We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Clean and neat hotel, fantastic views"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Genggong at Candidasa
Ranked #1 of 18 Candidasa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Great small Hotel (currently 7 rooms, soon to be 16 rooms).
Efficient staff, manicured landscape, and well kept Pool.
Stayed here 5 nights, and enjoyed the peace and quiet of this beautiful little hotel.
With the addition of 9 rooms there are (according to manager Aldo) plans to build bigger Kithchen, and extend the dining area.
Taking into account the price of the rooms, breakfast is adequate, and if you need more then there is a small extra charge.
Likes:
Good value for money!
Views from whole of property especially our upstairs Room.
Cleanliness of room.
Good bed (slept really well)
Pool and surrounds.
Attentive staff.
Distance from Main road, close enough to walk, far enough to eliminate traffic noise.
Staff recommendations re-restaurants, tour vehicles, motor bike rentals.

Dislikes: Hotel policy of paying for whole of stay on Check-in (my opinion)
Would stay here again, and would strongly recommend to family and friends

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASBGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Genggong at Candidasa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 216 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

A perfect hideaway to enjoy the amazing sea view and the out-triggers all along the beach ! Surprisingly a nice place to spend your holiday for days...if i knew this place is such amazing, i would have stay here longer...limited rooms keep this place so quiet and relaxing. The staff is nice. U can rent a motorcycle for 40k per day and have a ride on the main road of candi dasa.....everything is perfect except for the limited choices of breakfast provided by the hotel...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sendy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Very nice setting, perfect pool and lovely beach views. What is however annoying is the 'extra charge' for lots of small things, omelette at breakfast comes without toast and this can be ordered at an extra charge of 4000 per piece (which is nothing, but it's quite annoying being told ten times a day that extra charges apply). Same for extra bacon, coffee or anything. Also no fresh fruits at breakfast. We accidentally broke a cup and were informed immediately by an upset looking staff member that 'an extra charge' would be calculated to replace the item. Staff seem quite fearful of the manager and therefore a bit docile and with a strong impulse to say NO to any request. More rooms are being planned, staff will need extra training to be able to deal with this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Amazing setting perfect rooms and grounds are awesome.. Away from the main drag... Steps away from sandy swimmable beach .. Included breakfast is adequate for an included breakfast .. Friendly staff service orientated... Love it to the maximum.. Best kept secret of this town!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed having arrived from a gruelling trip and it was just pefect - totally peaceful. so quiet you barely see anyone. Generally had the pool (gorgeous) to ourselves and the beach was right on the hotel front and a pefect size and lovely for swimming. We had a downstairs room with a lovely spacious veranda where it was heaven to just sit and relax and look out onto the amazing view. The garden is kept immaculately and the eating area just on the edge beside the beach. The staff are lovely and was great to have a dvd player and dvds available. The walk into town is fine and was actually a really nice experience passing houses etc. I would prefer this location to candidasa itself. Would definitely recommend it and so hard to believe what good value it is!!

Room Tip: Stayed downstairs and was lovely too
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aug21-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The staff, the grounds, the pool, the beach and the comfortable room. A modest hotel with a big heart. Just what we were looking for. Off the main drag but only a couple of minutes walk to all the restaurants, shops etc. Boats on the beach sometimes fishing or vying for trade taking visitors to snorkeling sites.
Guests from all over the world, this says something.
We have snorkeled just out the front of the hotel each day and seen lots to keep us enthralled.
Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday in Bali.
Aldo has done a great job and chosen wonderful staff.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs room which was fine. I think any room would be OK
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldseagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Genggong with close friends and were extremely happy with the excellent quality of the rooms and the beautiful pool and garden area. The views from the expansive glass windows of our upstairs rooms were truly magical. We loved sitting on our balconies looking across at the blue ocean and not so distant islands. The short walk into Candi Dasa down the little alley ways was fun and we met some interesting locals on the way. My friend and myself enjoyed shopping on the main street and there were a couple of interesting giftware and local craft shops where we bought items that we didn't see elsewhere on the island. We dined at Vincents and the New Queen Pub and Restaurant and they were both very good. We also ate at a little cafe bakery for lunch and feasted on some excellent spring rolls (a popular lunch item for us as we travelled around the island). We breakfasted at the hotel and it was just adequate, quite minimalist. This is probably one area that could be improved in terms of variety and quantity. The beachfront to the hotel is clean and has an appealing swimming area on calm days. In the mornings the fishing boats come in with their catches and this created a busy and interesting environment as we sipped our tea after a relaxing night's sleep. Aldo (the manager of the hotel) was most helpful and responsive when I was booking the hotel and had a friendly and helpful manner. He is working on further improvements to the Genggong eg. the rather non-descript entry to the hotel and this would only add further to what is overall an incredible, value for money hotel. I would highly recommend the Hotel Genggong to all travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
815 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Genggong at Candidasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Genggong at Candidasa

Address: Jl. Pantai Indah, Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Candidasa
Price Range: $55 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Genggong at Candidasa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Genggong at Candidasa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Genggong At Candidasa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing