We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Very Best Family Vacation!”
other travelers have booked this property
inviting pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
inviting pool
Our wonderful beach villa Joglo entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
inviting pool
Our wonderful beach
villa Joglo entrance
Villa Joglo. Master bedroom
villa Yoga Bale from above
villa Saraswati, bale
by the pool
view villa Joglo terrace
villa Saraswati, bale
villa Saraswati, dining
villa Saraswati, living
pool at night
all estate
Breakfast by the pool
food, grass, ocean
villa Joglo
villa Joglo, living
spa
Magibung (king) dinner
spa
villa Joglo, porch
villa Joglo entrance
villa Joglo porch
villa Saraswati, living
villa Saraswati
villa Saraswati, porch
villa Sarawati bedroom1
villa Yoga Bale, bedroom
villa Yoga bale, living
villa Yoga Bale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nfanka
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Very Best Family Vacation!”
Reviewed July 30, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

This by far the best villas (with all the surroundings) we have had stayed while in the island! The kids loved it. We, grown-ups adored it. I even had a ride with one of Ayu's assistants to get food from locals. Just fun. And another fun little thing, when we found the shelf in the main house/villa full with cool stuff like games and Tuttle flash cards! It's the best; we were thinking of bringing our all Americans family the next time we go visit Indonesia.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lolavince...
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A dream come true!”
Reviewed June 6, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

There is a serene magic in the air of Mendira, an untouched seaside village in the east of Bali!
I first discovered the paradise that is Citikara Sari when I was staying in a humble little love shack, a few doors up from the luxurious estate.

It was Christmas and my (now) husband proposed to me on a little wooden verandah, just after sunset. The following day we caught a fishing boat to Virgin beach and lay in the sun drinking beer, collecting coral and playing with the local kids. On our way home, cruising the calm sea, sun kissed and in love the boat drifted past Citikara Sari and from the moment we laid eyes on this magical retreat we knew this is where we wanted to bring our family and friends for our wedding.

We booked a 3 night stay for 7 family members at Citikara, to trial the experience (before the wedding) and our feelings were confirmed. There are three accommodation options, all are beautifully designed spaces, private and comfortable, overlooking the impeccable grounds and all facing the ocean. You can book a villa individually or choose to Rent the entire property, we have done both options and enjoyed each trip immensely.

On our first visit, we hired 2 of the villas, the owner, by chance, was staying in the 3rd, he took the time to introduce himself and treated us like family by ensuring his wonderful staff took good care of us, whilst giving us plenty of privacy to feel like we were at home. He is a charming, easy-going man, so friendly, accommodating and generous, it is no wonder he has cultivated such a remarkable retreat and attracted a loving team to care for it.

I have stayed all over the world in various grades of accommodation and never have I been so wonderfully taken care of, the heart of each and every person nurturing Citikara Estate to make it such a jewel is very obvious as the property is so perfectly run and maintained and as a guest here you feel as if 'the every day reality of mundane worries are lifted and your transported to a space that dreams are made of.

The team at Citikara are genuine, caring, fun, sweet and very hardworking, a reflection no doubt of the Wonder Woman Ayu who is the manager. Ayu quite frankly blew our minds with the elegance in which she so efficiently pulled things together... nothing is too hard for Ayu and I really cannot express enough my thanks and appreciation for everything she did for us during our wedding and family holiday. I have the utmost respect and admiration for Ayu and she will be in our hearts forever... Especially after having the privilege to share with her our Balinese wedding ceremony she organised... Ayu you are a bright star that never stops shining and it was a gift and privilege to have your support and presence at such an important and special time in our lives.

It seems Citikara Sari is so inspiring I am set to write a short book instead of the succinct review I had intended but considering the impact this one of a kind retreat left on us I feel I must take the time such a place deserves. This authentic, exquisitely designed retreat offers an extremely special, very personable and organized service that is of a standard and quality that is hard to find. If you seek paradise, somewhere to be silent to Be creative, somewhere to experience culture, or time alone and stillness to reboot your inspiration for life or a family getaway, lounging by the pool, drinking fresh coconuts collect from the towering coconut palms that frame exQuiste Skies, if you want to eat good food - never having to leave the villa, a precious memory with your loved ones in a magical land.... then stay at Citikara as it has it all.

The precious time at Citikara was priceless and cannot be quantify or explained in words, it will remain in our hearts, spirits and minds for life.

Bonuses and Highlights
The Kecak performance Ayu organised at our wedding was the best performance I've seen in Bali and I have seen them all... These talented spirited men gave us goosebumps head to toe and were so incredibly authentic and unreal.... Really 5 star artist offering a moving, fun and absolutely sensational show... Highly recommended!

Citikara beautifully catered and serviced our very happy guests with delicious food!

Wedding: I did not have a wedding planner and the owner was sooooo helpful, patient and generous with me, his care and communication throughout the process made everything so easy. He was supportive and officiant and helped me organise and fine tune all my details so I could create our vision and enjoy our special day.
He even considered my uncle in a wheelchair and built a new floor in one of the rooms to make things more comfortable for him.

The tennis court on the property good for family bonding and fun!

The people of Mendira Village - such beautiful smiling faces... Thanks for having us.

The honour of having a special Balinese blessing ceremony for our wedding was a profound and magical experience, the Balinese culture is so rich and powerful and to be honoured with the gift of sharing in their culture and entering our marriage the way they do was beyond compare to anything we've experienced and we feel blessed. Gratitude, love and warm wishes to the incredibly lovely priest and his supporters who initiated and cleansed us for the beginning of our new life together and again sincere thanks to Ayu for arranging, facilitating and guiding us so presently through the experience... We will never forget it!

Vincent's for dinner: serves an incredibly high standard of delicious food, with great staff and very nice ambience (jazz on Thursday nights not to be missed)

Best time ever... thank you Citikara Sari estate we will remember our time there always and hope to return for a reunion!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lolavince...
Bali, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The memories we created here will resonate in our hearts forever.”
Reviewed January 21, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Thank you to the owner & staff at Citakara, our family enjoyed a fun holiday at your exceptional paradise! The grounds & villas sit in perfect harmony on stunning landscape by the sea. Created with love, comfortable & elegant, we all felt at home. Great pool, sunset, snorkelling, beach, food, tennis & massages! Special thanks to Kadek, absolute star, Ayu & Putu, every face at Citakar held a smile! The memories we created here will resonate in our hearts forever.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcredmk
Tasmania, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All your tropical holiday fantasies realised!”
Reviewed June 9, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We hired the estate as a large group of 12 adults and 4 children and stayed for 7 amazing nights.

The photos online for this estate just don't do justice to how beautiful it is - we arrived and our jaws hit the ground! It is absolutely breathtaking!

The 3 separate 2 bedroom villas are constructed from the finest materials and no detail has been spared. From the furnishings and the artwork to the soaring ceilings and beautiful bathrooms, this place is literally heaven on earth. The beds are enormous and so comfortable, each villa enjoys a sea breeze during the day and with so many areas to spread out and relax it was impossible to feel cramped.

The infinity swimming pool overlooking the private beach was an absolute dream, with plenty of sun loungers and seats to suit our group and gorgeous palm trees and umbrellas for shade. The beach is spotlessly clean with turquoise waters and easily accessible down a small set of stairs. We snorkelled right off the beach and the fish and coral were in abundance, it was just amazing.

Alongside one of the villas, your very own onsite spa awaits with a huge daybed, a full bathroom, water features, 2 massage beds, sauna and an enormous stone bath. We kept the local spa service very busy during our stay, you simply let the villa staff know what treatments you would like from the extensive menu and they come to you! Prices were very reasonable with a 60 min massage a mere $17.00aud!

To the staff; Ayu and the team of incredible staff are really what makes this place so special. They are the loveliest people and work so hard to make sure every guest is happy and well taken care of. I arranged a lunch for my best friends birthday cooked and served by staff, we had babi guling (whole pig), salads, breads, rice and desserts and it was the most delicious and well presented meal we had on the island!
It was so good that for many of the other nights we picked from the villa menu which is served "family style" with many dishes to choose from - the freshest ingredients were used and the meal was always served exactly on time. The breakfasts which are included in the price were also awesome, bacon and eggs, nasi or mie goreng, toast, fruit, juices, coffee and tea and always served on time. We also had some travelling with us who have food intolerances, again it was never a problem to cater for them.

Nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff, from arranging spa treatments, snorkelling equipment, transportation and local restaurant dinner reservations - they do it all!

Needless to say, we will be back!!! If you are thinking of staying here - stop thinking and start booking!!

This place holds such a special place in our hearts and we cant wait to come back to beautiful Citakara Sari - thankyou Iouri and Ayu xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amitc576
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Its a dream come true...”
Reviewed January 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This is a large estate of three traditional villas with two rooms each. PERFECT for large groups, especially when you are booking the whole estate... The pool is stunning and a heaven for kids who spent 6-8 hrs there everyday....Rooms are comfortable and done in the traditional Balinese style... not flash like some other villas in Bali but that is the charm of the place... The heart and soul of the place is the amazing staff lead by Ayu.... their hospitality is like nothing I have seen before.... breakfast is basic but served with love. Food options are basic in the villa so please hire a scooter to go around in Candidasa or order delivery....

Iouri - thanks for creating this heaven and being so helpful in the entire process....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2017
Dear Amit, thanks a lot for staying with us. Truly appreciate your remarks. We certainly, would like to invite you to come to the estate once again to enjoy the special VIP status of returning customer. We are continuously working on improvements at the estate. Just after your stay in December, we have expended our service kitchen facilities and added equipment. Started in January 2017 we are working with leading chefs in the area on refining our menu and setting up cooking classes at the estate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonb110
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise At Citakara Sari Estate”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

After searching several weeks for the perfect location for my wedding, I found Citakara Sari Estate. Situated about an hour and a half from in the Denpasar airport in the northeast part of the island, Citakara Sari Estate is comprised of three individual and very unique villas, each with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and a kitchen area. The entire property is surrounded by tall trees and the villas were carefully constructed in this former coconut grove. The estate includes a full time staff, daily breakfast, tennis courts, infinity swimming pool, ocean views, and coral garden. ​​

While the property itself is absolutely beautiful, the staff at Citakara was simply amazing throughout our stay. The villa manager, Ayu, was so helpful in arranging any activities or trying to fulfill any request or address any concerns. Always with a smile, Ayu arranged spontaneous massages, multiple motorbike rentals, coordinated restaurant pickup/drop off, and always had a driver available should we want to go somewhere or see something. Not to mention that she help coordinate the entire menu for our wedding.

Though we had arrived in Candidasa with ambition to hike and explore the countryside, the Citakara Sari property itself was so relaxing and offered plenty in the way of activity that most of spent the days at the property itself. Each morning several of us began with coffee and breakfast, provided by the friendly staff, and then proceeded to snorkel for an hour or so with the masks and fins provided by the villa. While we did not see many large fish, there was plenty of coral that was filled with colorful small fish. The water was clear blue and refreshing for swimming. The villa also has one of the only remaining beaches in the area. From sunbathing poolside or on one of the many chairs overlooking Lembogan, to snorkeling and swimming in the ocean, there was absolutely no reason to leave Citakara Sari.

For those searching for a beautiful property to hold a wedding, Citakara Sari Estate certainly checks all of the boxes. The property is large enough to hold a moderate sized wedding overlooking the pool and beautiful water. Our wedding was twenty guests and had more than adequate room for everything. There is also plenty of room for additional guests nearby - a small boutique hotel is situated right next door, as well as a larger more modern hotel about a 15 minute walk down the road. Whether holding a wedding or not, I suggest arranging a local dance performance through Ayu, it was certainly one of the highlights of our wedding night.

The combination of the beautiful grounds, accommodation, and staff, provide for a unique experience away from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Nusa Dua. I would not hesitate to recommend this property for anyone visiting Bali, and I am hopeful I have the opportunity to return sometime in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of staff.
Liked least: Our stay was too short.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queenofca...
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent for a group with six kids”
Reviewed October 7, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for just over three weeks, with six kids aging from 7 to 13. These villas are in an excellent location with one of the last remaining beaches out the front for you to enjoy. Even though the villa is located out of town, a price of a taxi is on IDR 30,000 one way. The staff at the villa show true Balinese hospitality. Lovely people, smiley, helpful and very informative. The food available within the villa was some of the best that we had. You can order in from local Warungs, which although are cheaper, sometimes the food is cold by the time it arrives. The property is big enough for the children to play cricket, soccer, rugby, tag and hide and seek. One of the maintenance boys, entertained us all by climbing a coconut tree with just a rope and his hands and feet to trim the tree of dead leaves and coconuts. The children loved watching his skills and he gave them all fresh coconuts after he was done. The snorkelling out the front was amazing, lots of fish and living coral to see.
This was a once in a life time stay, and we would definitely recommend as a destination for families or friends getting together

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing