We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa Talia Vashti & Beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Talia Vashti & Beach
Living Room - Fully Opens up to the Sea Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
37 reviews
Villa Talia Vashti & Beach
Living Room - Fully Opens up to the Sea
Living Room
Dine with a view - Simple Fried Rice for Lunch
Uninterrupted Views
Views across to Lombok to the East
More Views with Nusa Penida and Padang Bai in the distance
Main Bedroom - with extra room off that is ideal for little ones
Main Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom to Main Bedroom - with Bath with a View!
Gardens around the Villa
Twin Room
Twin Room & Garden
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom to Twin Room
Ensuite Bathroom to Double Room
Ensuite Bathroom to Double Room
Mount Agung Sunset
Candidasa Bay and Beach with Mount Agung
Sunset at Candidasa Lagoon
Loads of Great Diving Nearby - Including Tulumben Wreck
Spectacular Rice Field Views are Common around the villa
Legong Dance Performances in Candidasa
Our Wonderful Staff
Villa Talia Vashti at Dusk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
The_Hills
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We had a booking at this villa for 4 nights from the 18/2/2014 to 21/2/2014. We left after one night extremely disappointed.
We arrived at the villa on the afternoon of the 18th of February to an underwhelming and lukewarm welcome from 2 of the staff. The villa entry was not very well maintained, but the villa itself was, on first glance, beautiful…..until we started looking at things a little closer, we then realised that the villa is in need of quite a lot of maintenance.
We had just come from a villa in Seminyak which was absolutely beautiful and clean and the staff were so helpful and friendly. It was such a different feel at this villa. We have also been to Bali 12 times and have never walked out of accommodation before.
The staff were not overly friendly and the villa was not clean. Our bedroom (the upstairs one) was clean, however the 2 downstairs bedrooms were not. The bathrooms, particularly the toilets were very dirty around the bottom of the bowls and there were dirty water marks on the walls in the bathrooms. The drains were also dirty. The doors of one of the downstairs bedrooms didn't close properly which allowed insects (sandflies and mosquitoes) into the room. This was unable to be fixed and my daughter couldn’t sleep in this room and ended up sleeping with us in the upstairs bedroom.
The air conditioning unit on the outside wall of the upstairs bedroom was sitting on rusted supports and every time we walked down the steps there was an ever increasing amount of rust flakes from the supports. This is an accident waiting to happen and I cringed every time going up the stairs hoping the air conditioning unit wasn't going to give way and land on my head.
We had just arrived and I went to make a coffee, the milk in the fridge had gone off....why wasn't fresh milk in the fridge? There was also left over ice cream in the freezer, obviously left from the previous tenants…why was this still in the fridge? The kitchen itself was sub-standard and needs refurbishment. The place mats that our dinner and breakfast were served on were dirty, with left over food that hadn't been cleaned off.
The windows in the villa were quite dirty, unlike our villa in Seminyak where the windows were cleaned daily.
When we are paying almost $400 a night, we do have high expectations and unfortunately this villa failed miserably. The villa is beautiful, but it needs a lot of work done and the lack of cleanliness was a huge issue for us. We emailed the owners for comment, but have not had any reply or comment from them which is also disappointing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2014
I must admit that we were very shocked to receive this review, as it was the first time that we were aware of any concerns or problems from these guests about their stay at Villa Talia Vashti.

Our manager told as that John & Karen had checked out of the villa after only one night, but that they had made no complaint at all, except to point out that the downstairs bedroom door had a small gap, but as it still locked without problem, it did not appear to be an issue, either for the guests or for the manager. Our manager even double checked with the guests as it was so unusual for guests to check out early, and the guests only said was that they were checking out as “they preferred Seminyak”, and so we thought no more about it.

The guests did send us a follow up email (with the same text as in this review) and unfortunately we just never saw it, and this was absolutely our mistake as we just missed it. The guests had already checked out and nothing seemed to be amiss, and so the email was buried way down in our inbox. We only found it when we checked again after seeing this review.

John/Karen we are extremely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. It is a shame though that you did not tell our manager about your concerns or contact us while you were at the villa as we will always do everything we can to sort out any issues, and where we cannot we will work to find you alternative accommodation at our cost.
We regularly inspect and maintain all our villas, but Villa Talia Vashti’s sea-front location does mean that it requires much more maintenance than our villas in Seminyak or elsewhere and so we always shut the villa for a week or more in off-season to schedule a full programme of maintenance. This year this occurred on March 4th, just over a week after you checked out, which may account for the need for maintenance that you identified. Since you checked out we have repainted large areas of the villa (for pictures see our Facebook page www.facebook.com/villataliavashti) and are replacing the air-conditioning unit for the main bedroom, and the supports for the other air-conditioning units which was already scheduled to be part of this year’s annual maintenance programme (we replace them every couple of years – they rust quickly because of the sea air).

On the other things that you mention, we are very grateful for you drawing them to our attention. We constantly work to improve our villas, and so things like having gone-off milk in the fridge and left-over ice-cream are reminders to us and our staff to always be diligent. On the cleaning, I am not sure what happened there as we have never had any negative comments about the cleanliness of Villa Talia Vashti before, quite the opposite in fact as the staff normally clean to a very high standard, but this again was a reminder not to rest on our laurels. My wife Rene is on the way to Villa Talia Vashti right now to carry out a personal inspection and to monitor the existing maintenance work that is going on, and shall work with the staff to make sure that all of your comments are heard and addressed.

Once again we are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but we are also perplexed as to why you chose not to even contact us or speak to our manager before checking out of the villa.

I do however have to add that the guests that stayed immediately before you, and immediately after you, both wrote extremely complimentary reviews of Villa Talia Vashti and our staff in our guest book, and made no mention of any of the issues that you had. I am happy to provide scanned copies of their comments if you want them .

In any case thank you once again for taking the time to write to us, and helping us to constantly improve what we offer to our guests at our villas.

Kind Regards
Tom (& Rene)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan0...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a great stay here, the house has a magnificent open plan layout downstairs, and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

As others have mentioned access to the small beach in front was cut off, but you can still go down there for snorkling. We didn't go far but there's a variety of small fishes to be found in the area right in front of the house. We preferred the pool though which is excellent and the water was deliciously warm at the time.

The village nearby has a few souvenir shops and restaurants, it's just a few minutes by taxi. And you can also go for a fishing trip here. There's 'White Sand Beach' which is a bit further that was quite nice, and has a lot of very small sea-side restaurants which all seem to offer the same dishes. A pity that on arrival there was a trash dump where the car was parked, which detracted from the serenity of the place. There are lots of nice day trips to do in the surrounding area.

As for kids, in front of the house is a kind of sand area but for small kids you have to keep an eye that they do not walk off the steep ledge there, which is not protected by a fence. The pool is perfect for kids though. There's also a variety of beach toys and snorkeling gear available, as well as a lot of children's books.

Also a plus - fast wireless Internet was available which worked flawlessly.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevinzhik...
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“well designed villa with beautiful view”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Our family of 6 stayed for a week in the beautiful villa talia vashti. its not a big villa but well designed. master on the second floor with beautiful views too. staffs were nice and prepared delicious breakfast for us everyday. we snorkeled to #1 & #9 site according to tom's map, the corals were great consider its in front of the villa. No heavy rains during our stay, we swam everyday and liked spa pool too. We liked the driver manager Ketut recommended to us.
Candi Dasa is a quite town with rows of restuarents and bars in short driving distance.
its 1.5h to Denpasar area, 2h to Ubud, Tanah Lot, Uluwatu

May i suggest bring more white sands to the sand box since we don't have beach so the kids can play sand by the pool

Thanks to Ketut, the manager, girls and guys, the rest of staff, job well done

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, morning snorkel
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MJMaround...
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning house with wonderful staff - stayed there 2 months!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Stayed 2 months with my wife, 6-month-old daughter and several visiting family and friends at Talia Vashti. Wonderful house with fantastic, friendly staff who took care of all of our needs with a smile, and cooked great food. Got to try the babi guling (roast pig). The house itself is in a small village which was nice enough, but unfortunately the nearby town of Candidasa is quite run-down. The other drawback is that the neighbour had blocked access to the so-called "private" beach. Hope that is fixed by now. The reef right outside the house is fantastic for snorkelling when conditions are good, but sometimes the tides bring in a lot of rubbish. However the open house format and rooms are fantastic, and the pool is nice too. Would overall recommend this place for a family.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The staff were fantastic and took care of all of our needs - thanks!
Liked least: Shame the beach access got closed off - but the owners did all they could to compensate.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EKYSeremb...
Seremban, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Relaxing time with family and nature”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We spent 4 nights in this beautifully constructed villa in Candidasa. The ground isn't big but the bedroom upstairs has to be one of the largest I have ever seen while the other 2 bedroom downstairs though smaller are well designed. The design of the villa took the environment into considerations and hence even during the downpour, the rain couldn't get into the open (well... opened on one side while the other is of glass wall and glass doors) living and dining area and also there is no direct sun ray into the same area keeping the place well ventilated even without air-conditioning and fan.

The pool is small and the sea fronting the villa should be a good alternative but it was unfortunate that it rained every day we were there, making the sea choppy and not quite suitable for snorkeling or for swimming. Furthermore, most of the snorkels were detached from the masks and we had to do some "MacGyver" job to get a couple of sets to work. We did snorkeled one time. The visibility is good, spotted small marine fishes and some soft corals . There's a patch of healthy stag-horn coral further out. There's a slight current moving from the left to right.

With the rain and the inconvenience of hiring a van to travel out for food (walking out is not an option due the darkness and very wet ground), we ended up ordering from the menu for one lunch and one dinner. Though the menu selections and the cooking are acceptable, the portion is a bit small. As an Asian family where communal eating is the norm, the individual plated serving does not create the right atmosphere. That said, the meals are delicious, including the daily breakfast.

Don't get me wrong, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The living area, with the glass doors open wide, invites a continuous flow of sea breeze and the sofa is comfortable to laze around to chat, to read and nap. In between rain spells, island of Lombok is clearly visible infront and sitting in the sandy patch watching the surf pound the sea wall at night is another favorite past time for us. With the staff going about their tasks unobtrusively and efficiently, it is a very relaxing holiday for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Local food not easily accessible
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Helen A
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This villa provided the perfect restful end to our stay in Bali and Tom the owner was really helpful with all the information he gave us with regard to the booking, nothing was too much trouble. It is beautiful and the service is very good but also very discreet. The location is quiet and a lot less touristy than other places we have been in Bali, I would have liked to stay here longer. If you want to go out on day trips it is easy to book a car and there are several interesting places to visit nearby. For food you can go into Candidasa by car or stay in the villa, the food is good and reasonable, or you can walk to Mendira beach where there is a nice simple restaurant to eat or have a couple of drinks. The snorkelling was not not good when we were there, but the sea was quite rough which may not be normal.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$287
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing