We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flawless Fish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rendezvous

Rendezvous
Ranked #30 of 64 Restaurants in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ormstown, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Flawless Fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We found this place by chance and dropped in for lunch because the setting is so gorgeous, right on the water and overlooking the rock islands. We can of course only speak of what we ate, but the service was excellent, the salad imaginative and the fish, perfection. Grilled mahi mahi, not overdone, came perched atop a salad of organic greens, pomelo, strawberries, cucumber, bean sprouts and cashews, and seasoned with a spicy Thai style dressing. My lemon squash (really lime ) came with a liquid sugar syrup on the side so that I could adjust the sweetness myself. A wonderful lunch!

The only down side is that they charge 15% tax and service which many restaurants here do not.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hoppiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    50
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We really enjoyed Rendezvous - food was great even if the wind in the evening prevented us from sitting close to the beach. Well it was the rainy season!! We liked it so much we returned the next day to do the cooking class - which was great fun.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Di5227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fabulous food and fabulous service with a beautiful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

The large variety of food here was totally delicious. Breakfast, lunch and dinner. The staff were super friendly and the service was fantastic. The European coffee machine broke one day but was fixed by the next morning! The restaurant is right on the ocean making a fantastic view and intimate dining experinece. Would eat here anytime :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great eating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Whilst off the beaten track - but only a little walk down an alley, it is WELL WORTH the walk down. lovely place to eat, cool sea breeze, great indo and western food. Have been eating here for years safely! Staff all trained in food hygiene. The place is definitely worth a look! Prices for food very comparable.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location & good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

During our visit to Candidasa we visited Rendezvous a few times for dinner, lunch and coffee. The location is superb, with the lovely sea breeze keeping the temp down and the view of the water and neighbouring islands mesmerising. Food was good and for a good price especially if you get the set menu. Staff are friendly and attentive. Would recommend.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EHateley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rendezvous also viewed

 
Candidasa, Karangasem
Candidasa, Karangasem
 

Been to Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing