We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't recommend highly Enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Warung Astawa

Warung Astawa
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't recommend highly Enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We initially held off going to this restaurant for dinner as we thought it was too small and not very fancy. We should have gone sooner. The dinner was amazing, fantastic service, great drinks and all for - very reasonable price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Navenoxid55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    118
    31
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ate here on 2 occasions and thoroughly enjoyed it on both occasions. The food, service and price were all very good. Tonight, our last night in Candi Dasa we had the duck tutu, which we had to pre order 24hrs ago. The meal was amazing. The portion sizes were man size. I would highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa6974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
376 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Great Favourite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Always the first restaurant we visit on return trips to Candi Dasa as we are never disappointed.
This time was the same,good food,good service great atmosphere.
They won an award in 2012 and should be right in line for another this year

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennisp859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Iced Coffee In Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We eat here several times every trip to Candi and are never dissappointed. We have tried a large section of the menu and enjoy a cold beer, tasty curries, satay and Lumpia but after a sweaty walk nothing quenches like their delicious iced coffees. Most nights there is a short on stage performance adding to the local appeal and atmosphere of this eatery. Fabulous friendly staff always welcome us back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
218 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Didn't taste as good as they looked”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

*Convenient location right on the main street, open air, cute and cozy island atomosphere
*Waitress and staff were kind, efficient, spoke good English
*Menu has a lot to choose from: seafood, meat, veggies, traditional Balinese etc
*Reasonable price

I ordered one of their Set menu: Appetizer, Main Dish & Drink. My choice of appetizer was 'shrimp cocktail' but this was NOTHING like shrimp cocktail most of us are used to. instead of shrimp with cocktail sauce, this was more like 'Salad with some shrimp' served with Thousand Island dressing. It wasn't bad, but I was completely thrown off.
For main I chose "Fish with Banana Leaf" following their recommendation. Fish filet was perfectly wrapped in banana leaf 'pouch' and steamed; served with steamed rice & sateed carrot/beans.
Beautifully presented but something in the sauce didn't agree with me, kind of smelled like rotten fish...(sorry)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sydneytheturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Astawa also viewed

Candidasa, Karangasem
Candidasa, Karangasem
 
Candidasa, Karangasem
Candidasa, Karangasem
 
Candidasa, Karangasem
 

Been to Warung Astawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing