We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bang for your buck”
Review of Bali Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bali Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good bang for your buck”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked a week through one of the deals on eBay and I am glad we did. We are a family of 6 and we need an apartment style room for our needs. The room 512 was adequate although we only had one bathroom to share. It was great to buy mangos and then enjoy them for breakfast on the balcony. The kitchen was OK for our needs although a dish drainer and a bigger rubbish bin would have been better.
I loved the pool area with a fantastic view and nice surroundings. The cafe and bar area was nice as well. The beach itself is pretty ordinary especially compared to Australian beaches. This is not the resorts fault. I wish something could be done about the rubbish in the nearby streams. The beach at the sister resort "Shangrila" is much better and a complimentary bus will take you there. The snorkeling off the beach there even rivaled Exmouth WA in fish life.
I liked the fact you had an identity there. The two resorts are small enough where you can get to know the other guests and the staff quite well. I hate being just another face in the crowd. My children and I also used the dive company at the Shangrila. We dived at Blue Lagoon and the Liberty shipwreck at Tulamben. It was great fun.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and purchased a week in the timeshare deal that they had. Next time we hope to get a 2 bedroom villa near the pool.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cocky724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Trust you are doing very well
this is to acknowledge receipt of your comment being posted here on tripadvisor
we noted that you experienced nice memory during your holidays here and we love it and therefore we let share to staff members in order to motive them to maintain our services.
regarding anything that you think less value for your holiday, let we look into and address it

Thank you for your kind attention and look forward to welcoming you on next trips

Komang Astawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    142
    44
    19
    23
See reviews for
118
203
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a 3 day trip around Bali with a driver. We arrived pretty late and it was nice to hear the ocean. In the morning I realised that the beach is not really swimmable so I wasnt too disappointed to be checking out. The included breakfast is pretty poor considering how cheap food is in the rest of bali. I had to pay about $5 AUD for my son to have an egg, because it wasnt included. We were in a 2 bedroom apartment and the main bedroom was through the only bathroom, so if anyone was in there you couldnt get to your room, or you were stuck in your room. The light switches and aircon controls are quite hidden behind curtains etc which is annoying when you are tired. The bed clothes smelt a bit musty. We were woken by some type of bird which continually tapped on the glass of our room from first light. My sister who was in the other room, kept getting up to go to see who was at the door! There is a really good restaurant/bar/art gallery across the road where we had dinner and watched a band. A whole main meal was less than that egg! Oh also there was a massive dead cockroach in the bedroom when we got there. Not a great welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DiBecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

This is to acknowledge receipt your comments being posted on this tripadvisor.com
We acknowledge for all comments addressed to us, however really appreciate for proportional ones.
Our bathroom in 2 bedrooms has 2 doors face to each bedroom, it means has 4 privacies. If one of you want to be in it you may lock off all doors and all the keys are available inside of its bathroom so you can unlock and go out whenever you want. So wonder and feel too exaggerated if you said that you were stuck, could not go out to your bedroom.
Our included breakfast if you booked bed and breakfast is CBF (Continental Breakfast), so far from our understanding omelet, ham, bacon are separate from CBF but however available upon request with bit extra
Basically regarding all negative comments, we definitely address it and assure will not be happened

Many thanks
Komang Astawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, france
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is grossly overpriced for what it is, a bland and generic motel. The breakfast which is included in the Nightly rate is sad. The fruit plate offered 3 types of unripe fruits, and each slice was a paltry 4millimeters thick. The chicken porridge they offered was bland and had barely any chicken chunks - i have had many better chicken porridges more delicious for only 10k rupiah from a street vendor. The coffee they served my husband tasted as if it was hot-brewed dirt and was completely undrinkable! None of the included breakfast options offer eggs, which westerners oftrn enjoy as a nice protein-rich way to start their day, and ordering them costs 30k rupiah extra! Other than the breakfast, our entire room reaked of mosquito-repellant poison, both the first room we stayed in and the two other rooms which were shown to us. Additionally, our shower had low water pressure and the temp kept fluctuating from boiling hot to freezing cold. The staff was very pleasant here, and it is not their fault the hotel is so uncompetitive.We ended up moving to a nice hotel down the street that offered better food and ambiance for only 60% of the price! We highly reccomend the Natia hotel as a lovely, personal, delicious, and affordable alternative which offers an infinity pool overlooking the coast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Julia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Vauled Guest,

This is to acknowledge receipt your comment being posted on this trip advisor. we noted all these comments and let we adjust all the handicaps in order come up with more much better quality consistently

Many thanks and sincerely yours,
Komang Astawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau Province, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed there one week with the wife, one bedroom apartment clean and tidy. Food was OK entertainment good; the organised trips were not bad you get them cheaper if you negotiate with the local agents.
The hotel had some construction going on which could be annoying if you are accommodated near the area.
A free Schulte bus takes you to the Shangri-La hotel owned by the same company takes about 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Get on facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hydrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, Many thanks for choosing Bali Palms Resort as your accommodation during your holidays in Bali. Herewith we acknowledge your comments being posted here and many thanks for positive comments as well, let we share to all staff members in order to motivate them to keep the standard even improve it.

Sincerely yours,
Komang Astawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I enjoyed our stay at Bali Palms the staff were great and couldn't help us enough. We had some problems in our unit but as soon as we notified the reception it was fixed ASAP. Is in a great location very close to resturants. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Firstly, thank you for choosing Bali Palms Resort as your accommodation during your holidays in Bali, and thank you for the outstanding comments as well, let me share it to all staff members in order to maintain even improve the services.

Many thanks
Komang Astawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
région parisienne
Level Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We booked a hotel suite at Bali Palms Resort through expedia at a 50% off rate.
The resort levies a 21% surcharge on everything which includes Govt taxes and staff charges.
Stayed with the family at one of the villas with view on the sea. The rooms were clean, neat with a flatscreen TV, DVD/Music system and kitchen facilities. Problem with my shower cubicle hydro massante, thus impossible to use. Construction taking place but did not bother us. Staff are very friendly and helpful except reception desk.
This resort does not own a beach but fortunately the swimming pool is big and pleasant.
This hotel lacks animation in the day for the children and even in the evening. The hotel is enough located far from the city center (shuttles every hour)
The breakfast is correct but it is not a buffet, what a pity. Reserve especially with the inclusive breakfast.
To eat to the restaurant will be very expensive to you. Prefer restaurants near the hotel.
A stay of 3 days was widely enough for us. Classic hotel, nothing to do and to make in candi dasa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fab78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Foremost, we would like to thank you for choosing Bali Palms Resort as your accommodation during your holidays in Bali and East Bali especially.
We noted your comments posted here and we definitely do efficient action to put them back in order. regarding to staff , we will review and train them continuously in order to provide you much better quality of services.
Wish to look forward and serving you in the next trips.

many thanks and sincerely yours
Komang Astawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed with the family in late June at one of the villas. With breakfast included as part of the package, this was incredible value. The rooms were clean and neat. Besides some unique quirks (like the stairway through the middle of the second bedroom- for the villa upstairs that you'd bump your head into from time to time), everything was good quality. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The resort levies a 21% surcharge on everything which includes Govt taxes and staff charges (I checked with them and they did receive their share). Low water pressure as is the case everywhere in SE Asia. Room had a flatscreen TV, DVD/Music system and kitchen facilities. I had expected a lot worse reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, but was pleasantly surprised. There's a shuttle which takes you to Watergardens, Mr Grumpy (restaurants) and their other sister resort- Bali Shangrila. We preferred to walk there - as it's not too far. Internet went down on the last day - but it wasn't too much of a problem. Overall, excellent value for money and would recommend this to families with kids. And the views of the Candidasa coastline are fantastic.

Room Tip: Try and book a villa - not an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

This is to acknowledge that we noticed your comments posted on this tripadvisor. we thanks you for your nice comment and let we share to all of our tsaff members. regarding to negative ones, we consistently will take the effort to adjust them and rise up the level of services

we look forward to welcoming you on next trips

Sincerely yours,
Komang Astawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.0 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
772 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
327 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Palms Resort

Property: Bali Palms Resort
Address: Nyuh Tebel, Manggis, Amlapura | Jl. Raya Candidasa - Amlapura, Candidasa, Karangasem 80581, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Candidasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Palms Resort is located right on the beachfront with breathtaking views of sea, islands and mountain backdrop. It is a luxury, modern hotel & residential gated resort, offering a full range of high standard facilities to make our guests & owners comfortable for short holidays or medium and long stay residential. Our Resort is just 1 hour 15 mins from the airport on the new by-pass. The Resort has 48 Luxury accommodations set round a very large pool with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. The resort comprises Hotel Rooms, Studios, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments & Villas, many with private walled gardens. Palms Resort is family owned and promotes a strong family atmosphere, with friendly and helpful staff dedicated to your holiday enjoyment. We have a superb beachfront bar & restaurant with Happy Hours 4 - 6 pm plus a weekly entertainment program of traditional Balinese Dance, Fire Dance & Showgirl Cabaret plus Resident Groups. Spoil yourself in Palms Spa centre which offers traditional Balinese massage, therapy treatments and pedicure service. We even have a Medical Centre with resident Doctor and Nurse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Palms Hotel Candidasa
Bali Palms Resort Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing