We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, ruined by trainee”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great ambience, ruined by trainee”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I spent a night in this hotel with my girlfriend and my best friend who were celebrating 7th anniversary,. We amazed with the stunning ocean view.,the check in proccess is smooth, and luckly our room is upgraded. Positive :
- the staff at Garpu restaurant namely Sari,Merta, and Febri are fantastic.,and the pool attendant Nova also friendly and have a great smile,.
- room is so cozy.,nice design

Negative:
- the trainee at poolside is so rude, please teach him how to deal with guest before he start. Please.,he suddenly turn my mood

Overall service was Amazing.,definitely will come back

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indra_icha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the compliments.
Regret, the lapse in service by the trainee.Measure have been taken to ensure this do not happen again.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    477
    99
    34
    27
See reviews for
224
622
62
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Twin Waters
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you want to get away from hustle and bustle this is certainly the place! It is located a few kilometres out of Candidasa but it is difficult walking into town. However for $2 you can get a taxi from the resort into Candidasa. We had a lovely hotel room on the 3rd floor with a balcony overlooking the reception area. When we checked in we were greeted with a cold towel and welcome drink and very friendly service. We were offered breakfast coupons at a cheaper rate but you had to buy for the whole of your stay. At first we were hesitant but found the breakfasts very delightful with a great variety of food. The room was fairly small but good bed and shower. The grounds are beautifully maintained. The pool is crystal clear and overlooks the ocean. There is no white sandy beach here as it is built right on a rock wall. It is a very pretty location with just adequate amount of sun beds and umbrellas (don't know if there would be enough in high season though!) Wi-fi was available free in the lobby and restaurant but wasn't really all that reliable. We didn't have dinner in the restaurant as we thought the drinks and meals too pricey, so we went into town often. We found a really great restaurant called Vincents, excellent food, service and price. They even have free pickup and take home service. (a lot of them do). We would definitely recommend this resort if you are wanting to chill out!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayandRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your compliments and comments.
Please be assured we have taken measures to improve the Wi Fi system.
Looking froward to seeing you here again in the future.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The rate was great since it was during the low season. in addition, I was upgraded to a bungalow. I mentioned that the level of freon was low and engineering fixed it immediately. They waived the internet fee since it was stated on Agoda as such. The room, buffet breakfast, view, pool, and upkeep were all that you expect from a 5 star resort, though at a much lower price. The staff will bend over backward to assure your comfort. Reviews have complained about the location since it's not in the city center, but so what. All the high end resorts are in the same area as this one. They offer a free shuttle into town daily, plus all of the better restaurants in Candidasa offer free pick-up and return if you eat there. Compared to all of the areas and hotels I stayed at in Bali (for one month), this was a true piece of paradise.

Room Tip: In general, check the washroom for leaks and the internet connection before settling in. And if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the compliments.
We are pleased you found Paradise at Rama Candidasa Resort.
Looking forward to well come you back in the near future.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice simple resort. But not the best, there's one somewhere in the Candidasa/Amed area with a few awesome infinity pools that look out to the ocean... can't remember which one it is though...

Pros: Price, I got upgraded to a nice bungalow and only paid ~USD$50 for the room. Breakfast is a nice western style all you can eat buffet. Rooms are clean. Nice pool. Very friendly and attentive staff. Got a nice massage in the spa, you could probably get all sorts of luxury things done to you if you're that way inclined.

Cons: Bit far from the main drag (probably just me being lazy). Roaches in the loo, though that's pretty normal for Bali. Bungalow was a bit pokey. Couldn't find the switch to turn off the bedside light (I swear it wasn't there!), so unscrewed it in order to sleep. The pool is nice, but not like some of the infinity pools I've seen in other locations. All the silly concrete rubbish in the ocean just out the front of the hotel. No beachfront. Those ridiculous 1-size-fits-all disposable undies they give you in spas here...

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Hsuan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Rama Candidasa Resort and Spa for your holiday.
Thank you for the comments, we will make every effort to improve our shortcoming.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed at the Rama for 2 nights on a recent trip to Bali and it was a lovely hotel.

The staff were attentive, the rooms were lovely, the hotel food was good and the pool and view were sensational.

We took advantage of the spa discount offer and were not disappointed! The best massage in Bali by far. The hotel also kindly arranged a snorkelling trip to the blue lagoon for us, which was another highlight of our trip.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bandcAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the compliments.
It was a pleasure to serve you and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We found the rooms to be very generous in size, extremely clean and very comfortable. We were upgraded to a junior suite and I think this made our stay remarkable. The hotel meals were also very good, great value and presented in such a unique way. Can highly recommend to families and couples. We will be back for sure. Even tho it is a little way out if town, there is a shuttle service and a mini mart at the entrance to the hotel ( a very short walk). It was truly a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite, views and rooms are unbelievable
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Justmysty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are pleased to know you found your Paradise at Rama Candidasa Resort and Spa.
Thank you for the compliments and i have shared them with all the staff.
Looking forward to welcome you back to Paradise in the near future.
Warm Regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've just been privileged enough to stay at the Rama CandiDasa for a girlfriends wedding.. thank goodness otherwise I would never go to Bali again.. Kuta/Legian/Seminyak.. you can have yourself.. The Rama CandiDasa was just what the doctor ordered.. Travelling 2 hours north of Kuta into the beautiful green Balinese countryside and through a couple of villages that offer local industry wares (silversmiths, batik etc), you arrive at the large open-air entrance welcomed with a cold drink and cold wet towel (it's the small things that make a difference).. rooms although not big, were comfortable.. We were in a superior room and would probably upgrade to a bigger room next time if we needed a rollaway again (and the beds were a bit hard but they were the same at all of the resorts we stayed in).. nice balcony looking over waterfall but who stays in the room for long when you've got such a gorgeous pool area and restaurant that serves up delectable Indonesian delights.. (terrific peanut sauce if you're into it).. we went for a snorkel trip which was heaps of fun (not the best snorkelling I've done as much of the coral is burnt but worth getting into the ocean for a swim with gorgeous fish and having a paddle).. relaxing relaxing relaxing.. For families, I noticed there was a family with young kids who hung out in the kids pool which was part of the big pool and they were having a ripper time (I didn't see any kids play equipment but it may have been somewhere I didn't go to.. the grounds are beautiful and there is heaps of room for the kids to play so they shouldn't be bored).. for singles, take a couple of books and your ipod and you'll leave your stresses behind.. for couples, the setting on the waterfront is romantic and relaxing.. the staff are friendly and helpful if you need anything.. the township is only a quick taxi ride or walk into town and there are apparently a couple of nice restaurants there worthy of a go (as I said, wish I'd had more time to sample them).. We paid well in advance from the hotels website and got a fantastic rate with breakfast included so this is a place to unpack for a week and just leave all your worries at the airport.. Thanks to all of the staff at the Rama CandiDasa for making my break away worthwhile.. btw the wedding was glorious and everything the happy couple planned and hoped for..

Room Tip: Superior rooms are in the hotel style block at the back of the resort (furtherest away from waterfro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsMinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_RCD, Manager at Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We take pride to be part of your friends wedding.
Thank you for the compliments.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Warm regards
Peer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#9 of 20 in Candidasa
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa

Property: Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Address: Jl Raya Sengkidu, Candidasa Beach | PO Box 120, Candidasa, Karangasem 80801, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Family Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa is located in the east of Bali, in the heart of the Candidasa district. With private beach frontage and a beach terrace above, the resort offers tranquility, ocean breezes, and a romantic atmosphere for nature lovers. Accommodations are artistically furnished and decorated with contemporary Balinese décor and modern facilities, and secluded balconies offering views over the ocean, pool, or garden.The natural serenity of being set amongst, mountains, rice fields and ocean, that offers the ultimate peace and tranquility. Whether you want shopping, activity ; such as diving, snorkeling and yoga, or just relaxing and daydreaming. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Candidasa Resort And Spa
Rama Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing