We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in the beach front bungalow room 213. The grounds and rooms are very good and the staff mostly friendly. You will need transport if you would like to look around the area as it is about two klm from the main strip and other restaurants. You can stay at the resort as it has great pool and some free activities for guests. When we booked through Agoda with expected free WiFi. We did get free Internet however initially in one hour vouchers only and would need to go back to hotel reception to get more. After complaining the staff stated that they had run out of the 12 hr vouchers. We also had to log on and off all the time as it is timed by vouchers that they give you. Very childish and time consuming. One log on for the duration of your stay would be sensible like all other hotels. The breakfast is generally very good and is a buffet. One morning we attended breakfast at 0900 and the staff were very grumpy. Not sure why. The girl who filled our coffee spilt it everywhere in her hast and bad mood. Like many hotels they play the continuous Bali music during breakfast that does get very boring after a few days. On the same morning that all the staff were unhappy at around 0945 hr they changed the music to heavy punk rock and turned up the volume. They did turn it off when I complained firmly. Not sure what this was all about. The restaurant area can get very hot later in the day and needs lots more fans to circulate the air. Our room was close to the massage hut and pool area. Every morning very early we were woken by the loud noisy staff. My wife did complain one morning but did not improve. On a positive note this is a very good place to stay for a few days if you like to just relax. The beach side bungalows are excellent and room 215 would be the best pick.

Room Tip: Room 215 is the best sea side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nengah A, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your comments.
The internet issue is resolved as we now only giving 12hrs vouches to all guest.
The staff concern has been counseled.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    476
    99
    34
    27
See reviews for
224
620
62
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
miami
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at this hotel. They have obviously spent a lot of money updating the exterior of the hotel, but the basic hotel rooms are out of date. The bathroom and furnishings are in need of replacements. The spa services were wonderful, but very high priced for bali, a walk into town can get you a much cheaper massage. The restaurant is extremely high priced and would get more business if they charged more comparable prices. The staff were kind the entire time we were there and always helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nengah A, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks for the feedback.
We are constantly upgrading the exterior and interior of the resorts. We will make more effort in the interior in the coming months.
Thanks you for choosing us.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from 5 nights at Rama, Candidasa. While the town is a little way away from the airport, the appeal of it being nowhere near Bali's main tourist strip sold it for us completely.

The staff were incredible from the time we entered the resort at 11pm on a Sunday (of all times...) with a welcome drink and flower lei. They were also considerate that the travel to the hotel was exhausting and made sure not to overload us with information. The resort offers many free activities as well as opportunities for tours etc and we made a point of sitting down with the concierge (?) the next day and made a few bookings. Staff were always incredibly helpful and polite, appreciative of us making an effort to speak Bahasa Indonesia and very patient. Some of the staff interactions I saw with more "difficult" guests gave me a lot of respect for the level of courtesy the staff show.

Our room was an Ocean View villa and it was spotlessly clean and well maintained daily. We were really happy with the location of the room and definitely felt it was worth the few extra $ to get the view. The grounds of the resort are incredibly well-kept, gardeners were working round the clock and their effort certainly shows.

My partner and I was so impressed with the Balinese food on offer at the restaurant that we decided to book a cooking class. We were taken to the markets first then made to feel very welcome and supported by all the kitchen staff when making the food, before being made to feel like royalty eating our food in the restaurant they had cleared out solely for us to use. All the staff made an effort to chat to us after this and ask us how we went, showing the level of staff involvement with the guests.

The location of the resort was great considering my partner and I were happy to walk into town when needed. The resort also offers a shuttle into Candidasa if you book it a day in advance, but if you have no problems with dodgy footpaths and are up for a bit of adventure with Bali traffic, walking only takes about 15 minutes.

All in all a great experiences, friendly staff, great room and amazing restaurant. Really happy and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AustralianGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nengah A, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Glad you and your partner had a Exceptional Experience at our resorts.
I have shared your comments with all the staffs and they are very pleased.
Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Warm Regards.
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Oh! What a find!!
We were looking for the right place for our Honeymoon...., and what to say! This was just the right mix of tranquility and bliss... Rama Candidasa is a place that absorbs you within itself with its lustrous green surroundings, the wonderful and ever-pleasing attitude of its employees, and the astonishing views of the Ocean!!
We picked up an Ocean front villa, and guess that was the perfect choice.. You get up in the morning, step out, and there it is.... the wide, blue, beautiful ocean, welcoming you with open arms! Have to agree, the restaurant is brilliant, with its nice spread of breakfast, and wide list of dinner options...(but very limited Veg options).. Though, we went out for dinner to Candidasa market on the 2nd and 3rd nights, but coming back to the Hotel restaurant was always great!
Located away from the hustle bustle of Kuta and Seminyak, this is just the right place for relaxation! Would definitely recommend this to anyone seeking pure Bliss in Bali!

Room Tip: Take the Ocean front Villa...its really wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrasunKundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nengah A, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Good to know your had a Blissful Experience at Rama Candidasa Resort and Spa.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to Welcome you back and your family in the near future.
Warm Regards.
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is also a great place to stay and it is just outside Candi Dasa. This hotel when we first went there in 1999 was something we could not believe in its style. I feel as though you could put this hotel in any first class holiday location and it would be a four * plus. The hotel will take you into Candi Dasa and pick you up when finished with whatever you might do. Breakfast here is really great and also it is right on the beach which is not a lot but many other things around the hotel to keep you busy. On the last trip we took some tennis rackets and balls for the staff to keep and use when off duty. The staff here as we have found in many hotels in Bali are very good and helpful. We recommend this hotel with the highest regards.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but we like staying in one of the bunaglows or in the westeren block ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nengah A, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Glad to know you returned to Rama Candidasa Resort after more then 10years .
We are grateful for recommending us very highly.
Hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Title says it all. We spent 5 days here. 3 in Tuban and 5 in Sanur. All were great hotels although this one was magical.. We were upgraded to an ocean view... villa. Couldn't stop saying OMG!! the views were amazing. The hotel itself was above and beyond. The staff couldnt do enough. This would have to be the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in. (we are in our 50's) There are lots of wonderful places near. We used their free bikes and cycled for two day to near villages and beaches. WOw, wow, wow!! Cant find fault with this hotel!! Cant wait to go back!!!! Oh... and the bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in... wanted to take the bed home!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nengah A, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the compliments.
We will be inconstantly improving our service and product.
It was a pleasure to serve you and looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

‘’Magical Rama Candidasa’’........

There is certainly something magical about Rama Candidasa and it occurs to you when you step foot into the beautiful and tastefully designed tall open air bale covered lobby.

The gentle hum of the water features surrounding the lobby and the serene background music does an enviable job of transporting you to a relaxed state of mind and the notion that you have arrived somewhere a bit special...
As soon as you step foot into the lobby you are greeted with a garland of marigolds, a cold towel and a sweet drink.
It is totally incongruous with the isolated dirt track leading to the hotel....

We arrived on spec for our 4 night stay.We then sat at reception with our netbook and made our reservation online.!Hotels.com had a better rate than the hotel could offer!?

We treated ourselves to a junior suite with breakfast daily.This worked out at £80 per night.The suite was luxurious, if on the small side for a suite and as with the resort in general had recently been refurbished to a high standard.
The bed and bedding were extremely comfortable. All modern ameneties were provided, with a lovely modern natural stone bathroom complete with large rain shower behind a glass door.
There was a safe and an integrated full size fridge in the wardrobe that then extended to a galley kitchen area with a small sink and loads of storage space -The space wasted here was a bit of a tragedy especially when there were no cooking facilities, crockery etc. just a kettle and a limited supply of tea/coffee.I stored my suitcase in the galley kitchen! I can only imagine, an origional design went over budget..it just didn't sit right in the room.It certainly was a quandry as the resort or Candidasa does not lend itself to the self catering market- food being exceptional value for money compared with he western world!The room was gorgeously decked out but i'm not really sure it could be classed as a 'suite'.
Outside the room was a small outside seating area with a delightful sofa and relaxing water feature.We enjoyed reading here on a couple of occasions listening to the soothing lull of the water.
The resort concept feels very ‘zen’ like and tranquil, and is..... all about relaxation.

The fact that there is no beach really is no issue,contrary to what you might imagine.
They have created a man made sand strip with the most amazing and decadent day bed hammocks where you can lie side by side with your loved one and gently rock to the tune of the waves lapping the hotel sea wall. Soo relaxing, not to mention romantic!

The pool is beautiful with garuda and barong heads spurting a fountains of water.
The whole resort is a botanical delight with well tended gardens and Balinese stone statues.

The restaurant that serves all meals is glass fronted and over looks the sights and sounds of the ocean.
The breakfast buffet was nice and varied. I enjoyed the made to order omlettes.
Note well that they are pretty strict on closing dead on at the set closing time,which was a shame.
People who arrived at 10 am were basically sent packing.! Which is not conducive to 4/5 star in service levels.Something the management could do to improve on in their aim to keep guest satisfaction and service High.But it has to be said.. a fantastic view whilst you ate your breakfast.
We didn’t eat dinner here as there are so many options in down town Candidasa for a change of scenery, but they do put on entertainment and one night we saw the start of a nice Balinese child dance display.
What i did love about the resort was how they laid on daily activities to break up the day.I was lucky enought to do outdoor yoga twice in the wonderful zen like garden overlooking a huge koi and lily pond.Here there were more amazing day beds to just relax and while away a few hours.I also attended a lontar demonstration by the pool area which was a lovely insight into this ancient art of carving drawings then colouring for definition.I was able to take my own handywork home as a souvenir. Do be aware the aritist would ideally like to make a sale here but it he was gentle and none intrusive.

Staff
Generally, the staff were smiling and tried to be attentive but i did get an overall sense of lack of experience in quite a few areas.I expect the locals are given the opportunity to move into the service industry but in aiming to offer a 4/5 star service the management might look at spending time with staff on customer relations. On occasion i found them to be either inexperienced or a bit outspoken when not appropriate.

A magical part of eastern Bali and the resort has the very best of intentions; just some fine tuning would complement this wonderful resort.....go see for yourselves.

I apologise for my lengthy reviews but when i was researching our trip i loved to pour over every detail and looked out for balanced reviews to ensure i made the right choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lmmb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nengah A, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Rama Candidasa Resort and Spa for your holiday and for the compliments.
Please be assured measures will be taken to improve the breakfast service and the guest relation skill level .
Hope to welcome you back at our resort in the near future at "Magical Rama Candidasa Resort and Spa.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
770 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#10 of 20 in Candidasa
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Property: Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Address: Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | PO Box 120, Candidasa, Karangasem 80801, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Family Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa is located in the east of Bali, in the heart of the Candidasa district. With private beach frontage and a beach terrace above, the resort offers tranquility, ocean breezes, and a romantic atmosphere for nature lovers. Accommodations are artistically furnished and decorated with contemporary Balinese décor and modern facilities, and secluded balconies offering views over the ocean, pool, or garden.The natural serenity of being set amongst, mountains, rice fields and ocean, that offers the ultimate peace and tranquility. Whether you want shopping, activity ; such as diving, snorkeling and yoga, or just relaxing and daydreaming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Candidasa Resort And Spa
Rama Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing