We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed views”
Review of Bali Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bali Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The view we had was spectacular. Candi dasa is a great place to stay if you want somewhere cooler and quiet. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had problems with smells in a few rooms and management were very slow to respond. Also had a number of other problems with (1) Air con not working, bathroom fan not working and leak into cupboard under sink. It took quite a while to get these things fixed. We did consider leaving after a few days due to the smell. The initial response was to come and clean the room and leave more soap balls to mask the smell. There is some building work but it wasn't very noisy. It was great having a spa attached to the resort. Rooms were only cleaned twice a week which was disapponting but if we rung room service they would come and collect our rubbish (usually). The rooms were very well laid out. The pool is very nice. Yes you can't swim in ocean but I knew this and it provided a beautiful outlook. Food was pretty average. Whilst I raise a number of negatives I did enjoy the visit and would consider going back. Hopefully they will have fixed the smell.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calmtravel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komangastawa, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Dear Madame or Sir
However we appreciate for your feedback here and apologies for inconvenience caused. Yes we realized that got problem with our fumbling causes leaking and smells. but we didn’t agree with you for slow response as we fixed it out soonest after you reported it to our receptionist on 7 July 2011. I encourage you to share all things in proportional.

Many thanks
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 462 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

We spend the last week of our holidays at Candi Dasa and this new resort is highly recommended. This location is perfect to make interesting outings and learn more about the real Bali. Plenty of shops and restaurants are situated within walking distance of the hotel.
Our comfortable furnished apertment with marble bathroom was on the ground floor and from the veranda we had a great view over the bay.
All areas look well maintained and especially the spacious pool was very impressing!
Breakfast was served at the seaside restaurant and for any special requests like cheese, yoghurt or diffent jam just ask the friendly waitress Ketut and she will help you. Bali Palms is characterised by its cosy and warm atmosphere which makes you feel right at home.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heikebali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We have been going to Candi Dasa for five years searching for THE place to stay, we found it at Bali Palms Resort. Yes, at the moment there is still some building going on, but you can't make an omlete without breaking some eggs. The staff are really friendly, the service fantastic and the bar and restaurant serve great food and ice cold drinks.
Keep up the good work and we will see you all again in September.

Room Tip: Villa or apartment worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L7DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Bali Palms resort for two weeks in June. We were well prepared for the holiday by friends who know the area well. However the newcomer will receive excellent guidance from several friendly folk who keep the place buzzing.
The resort retaurant and bar are very good and economical. Staff are excellent. Happy and helpful but not overwhelming. The associated Shangrila Beach Club at the other end of town and a short (free) shuttle ride away also excellent,
Food in many of the restaurants in town is very good and very cheap. Cocktails and local beer are very good and cheap. Wine not so readily available and not cheap.
Trafic is semi-organised chaos. Don't even think of driving yourself. Many late-model people-movers are available with competent local drivers and very reasonable rates.
Numerous great snorkelling spots close to Candidasa, many straight off the beach into clear water and wide variety of marine life.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarraRandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

rooms where smelling really bad,room service was doing basic cleaning, breakfast was a joke,location was ok if you don't like to swim in the sea,there is no beach. the worst think for us was that my partner is disable and we had inform the hotel for that,their answer was that there is no problem. The true was different, there where 30 steps in the reception and every day we had to go to the room from a gravel road next to the hotel with no lights full of dogs and when get to the room we had two more steps witch they don't sound much if you can walk. The worst for this hotel was that the first day the manager told us that they already building a ramp for the weelchair so we can get in the room easily..well after spending 12 days there we NEVER saw it. We are never going back there and we advise everyone not to try it, the only good thing was the people in the bar,very kind and always with a smile.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marianthi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koming3cabron, Manager at Bali Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2011

Dear Marianthi,

Fist of all we should underline here that we don’t find guest under name Marianthi on our guest’s database.
Secondly, we never recommend our resort is good for handicap. And now you stated that our resort is no problem with disable guest. This is very confusing and we do not know from who the source is….
Nevertheless we appreciate for any comment as long as that is constructive and proportional

Many thanks
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Great facilities.. Far from the hustle and bustle of Kuta. Enjoyed having access to Shangrila Hotel as well.

Restuarant had a nice selection of food - the waiters and waitresses were fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giggles134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Our week in Bali Palms was perfect. We took advantage of many outings, from the trip to the local market for the Indonesian cooking class, to snorkeling and barbecuing on the white sand beach, trekking in the mountains, visits to the water palaces, to just lying around the pool, enjoying daily massages, drinks and snacks, and enjoying the excellent restaurant. The restaurant is right on the beach, cool breeze, outstanding food. We loved every minute, especially the extremely friendly and helpful staff, the outstanding guides. It was worth a 30 hour flight from San Francisco!

Room Tip: First floor for good water pressure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbonnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#6 of 20 in Candidasa
332 reviews
0.7 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
881 reviews
1.2 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
Bayshore Villas Candi Dasa
#4 of 20 in Candidasa
360 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
#16 of 20 in Candidasa
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aquaria
Aquaria
#2 of 28 in Candidasa
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Palms Resort

Address: Jl. Candidasa, Nyuh Tebel, Candidasa, Karangasem 80581, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Candidasa
Price Range: $43 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bali Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bali Palms Resort is located right on the beachfront with breathtaking views of sea, islands and mountain backdrop. It is a luxury, modern hotel & residential gated resort, offering a full range of high standard facilities to make our guests & owners comfortable for short holidays or medium and long stay residential. Our Resort is just 1 hour 15 mins from the airport on the new by-pass. The Resort has 48 Luxury accommodations set round a very large pool with plenty of sun beds and umbrellas. The resort comprises Hotel Rooms, Studios, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments & Villas, many with private walled gardens. Palms Resort is family owned and promotes a strong family atmosphere, with friendly and helpful staff dedicated to your holiday enjoyment. We have a superb beachfront bar & restaurant with Happy Hours 4 - 6 pm plus a weekly entertainment program of traditional Balinese Dance, Fire Dance & Showgirl Cabaret plus Resident Groups. Spoil yourself in Palms Spa centre which offers traditional Balinese massage, therapy treatments and pedicure service. We even have a Medical Centre with resident Doctor and Nurse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bali Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Palms Hotel Candidasa
Bali Palms Resort Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing