We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Villa in Quiet Location”
other travelers have booked this property
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km) Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Villa Surya ~ tropical, exotic, tranquil 'hideaway' in East-Bali ~ Candidasa area (approx.10km)
Wake up to our view of Tranquility
Poolside Suite to Pool Terrace cared for my Alit
View down from Mezzanine Terrace
Pool Area to Poolside Suite and Living Room
Poolside or from the Bale Begong - beauty everywhere
Mezzanine Suite Teak KIngsized Bed
Mezzanine Suite Teak Daybed/ Single Bed
From the fishpond through the flowers
Living room formal dining area
Mezzanine Balinese open air shower/bathroom
Bath with a view - Mezzanine Suite
Seating Mezzanine Suite
Pool and Fish Habitat
Poolside Suite with flowers
A good place to 'work'? Poolside Terrace
Poolside Suite seating
Paddie A/C Suite with ensuite, private terrace and open air Bali style bathroom
12 meter 'Meditation' swimming pool, cool water with mood lighting at night
Our 'crowded' beach
Bringing in the rice harvest in front of the villa
Villa Surya and Holy Mount Agung
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clare M
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Villa in Quiet Location”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful two weeks in Bali, the first week of which was spent at Villa Surya. What a great experience, we had the holiday of a lifetime due in no small part to the staff at Villa Surya. We had not seen our boys for two years and the villa provided an ideal and luxurious setting for our reunion.

We all agreed that we had never felt so well looked after. Mark is a wonderfully kind and entertaining host, though I think he might had had kittens if he'd known in advance we were thinking of heading off up the mountain! The staff were unflaggingly helpful and charming, Katut's cooking is the best in Bali. She also kitted us all out from her family's wardrobe so that we could experience various local event suitably attired. I have seldom looked so elegant. She also took my son on the back of her Vespa so that he could watch the world cup with her family at 3.00 am. Beyond the call of duty indeed! Made the driver was always helpful with his recommendations, and his suggestion that we tackle Mount Agung in the middle of the night certainly made for the most memorable experience of our holiday!
We loved the Villa with it's outdoor showers and beautiful beds, we loved the squeaky lizards and the turtle who lives by the pool, the coconut palms swaying in the moonlight, but above all we loved the gentle and humorous staff to whom I extend a big thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The wonderful staff, but pretty much everything.
Liked least: Candi Dasa is a bit of a tumble weed town
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2012
You were a lovely group and it was a great experience for us all - you allowed us to share in the joy of your reunion and the pleasure you all got from seeing the intimate side of Bali (yes, cremations are very interesting and dare I say it, they can and should be fun).
Don't get me wrong Kuta, Sanur, Legian and Nusa Dua, the more touristy places here on the island are great for those that are just looking for "fun in the sun" but it's very rewarding for us to find a group that are willing to embrace the entire Bali experience from climbing Agung in the middle of the night to catch the sunrise to wonderfully long massages on the beautiful White Sandy Beach or in the privacy of the villa - they kind of go together, don't they? Glad you enjoyed the grub too - Ketut was impressed with your ability to handle (and even ask for more) spicy Balinese sauces.

Ketut, Alit, Kadek and I all wish you the very best (Cheech and Chong the cats too!)and hope to see you all again soon. Oh and thanks for the great review.

We've just added 2 more bedrooms in a separate guest house on the property along with an extra swimmingpool too so next time you can bring the grandkids...?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewed September 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 26, 2012
You and your family seemed to love their time here on Bali and the kids are of an age when they really got something out of the fantastic cultural and natural experiences that are all around us here in Paradise Bali. Thanks for sharing your artistic and ship knowledge with us and the decorations to the new Villa Candra will take your suggested form - Bamboo. You are all welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
Reviewed April 25, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 14, 2012
So great to hear from you again and many thanks for the fantastic review. We really enjoyed having you and the others and please stop in again and spend some more time in Paradise.

Your private Yoga lessons were the start of a great trend here at Villa Surya - we now have most of our guests taking part and just loving the intimacy that Kawi brings to the expercises.

Hope you are all well and looking forward to your next trip.

Mark, Kadek, Ketut and Alit all say "Om Swastiastu" (may your gods be with you)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Honest-Ho...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We had an amazing family holiday in a fabulous place with amazing people”
Reviewed April 14, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

We wanted to experience the real Bali and have a family holiday we all enjoyed and that is exactly what we got! Villa Surya is beautiful and the staff warm and welcoming. The white sand beach, just a 10 min drive away provided relaxing and lazy days by the beach. We hired a car for part of the holiday and a driver at other times. Both worked equally well. Villa Surya would work equally well for families or couples. If you are looking for night life this is not the place for you. If you are seeking a fun, cultural Bali experience, it does not get much better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Villa and it's location is truly beautiful
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2012
We are all so grateful for your kind words of praise. It was lovely to meet you, your partner and the two lovely little girls.

Some people come to Bali looking for peace and relaxation, some want adventure and partying, others are looking for cultural discoveries or just plain love (Eat, Pray, etc.).

You guys got it all!

And if I could just bottle what you brought I would pass it out to every guest that we have.

Helping you and your family to make each day of your stay special and filled with new and wonderful experiences is one of the most rewarding things we have ever done.

It was pure pleasure seeing the kids try their best to imitate Ketut's professional weaving of the day's offerings or helping in the kitchen and learning some Balinese cooking arts.

You enjoyed the help and instruction of our private Yoga teacher as your partner was running up and down Mount Agung.

There's still lots more to do so please come and visit us again - Alit, Ketut, Kadek and I say "Om Swastiastu".
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aanya-11
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Good but need transport”
Reviewed January 31, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Great place but a bit isolated....you would do best to have a car or motorbikes if you choose to stay here or you will need to pre plan everything you do with the staff and drivers....not so spontaneous.
Also there is nowhere to really sit outdoors undercover if it rains for a few days in a row, which it can do in the wet season easily.
We were also a bit frustrated being asked what we wanted to eat for breakfast just as we had finished dinner or for dinner and lunch as we had just finished breakfast. We were too full to decide and it seemed that they had most things frozen anyway so would be easy to decide an hour or so beforehand or for more complex dishes to say on the menu that you need to order a day/few hours in
advance.
The owner also turned up to make sure things were all ok which was sweet but his sense of timing was poor as we had just met our family there who we had not seen for a year and wanted to talk and catch up... and then he turned up at dinner time and talked through that also. It would be a good idea for him to ring ahead to check with staff as to whether guests would like to be visited and when. As it was hard to get the message through to him without being completely blatant.
The Beach here is also not so good. You will need to drive or be driven to white sand beach.
The pool was fantastic and great for cooling down a few times a day.
The staff are great also...really very sweet. The Manager Ketut however seemed to not enjoy her job so much..bit truculent for some reason.
I am sure the house would suit many better than us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the pool
Liked least: having to order meals so far in advance...when just eaten and not sure of plans for the day
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2012
Villa Surya is off the beaten track - for tourists, and frankly that is something we are quite proud of. If you want to be surrounded by Germans, French or Americans (and we love them too!) we suggest you go to those countries - I'm told there are many of them there. Villa Surya is in the heart of the rural Balinese village of Jasri a suburb of Amlapura whose town market is 2 minutes away, the Water Palace at Ujung is 5, Candi Dasa is 8 minutes by car and for the majority of our guests they love this immersion in the Balinese environment - transport is necessary, but it's also necessary when staying in Manhattan. If you don't want to use transport you are welcome to walk, bicycle or possibly choose the resort option - we are a private luxury villa.

Frankly I'm baffled by the "no seating area" complaint - there is a large roofed and lighted Bale or Gazebo (pictured on the add) with 4 large bean bags and a coffee table next to the pool and also further covered seating under the (2m x 4m) roof by the living room entrance with 2 outdoor recliners and a coffee table. In all honestly I think that the rain was probably the real problem with their stay (during the rainy season!), not the facilities.

All food is best fresh and Balinese particularly but we naturally also keep a supply of frozen fries, chicken nuggets, sausages, etc on hand for those that prefer food from home. Now if our guests only order things that we have frozen it would be foolish to rush off to buy them again. We encourage our guests to be adventurous and try the vast range of fresh cuisine, be it fresh fish, pork or Indonesian vegetables and specialities on daily offer at local markets but none of our guests will be forced to be "adventurous" at Villa Surya.
I turned up at the wrong time - well, in my humble defence I would like to say that the only "average" review that we have had so far was highlighted by the statement that I was only interested in the money and didn't come by once - with me being in the UK at the time a quick visit was not possible, but I do like money...
When I am on Bali I do come by regularly to check with the guests, their wellbeing and comfort and also to advise on things to do, what to be careful of, etc, etc and all of our guests so far seemed to be happy and glad of the advice, help and care offered. I guess it is not possible to make something correct for all people - there will always be chalk and cheese. When on Bali I will continue to turn up on occasion and help out - if you don't want me there please just say and I'll hang out at the beach instead...:O) I will not be offended - promise!

With this being our first year in business we expect to make mistakes and also to learn from them. So please come back and give us a(nother) chance - when it's not raining?
Cheers Mark
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johanna A
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Holiday - Beautiful Villa - Stunning Setting”
Reviewed December 12, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

Wow! What a fantastic holiday. We absolutely loved our stay here. The
Villa is huge, the pictures do not do it justice... there is simply
nothing better than waking up in the immensely comfortable and large
beds of the Villa only to then enjoy a freshly made breakfast on the
terrace overlooking the rice paddies and ocean. Breathtaking! The
staff were wonderful, like magic they appeared whenever we needed
anything, but most of the time we felt like we had the Villa all to
ourselves.

To begin with we used the Villa as a base for exploring Bali and made
several trips all over the area with the driver Made, who had some
hilarious stories to share with us - we enjoyed his company - but
after a little while we found ourselves putting off plans in order to
stay at the Villa and relax all day in sunshine with the lovely breeze
blowing from the sea. If this is your first time coming to Bali let me
tell you it is HOT, but the Villa seems to be in an uncanny spot that
remains nice and cool because of the sea breezes.

The pool is simply lovely, and a very decent size and every morning
lovely Alit - the guy for everything - cleans it so I could not
disagree with the comment down thread more.

Amlapura and Candidasa are both just around the corner so its very
easy to get to anything you might need - which is unlikely since the
staff at Villa Surya will happily do/get everything for you. It is
nice to pop over to Candidasa in the evening for dinner and some
drinks. And I would like to point out that the area in which Villa
Surya is, allows you to really see the "real Bali" as opposed to the
South and places like Kuta with its McDonalds and Starbucks. In fact
from Villa Surya we drove along the remote coastal road up to Amed and
besides the stunning scenic views we really got to see how most of the
Balinese live and were quite the attraction to all the smiling waving
Villagers.

I could not recommend Villa Surya more, it is a beautiful building
with great interiors and spectacular views located ideally for
exploring the island and relaxing. We will definitely be returning to
Villa Surya, thank you so much for a fantastic holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2012
Thanks very much hope you got over your jet-lag. The more you do it the easier it gets. Or driver Made will take you up Agung next time and trips to Renjani on Lombok are only recommended during the dry season and best combined with a trip to the Gilis,means "islands" in Lombokese in Balinese the same is "Nusa" - end of the lesson.

See you again soon. Mark, Petra, Ketut, Alit and Kadek (Wayan is now in charge of security and sleepless nights)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewed November 20, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house staff
Liked least: The pool
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 24, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your somewhat subjective review, if nothing else it goes to prove the honesty of this entire review system.
May we say your stay with us has become the stuff of local legend due in part to your immediate stress testing of the entire villa's electrical system. 5 minutes after arrival you had already turned on every light (including the pool's in the middle of the day!) and with the final edition of the hair dryer(s) the safety in the junction box finally popped. Not satisfied with one "successful" attempt to fox the electrical supply you then repeated it - again "successfully".
Our good driver Made was brought to the edge of madness by up to 3 trips to Kuta daily (round trip time 4 hours) where members of your party became lost overnight and previously ordered and prepared dinners where ignored and forgotten. Upon finally leaving our humble abode for your next destination, guess where... Kuta, you immediately called Made while he was still in return transit and demanded that he return and pick your party up again as you were unhappy with your new accommodation - he respectfully declined.
As to the pool - that was just simple bad luck. Just prior to your visit Bali had had a week of terrible weather with torrential rains and the first actual tornado in Denpasar in living memory. Of course the pool was full of leaves (from our poor frangipani) and much debris had been washed into the pool also. This was all removed as quickly as it was possible to do within the time of your stay.
All of our guests are furnished with our personal telephone numbers (and it is also displayed on the advertisement) for use in any situation that they feel warrants calling us but we received no such call from you and also not from our staff who learned felt that us being in the UK meant we could not do much about leaves in the pool, although we would have welcomed the chance to talk with you about your issues and have now advised our staff to always inform us when any guest seems unhappy or has an issue which is unresolved.
As to our grounds: As stated in the advertisement the villa is placed in the middle of a coconut palm orchard and the local community values very highly the produce of these trees, which we donate freely. As with all trees things like leaves and fruit fall out of them occasionally and therefore we have decided to keep half of the area as producing trees and for the other half that surrounds the villa the trees are cleaned and all nuts and old leaves are removed on a bi-weekly rota. This is a safety measure to protect our guests. Therefore we actively discourage anyone spending much time in the "productive" section of our gardens - but it is still lovely to look at and is a major part of the tropic idyll that is Bali and we are sorry this went unappreciated.
All in all it seems a pity that you had such a poor experience with us and Bali but we hope that in retrospect you may reconsider and give Bali and perhaps us another chance - Made will pick you up, promise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$209
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing