We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for an idyllic holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Preparing for a leisurely poolside dinner
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Preparing for a leisurely poolside dinner
Enjoy a sundowner on the top balcony after a hard day on the beach! Relaxed holiday living right on the sea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Preparing for a leisurely poolside dinner
Enjoy a sundowner on the top balcony after a hard day on the beach!
Relaxed holiday living right on the sea
Beautiful ocean views stretching across to Nusa Penida, from all the rooms in the villa
Relax with your book in the bale or just watch the world go by
Breakfast or coffee with a view
The villa at dusk
Incredible snorkelling right here in a wonderfully warm ocean
Early morning relaxing with a coffee at the pool
Spacious and comfortable indoor living with an open-plan dining room
Casual and relaxed indoor living
Upstairs Joglo Suite with exquisite roof detail and wrap around windows
120m Joglo Suite with private wrap-around blacony and views to forever
Beautiful views across to Padangbaai
Low tide on the reef in the early morning - enjoying the view from the Joglo suite's balcony
Gamelan Suite with en-suite bathroom, king-size, extra-length bed and Egyptian cotton bed linen
Lounge area of the Gamelan suite with beautiful ocean views and a private balcony
Ikat suite with en-suite bathroom, queen-size bed and Egyptian cotton linen
Sweeping ocean views from the Ikat suite
Spacious Ikat suite bathroom with rain shower
80m Garden suite with two king-size extra-length beds, sofa and TV, ideal for the kids
Garden suite bathroom with enclosed toilet and rain shower
View of the hills from the Joglo suite's wrap-around balcony
Ocean view from the Gamelan and Ikat Suites
Outdoor living and work area
The beach in front of the villa
The beach directly in front of the villa
The beach directly in front of the villa with excellent snorkelling
View down the beach when the fishing boats are home
Sunset at the villa
Snorkelling at Blue Lagoon, a 10 minutes boat trip from the villa
White Sand Beach, a 15 minute boat or car ride from the villa
White Sand Beach
Trekking about 5km away from the villa - Bali at it's best
Beautiful Bali - the rural areas of eastern Bali that are seen on the trek near the villa
Farmers tending the rice on the rice paddy trek
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jenny W
1 review
“Perfect for an idyllic holiday”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Villa Cocoa Maya was everything we wanted and more! It's situated in a stunning location, and is beautifully decorated and kept. Komang and all the staff were so lovely and accommodating, you honestly can't fault them, and the food is amazing too :)

There is also fantastic snorkelling just over by the islands, where you can see the most amazing fish, Nemo and Dory included :) There is a knowledgable fisherman called Derek who you can ask for on the beach, who again is so friendly telling you the best places to snorkel and see the fish. We were lucky enough to see dolphins and turtles, which was truly special.

I honestly can't stress how beautiful Villa Cocoa Maya, and Bali is... enjoy!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thank you Jenny! Nothing makes me feel better than when our guests have a great time. I know it was a big family reunion for you guys - across three generations - which I'm sure made it even more special!

Kind regards
Mailie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beefy2014
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home in Paradise”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

My husband and I together with our children and grandchildren (12 in all) spent 2 magnificent weeks at Villa Cocoa Maya. The villa is beautifully decorated, spacious and well appointed on a private beach. The staff that looked after us headed up by Kamong cared for us and cooked the most delicious meals. Our every need was met so making it the most relaxing holiday ever! They arranged transport for us - both vehicles and boats and our trips to the islands to snorkel were amazing where we saw incredible fish and coral. Thank you again Mailie for all your fantastic organization and we hope that we will be able to return one day soon.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 7, 2017
Thanks for the great review - I really feel I got to know you and your family a tiny bit through our lovely email and phone communications - so I'm so pleased that the holiday was everything you had hoped it would be!

Kind regards
Mailie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best 3 days of my life!”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

We have visited Bali four times in the last 5 years and my only regret is that we didn't find this place sooner.. As we were celebrating my husbands 40th birthday I decided to book the villa as a 3 day birthday surprise! Surprise seems like such a weak word to describe the extravagant and beautifully presented villa that hosted our group of 8 people.
Komang and the staff greeted us with huge smiles and hugs and provided us with unmeasurable hospitality for the duration of our stay..
Komang booked a private traditional boat to take us to White Sands Beach where we snorkelled and sunbathed the day away, she also arranged a driver to take us ladies shopping while the boys stayed and enjoyed everything the villa had to offer.
For my husbands birthday Komang organised a huge chocolate cake and cooked the most succulent traditional Balinese buffet. She went above and beyond anything I could have imagined. (And even offers in house massage!)
If you are looking for a villa with attentive staff, beautiful rooms and one of the best beach views that Bali can offer then this is the place for you!
Hopefully one day soon we will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Hi Christine, I'm so pleased you had a wonderful stay. It always gives me such pleasure to hear that guests have had a great time. We're so fortunate to have a wonderful team who are both hospitable and great cooks! We look forward to welcoming you back! Regards, Mailie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w0rldwide...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Villa Cocoa Maya is the best!”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our party booked both Villas (Sagitta and Cocoa Maya) and this is the review for Cocoa Maya:

The views, the amenities, the rooms and the service in this house were just absolutely WONDERFUL!!!

I am going to run out of superlatives to describe our amazing stay but the bottom line is….for the price of a similarly priced 5 star hotel room, you get the same if not BETTER / MORE than what you pay for when staying in Villa Cocoa Maya.

Komang, the villa manager, Ketut, and the wonderful, wonderful ladies who looked after us spoilt us to the bone. We could not want for more!

The home cooked meals prepared by Ketut were delicious and tasty especially her duck tutu, a local specialty! Breakfast was freshly made with tropical fruit and freshly squeezed juice every day. As with Villa Sagitta - meals, drinks and activities were all reasonably priced and were excellent so no need to go elsewhere!

The rooms and the views should be seen to be appreciated as words cannot express how STUNNING this place is! Rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. The Joglo suite…breathtaking!

I highly recommend visiting both houses (Sagitta and Cocoa Maya) and availing of the free transfers between each. Both Villas are incredible and offer different experiences in each.

We love, love, love our experience in both Villas and our stay in both will hold special memories in our hearts!

Thanks again Maile, Komang, Ketut and staff!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our stay was perfect...we could not want for more!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
So can I hire you to market our villas?☺ I'm absolutely thrilled you had such a wonderful time - we try really hard to make that happen and it's so great when guests love it as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HannahGig...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Paradise in Paradise”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We loved every minute of our stay at Villa Coco Maya and will come again. The Villa is beautiful - large and perfect for two families. We had 4 children from 8 months - 9 and four adults. The Villa offered enough space and places to relax that we never felt on top of each other. The staff were sensational and the cooking - exceptional. Thanks everyone at VCM for our dreamy holiday. We are sad to have left! xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not enough time to stay
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Hannah, thanks so much for such a lovely review. I'm so pleased you had a great time. Guests often comment about the space the villa provides as being a big plus; and while it's difficult to get bad food anywhere on the island, we also know we are exceptionally lucky to have some such fabulous cooks in Made and Ketut! Regards, Mailie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Mare...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I would highly recommend staying at Villa Cocoa Maya. The villa is stunning with beautifully decorated spacious rooms and grounds, right on the beach with an amazing view. The people that work there are wonderful, they are all so very lovely and took exceptionally good care of us, making our time very special. The food was also amazing at they villa. Candidasa is a great location to avoid the overly busy other coastal towns with great snorkelling. I recommend asking for Logo (he is usually passing by on the beach out the front of the villa) who has a boat there and took us on many great snorkelling trips and for lunch at the white sand beach, he was really great. Booking was extremely easy with Mailie who ensured we had everything we needed before arriving.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thanks Anne-Maree, I'm so pleased you had a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jkoltun
New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Candidasa!”
Reviewed July 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Cocoa Maya is just exquisite. We really fell in love with Candidasa and we think a lot of it had to do with being at Cocoa Maya. The views were amazing. The staff was wonderful. The food was delicious. It's in a great location to go into town via car, scooter or a walk. The walk was about 15 minutes. There's fun, little shops in town and great restaurants. One night we saw a Balinese band, Jungle Juice, and they were just great. Back to Cocoa Maya - all the rooms were fantastic, each with their own personality and details in decoration to match. We loved all the staff - we got to know Komang especially as five of our six guests booked massages with her. All of our friends raved about her and I will too - just a wonderful, healing, intuitive massage. Being right on the ocean is amazing. We took one of the fisherman up on his offer to snorkel and then get a ride to White Sand Beach. We had a magical day (there were ten of us) and highly recommend Warung Sunrise if you go there. You are also within 20 minutes of one of the oldest villages in Bali (Bali Aga), which was an amazing visit and a wonderful place for lunch headed toward Tirta Ganges called Bali Asli that was just off the charts. We'll definitely go back to Candidasa and when we have a group with us again, we can't wait to stay at Coco Maya.
I also want to mention Mailie who is the owner of Villa Cocoa Maya and her assistant Olivia. Those two could not have been more helpful answering any of my questions and setting up a dinner for ten at the villa outside under the stars. The food at the villa was just as good or better than any restaurant we ate at in Candidasa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff, the beautiful home right on the ocean and beach access
Liked least: Didn't stay long enough
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2016
Wow! Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are really fortunate to have such great staff, a lovely villa and a wonderful position in Candidasa - and it's great when our guests love it all as much as we do. We work hard to give our guests the best holiday ever and are always thrilled when they do. Regards, Mailie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing