We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, location a little remote.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Arrived relatively late at night, after a little difficulty finding the turn off from the main road, reception were very welcoming and well organised, providing some very welcome cold wet towels to take the edge off the heat!

We'd booked a bungalow, and were shown to a room right in front of the main lower pool, opposite the restaurant. The room was clean, bright and relatively spacious, with a similarly impressive bathroom. The only complaint we'd have with the room was that the aircon was clearly a bit ropey, it made a lot of noise at night and was dripping in the morning - however, we did not have to report this as housekeeping reported it first thing and had engineers looking at it in the late morning - very impressive fixing speed!

As for location, I was hoping that we'd be a bit closer to town. As it was, it was a 20 min walk along a pretty busy road with pretty crazy traffic, with large sections without pavement. There's no direct route along the sea front. As such, we felt a bit confined to the resort.

Facilities-wise, the infinity pool and the lower pool were both fantastic, particularly at sunset! The towels service was handy, and the bar service good. The restaurant was also very good, although perhaps a little on the pricey side compared with other restaurants we subsequently saw (although to be expected given the distance to alternatives). The beach was visitable at low tide, although there was quite a bit of litter (mostly plastic) in the sea, you can swim a bit (being wary of currents). Again, only a minor complaint - one night the hotel ran a function for some sort of motorbike sporting event - there was quite a bit of construction noise in the day, and then in the evening the event had to move from it's original venue to the hotel restaurant due to a thunderstorm. We were informed that the restaurant closed, and that we should leave, however the party continued in the same location - felt a bit as though we'd been booted out of our own facilities.

The staff were friendly and helpful, answering any queries we had, and they also had a free cocktail tasting event (or rather, half-hour) one night, which was nice touch. Having seen other prices in Bali, the advertised prices for the tours seem a bit steep, so make sure you do your research and be prepared to negotiate (like everywhere on Bali, I guess!).

Breakfast included a very good spread in a buffet style - with good quality cereals, fresh fruit selection, breads, pastries etc. along with bacon/chicken sausage/beans etc.

Overall, an excellent stay in a very well maintained and beautiful location, just a little far from Candi Dasa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach_L_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBP_Gustu, Guest Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Rach_L_UK,
London, England

It was our pleasure that you been enjoy stayed with us, your constructive criticism is also very valuable for us, it will be used for our future improvement.

Hopefully you will be back to Bali again and stay with us, we committed to deliver the best hospitality for you.

Thank you once again for your nice comments, we'll be waiting to to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 860 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was the 3rd stop on our 4 week trip to Bali.
On arrival the staff were friendly, the foyer was not as impressive as some which made me a bit nervous however I had no need to worry.
The rooms have all been renovated are very clean and modern in a Bali way.
We had the cheapest room however it has a very comfortalbe bed and we were very happy.
What makes this place is the beauitfull gardens,swimming pools and the beach.
I have been to Bali many times however this is one of the most relaxing hotels we have ever stayed in.Breakfast was exellent thestaff were very friendly.
And once again I just loved laying by the pool( lots and lots of room )looking at the ocean so so relaxing.
We have hoping to stay agian next year when we return to Bali once again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bulldoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBP_Gustu, Guest Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear bulldoglady,
Australia

First of all thank you for your great comments, we do hope that you will be back again soon
and stay with us, we committed to do the best to ensure that all our guest are satisfied during their holiday and stay with us.

Last but not least, your nice comments mean everything for our future business.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Excellent location, large and very colorful garden. Near the hotel is a temple. Clean and nicely furnished rooms. The view of the beach and ocean was beautiful and it was nice to wake up to. All the hotel staff were friendly. An absolutely fantastic resort!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Demonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBP_Gustu, Guest Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear Demonas,
Kaunas, Lithuania

Your comments is much appreciated, we will keep continue to do our best, to make everybody happy when they stayed with us.

We do hope that you will come back to Bali and stay with us, in the different atmosphere.

As we will have 19 pool villas and will start to operates by the end of this year.

Thank you for your nice comments which is valuable for us

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at Candi Beach Cottage for 10 days this October. The hotel lies at the outskirts of the Candidasa village, at quite a distance from the main busy road and directly on the beach. Quiet area, quiet surroundings. The hotel consists of a main building and several cottages arranged throughout the lush tropical vegetation that is so common to Bali.

To the hotel: We had a superior room in the main building on the ground floor with a nice small terrace, very quiet area, although you have to get used to the constant noise of the air conditioning compressors that are placed just outside your room. I must say the room looked somewhat outdated: the furniture as well as other room amenities are in a rather poor condition: very old and loud fridge as a mini bar, telephone, electrical sockets, bed linen (although clean, worn-out). The bath in turn was pretty nicely furnished and decorated.

To the breakfast: If I am to judge the hotel according to its 4 stars, I would say the morning buffet (both indonesian and/ or balinese dishes as well as european) was poor (both in quality and in quantity). Although one can eat one’s fill, there is little variety. By comparison, we’ve been for instance 3 years ago at Padma Bali in Legian (at that time it also had 4 stars) and there we had a real morning culinary experience. We booked only breakfast, but ate at the restaurant 2 times at lunch and one time in the evening: the food is ordinary and pricey and it is not worth eating there with so many restaurants in the village. So, I would not recommend booking this hotel with HP or AI.
But at Candi, breakfast comes along with the fantastic view of the ocean, the waves splash and the far- lying islands. We really enjoyed our mornings at Candi.

Naturally, the hotel wins its points with its location, which is truly dreamlike. There is a large palm garden overlooking one of the pools and the sunbeds, the sandy beach is ideal for children and the water is clear and perfect for snorkeling (really diverse marine life) but only during the low tides.

The staff is friendly and very helpful and speaks German and English. There is a free shuttle to the center of Candidasa (at 10 /pickup at 12, at 14/ pickup at 16). Except for these hours, the taxi costs 40000 RP to and from Candidasa. Otherwise, for dinner - almost every restaurant offers free pickup from the hotel. The hotel has free wifi, in the rooms as well by the pool.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel for those who seek a peaceful and calm location and naturally a really beautiful beach. But the hotel must invest some more in the quality of its service and in updating the hotel in itself to stand up to its 4 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBP_Gustu, Guest Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Lidia P,
Waldenbuch, Germany

It was our pleasure, that you been enjoy stayed with us, we will be waiting to your next visit
from day to day we always thinking how to make our customers enjoy and satisfy during
their holiday, therefore thanks only is not enough for your great comments, which is part of our success in future.

Once again we value your nice comments.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Because the hotel is not to big, only 64 rooms, is not at all croweded. That i like most.So quiet. Aerly.A large palm garden.
Two big pools, each with jacuzzi, one is an infinity pool and the main pool has poolbar.
The room was very clean, nice arranged. They changed towels and bedclothes each day and in the evening they arranged one more time the bed.
Breakfast is good.
The employees are very polite.
The hotel is a little far from the centre of Candidasa, about 30 min walking, but the hotel has 2 times a day free shuttle and also has daily activities.
Near the hotel you can eat very good and cheap. Leave th hotel and turn left, you will find 3 small restaurants.
I recommand this hotel. We stayed for 10 nights, I regret that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBP_Gustu, Guest Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Sear cristina788,
Baia Mare, Romania


Thank you for your nice comments, its really valuable for our future business.

We'll be waiting for your next holiday and stay with us in Bali.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We are staying for more than 10 days here and we can stay 10 more without getting bored (but this is our last day .....)

What can I say....In fact it is exactly the same as the photos on the website - nice & elegant , extremely green with very good service. Everybody is exceptionally polite and ready to satisfy your needs.

If you are looking for a very nice, exotic and quiet place - this hotel is exactly what you need then....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blue_Lily_001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBP_Gustu, Guest Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear Blue_Lily_001,
Brussels

Thank you for your nice comments, its really valuable for our future business.

We'll be waiting for your next holiday and stay with us in Bali.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

As repeater guest who love to stay in beautiful, quite, calm and relaxing resort where you always with it's beautiful nature, I love it so much. No other place you can feel the breeze with beautiful lush garden, especially the plan trees garden close to the infinity pool, one of my favorite place to swim. The staffs are always friendly and helpful. Love the beautiful white sandy beach and also the floating gazebo where you can relax in the midle of the sea ans do also snorkeling and even canoeing. Indonesian foods was delicious, my stayed here always bring some memorable where I always want to come back again next year.

Room Tip: Choose Deluxe Room or Deluxe Bungalow to have good view from the terrace or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMPY-Forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBP_Gustu, Guest Relations Manager at Candi Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear AMPY-Forever,

Jakarta

" Warmest Greeting from the Charm of Candi Beach Cottage "

Thanks only is not enough for your nice comments, it's really great value for us
we will keep trying to do our best, our first priority is our guest satisfaction.

Once again thank you for your nice comments we'll waiting for your next stay with us.

With kindness regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candidasa
1.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
611 reviews
15.9 mi away
Matahari Tulamben Resort, Dive & SPA
0.6 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#12 of 20 in Candidasa
135 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
24.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Sanur
Mercure Resort Sanur
#27 of 79 in Sanur
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candi Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candi Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Mendira Beach, Sengkidu, Candidasa, Karangasem 80033, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Candidasa
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Candidasa
#3 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range: $72 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Candi Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the delightful Candi Beach Resort and Spa - Candi Beach Villas in peaceful east Bali, escape from the hustle and bustle, and embrace the tranquility. Spacious green tropical garden, clean beach and clear sea water. Our enchanting and intimate 4+ star resort rests amid swaying palm trees within the quiet and natural environs of the beautiful Mendira Bay, Candidasa in the royal Balinese regency of Karangasem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candi Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candi Beach Cottage Hotel Candidasa
Candi Beach Cottage Karangasem
Candi Beach Resort & Spa Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing