We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So charming!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“So charming!!!”
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We spent 3 nights here in March and it was incredibly charming. We loved it. It is a small resort that has obviously undergone some recent renovations and expansion. There are now 2 pools: the older one is still fine, but the new infinity pool is awesome. We spent a happy time there leaning on the infinity edge, looking out over the ocean.

We reserved a Deluxe Room and followed up the reservation by e-mail asking for a 2nd floor room with a good view. We got exactly what we hoped for. Our room had a spectacular view over the infinity pool and ocean. It could hardly have been any better. The room was so nicely decorated. It oozed charm. It really did look exactly as the rooms appear on the hotel’s website. The balcony was lovely, too, with a very comfortable daybed – perfect for ocean-gazing during the day and star-gazing at night. There is even a clothes drying rack provided on the balcony. How’s that for thoughtfulness?

Our 3 night package included a dinner and that is the only meal we ate in the restaurant, other than the breakfasts. The dinner was OK, but nothing special. The breakfast buffet, too, was OK but nothing special. It seems that restaurant renovations have not happened yet, but since everything else about the hotel has been upgraded, we think that the restaurant is probably next on the list.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to the town area twice a day and it is a good idea to take advantage of this. The hotel is only about 2 or 3 kilometers from the town, which isn’t far, but the weather is hot and there are no sidewalks, so a ride is useful – at least once. After that it’s easy to get free rides – when you walk along the street in town, every restaurant has staff out front who press their brochures into your hands. They all offer free pickups and returns in exchange for eating at their restaurants. When you get ready for lunch or dinner, just call one of them and they’ll send a driver to get you.

This is a charming, peaceful hotel and if we ever go back to Bali, we will definitely go to Candi Beach Cottages again. Until then our memories will have to sustain us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    255
    82
    29
    11
See reviews for
156
405
32
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

The Candi Beach Cottages was one of the most romantic places I have ever been. The grounds and the view were spectacular, but as we learned, the view especially was available at a lot of other more cheaper locations. Romance can be had anywhere.

It's not necessary to greet travellers with individual cold towels and then to continue that on with cold towels in the restaurant when ordering. The restaurant is horrendously expensive.

I don't like denying staff work and I did see others take up the expensive hotel offers. Each to their own.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

stayed here for one night, which was cool but enough. the hotel itself is great, very clean and quiet, the beach is not so great though, the sea is rather rough and there are heaps of stones which make it quite difficult to get in. all in all its a great hotel if you need a place for one night, wouldnt recommend to stay longer as there isnt much you can do and the beach isnt special.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theastravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsace
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

we spend 2 weeks in all inclusive in this place we've rent a guide and a driver every 2 day to go around
food is excellent and the card very large in choice (bali, indonesian, europeen)
the bar was great and Budi number one of the barmen (also Harry and Mohan)
everybody in this hotel was great, but don't go there if you want to go in night club
on the right side of the hotel you can go snorkling when the sea is quiet

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debeauvd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candidasa
1.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#9 of 20 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Prama Sanur Beach Bali
24.6 mi away
Puri Santrian
Puri Santrian
#16 of 76 in Sanur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candi Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candi Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Mendira Beach, Sengkidu, Candidasa, Karangasem 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Candi Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the delightful Candi Beach Resort and Spa - Candi Beach Villas in peaceful east Bali, escape from the hustle and bustle, and embrace the tranquility. Spacious green tropical garden, clean beach and clear sea water. Our enchanting and intimate 4+ star resort rests amid swaying palm trees within the quiet and natural environs of the beautiful Mendira Bay, Candidasa in the royal Balinese regency of Karangasem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candi Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candi Beach Cottage Hotel Candidasa
Candi Beach Cottage Karangasem
Candi Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing