We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff really care about the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D'Tunjung Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff really care about the place”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

The feature of this place is the very helpful, friendly staff who go out of their way to make u feel welcome.
Location right on the ocean is excellent but the lounge chairs could be updated.
Great fish curry in the rest and the beds are very comfortable.
Very good value.
If the owners spent a bit of money on the place it would always be booked out.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    70
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
34
92
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just stayed a week at D'Tunjung and from the time they picked us up at the airport until the time we left the staff were so helpful and friendly.
The rooms are very clean loved the out door bathroom.
Very quiet and relaxing pool is great with nice deck chairs to read and just relax looking to the sea.
First time to Candidasa but will not be our last .
Had a room at the front with ocean views.
Thanks D'Tunjung for a very relaxing time we will back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieAnn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in an ocean front room for 6 nights. It was everything that we had hoped. The staff were helpful, the breakfast quite OK- although by the 6th day a change would have been nice. The hotel was quiet so plenty of space on the deck and in the pool without being crowded. The room was very clean, the air con worked very well and the TV was good to catch some outside news. The bedding was good quality, and room serviced every day. The outdoor bathroom was a delight. Apart from the included breakfast we didn't eat in, but visited as many restaurants as possible. Rendevous next door was a favorite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the ocean- there are only 3 with expansive views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Workforholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed here as part of a small group tour. This small hotel is 100m down a small track off the main road, so it is pretty quiet. The restaurant is right by the sea, next to the small swimming pool. The rooms are all close to the sea and have aircon and a pleasant bath/shower area, some of which are outside. Rooms spacious, clean and tidy with in-room safe and free wi-fi. A couple of happy hour places nearby had beer at 25K, although it was not much more expensive in the hotel, Most of the other restaurants were on the busy main road, so we ate at the hotel and were not disappointed. Breakfast pretty good with choice of American or Indonesian (not buffet).

Room Tip: All very quiet - those near the sea might have a bit of sea noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Where do I start, I tried really hard to find some positives about this hotel but it's quite difficult! We decided to stay here as we had recently stayed in the hotel's sister resort puri sunia which is an amazing hotel, unfortunately I cannot say the same for this hotel, in fact it is the complete opposite which is a huge shame. We asked the receptionist to phone and confirm our pick up for our next destination she said the tried but couldn't get through this was because she was phoning the fax machine number, we told her to ring the correct number once she had she asked us what she should say as if she had never made a phone call before!! We explained again that all we wanted her to do was ask in Balinese what time our transport would arrive. After taking at least 15 minutes of our time she charged us for her time! On arrival to our room the bathroom floor was flooded with water, the flush did not work, there were brown stains all over the walls, I hoped was mud, we had no hot water for the entire stay, the bathroom door handle fell off, the mosquito net had huge holes in it and the AC did not work correctly. The service is awful nobody smiles or says hello, we said good morning to everyone all we got was a grunt, nobody seems happy to work here and they can't speak English, the food choice is poor and there is no cocktail menu.

The hotel decided to spray mosquito repellent around the villas during the afternoon, quite a few people were sunbathing which resulted in them getting sprayed in poison!! Really awful service.

Candidasa is meant to be a beach resort but when the hotels were built they destroyed the beach so there is just sea NO sand so don't expect a beach. The town itself is a ghost town, nothing to see or do, we went in peak season and it was dead!! I advise you not to stay here if you can help it.

Their sister hotel is amazing so don't be put off. This is just awful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BubbleandSqueak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Candidasa hotels

Weinheim, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights during our trip through bali and we couldn't be happier with our stay! The rooms are lovely, clean and well maintained and the outdoor bathroom is just awesome! We had a great view over the ocean from the terrace of our bungalow. the resort is small, calm and has a beautiful garden. we were waking up to the sound of the waves and we enjoyed chilling at the pool while overlooking the sea.
the breakfast (which tastes good by the way) is served in the restaurant from where you have a grat ocean view as well. The restaurant itself is quiet good, but too expensive, we prefered to go to the traditional restaurants in candidasa which are only a 5-minutes walk away.
but we highly recommend the spa! the massages and the ambiance are really good! Candidasa itself is a calm place with plenty of good and cheap restaurants and it is a good location for those who want to snorkel, to dive or just to relax, it is also a good location to start trips to east bali. we had a relaxing stay and would definately come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luciiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Of 8 hotels during our 3 week honeymoon tour of Java and Bali, this was my favorite. The location was excellent with an AMAZING ocean view and wonderful swimming pool. You didn't hear any of the street noise coming from Candidasa and enjoyed waking up to the sound of the ocean waves each morning.

The service was always exceptional and the restaurant serves delicious drinks and food. Conveniently located at the end of the Candidasa strip to give you a bit more privacy compared to other location.

The rooms are very clean and well maintained and the beds are very comfortable. We stayed in room 802 and could not have been happier with the little villa.

No TV. No Radio.....no problem. Gives you everything you need to recharge the internal batteries.

2 Thumbs way up!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clntard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.5 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
803 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#14 of 20 in Candidasa
150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
#15 of 20 in Candidasa
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#13 of 20 in Candidasa
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Tunjung Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Tunjung Beach Resort

Property: D'Tunjung Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Candidasa, Candidasa, Karangasem 80800, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Tunjung Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your D'Tunjung Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d`Tunjung Hotel Candidasa
d`Tunjung Resort And Spa
D'Tunjung Beach Resort Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing