte, it was okay with mid pricing. The only thing that bothered me slightly was when we call the hotel direct, we were told that the standard room was sold out. But log on to their website, rooms were available, cheaper, with free 2 bottles of wine and food discount. Yeiiyy.. Room was ok, bed was. comfortable. Overall it was a nice stay, at a beautiful resort with good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyfeetonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for the compliments.
Regret the the reservation shortcoming, measure will be taken to improve the areas.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa for 5 nights, we bought out holiday through Groupon in Australia and were a bit nervous about what it would be like. We chose to pay an extra $40us a night and upgraded to an ocean view villa, this was definitely a great decision as our room was beautiful, the view was great and the sound of the ocean was fantastic to lay in bed and listen to. We were very close to the pool which wasn't that bad but if the resort was full I would prefer to be one villa further away. The restaurant is lovely with very nice and reasonably priced meals. The service around the pool area is very efficient with lovely staff asking us at regular intervals if we would like a drink which were reasonably priced. The pool was very nice too, plenty of space and we never had any trouble getting a sun lounge, but if the resort was full you may. The only downside to this resort and area in general is there is no beach, an unfortunate result we were told of very bad environmental planning when this area was opened up for resorts, apparently there used to be a beautiful beach and a coral reef offshore, but they mined the coral reef to build the resorts and then the beaches were washed away! Such a shame.
The town of Candidasa is about 5 minutes away by taxi, some say there's little to look at but we found some nice little shops to browse through and the prices of the clothing and footwear we found were cheaper here in some instances than Kuta. You could easily wander for a couple of hours but be prepared to be targetted by street sellers trying to sell you watches & sunglasses, but we found these guys no where near as persistant as in Kuta and if you smiled and had a joke with them they would flash their beautiful Balinese smile at you and leave you be.
We hired a driver a couple of times during our stay, Mr Dana, who was just fantastic and spoke very good English, he was so patient with us wanting to stop and look at everything but nothing was too much trouble. We took a whole day and travelled to Ubud and surrounds as well as attending a tradition Balinese dance performance, which was quite long, but it was good to pay respect to this important Balinese tradition so we were glad we went. Mr Dana took us to some amazing galleries to view silver jewellry being made, incredible wood carvings, batik, paintings, glass, a temple and much more. We could stop whenever we felt like it. We had a great day.
If you just wanted to go on a short tour from Candidasa there is a traditional village 10 - 15 minutes drive from the resort as well as the Royal Water Palace which is worth a visit.
.
Over all we found this resort to have everything we wanted, except maybe a beach, but what we got made up for that. Clean rooms, very nice and attentive staff, beautiful pool area, nice restaurant and food, and our villa was perfect. We'll definately be back.

Room Tip: I would recommend upgrading to the deluxe ocean view villa, it really made our trip that much more l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shino1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks you for the compliments.
Glad you enjoyed the ocean view room and the service at the pool.
We are equally please to serve you and hope to see you soon.
Warm Regards.
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We arrived in the evening to a Royal welcome.at the Rama Reception fit for a King & Queen. We quickly showered and attended for dinner at the Rama restaurant. It was great to relax and eat after a long & arduous drive from the Airport. (Denpasar). We settled in for the night and looked forward to the next day. In the morning I attended the reception and informed staff we had a running/dripping sound coming from the bath room area. Consequently it was difficult to sleep. The staff at reception were very understanding and quick to offer us another Superior room on the same level. This room didn't have the same problems we encountered with the previous room. After a few nights we got used to the regular sights & sounds at the Rama Hotel & Candi Dasa. Candi Dasa was not over flowing with tourists whilst we were there. However we enjoyed our trips; White water rafting; trekking up Mt Batur; snorkeling at Amed. It was at Amed that we enjoyed a singalong with 5 local children who were trying to sell their wares with out much success. We gave them each 50.000 rup just for the sing along. You should have seen the smiles on there faces. At all times whilst we stayed at the Rama we encountered warm & friendly staff, gardeners, Pool attendants, Cleaning room attendants, and not to forget the reception staff. I enjoyed the friendly banter with the reception staff with regards to learning the Balinese language. I was always tested by them and it was a great laugh for all concerned. On our departure we were once again given the Royal treatment and it was sad to depart as one gets used to certain people. Look forward to returning one day. BALI BUGUS.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Rama Candidasa Resort for your holiday.
Glad you enjoyed the Resort and Candidasa.
I have shared your comments with all the staffs.
WA rm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just spent 6 days in this hotel in june ;we enjoyed our stay.
Great views from the restaurant and the pool aera with stunning sunsets if you are so lucky.
The food is OK and the service is great and pleasant, very clean but otherwise very quiet hotel.
There no beaches there but there's a free loan of bicycles on hand for 2hours. If not busy ( off season) they let you have it for a longer time. We also enjoyed the free yoga classes on offer in the morning in serein and beautiful surroundings.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and upgrade to a room overlooking the swimming pool and water views for a much lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjen_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for the compliments.
Pleased you enjoyed you stay with us.
Hope to see you with us again.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Nice hotel for exploring south-east Bali. No beach - but decent pool and some sand stripe nearby. Very good restaurant. We had the best dinner in Bali here. Rooms are ok (a little bit small at least in the main building). No elevator for the 3rd floor (poor porters...)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gabe000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nengah A, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for the comments.
Glad you had the best dinner with us.
Sure, we will review the porters performance.
Warm Regards
Peer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candidasa
0.3 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
868 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#11 of 20 in Candidasa
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
306 reviews
23.7 mi away
Kejora Suites
Kejora Suites
#8 of 82 in Sanur
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Address: Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | PO Box 120, Candidasa, Karangasem 80801, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Family Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range: $78 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa is located in the east of Bali, in the heart of the Candidasa district. With private beach frontage and a beach terrace above, the resort offers tranquility, ocean breezes, and a romantic atmosphere for nature lovers. Accommodations are artistically furnished and decorated with contemporary Balinese décor and modern facilities, and secluded balconies offering views over the ocean, pool, or garden.The natural serenity of being set amongst, mountains, rice fields and ocean, that offers the ultimate peace and tranquility. Whether you want shopping, activity ; such as diving, snorkeling and yoga, or just relaxing and daydreaming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Candidasa Resort And Spa
Rama Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing