We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and characteristic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Oka Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is situated right at a nice part of the beach of candidasa. The price is more than reasonable ( for a standard room, which by tbe way has no glass in the windows so can be noisy) although the rooms are nog too big. Very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eddieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

Husband and I just left today after a 5 day stay at this lovely little hotel. We stayed in ocean view bungalow room 3. You actually do see the ocean from the 4 poster bed. The room has 2 verandahs, one facing the ocean and the other you just need to turn your head left lol it is a/c, bar fridge, large wardrobe, tv and dvd player. DVD's are available to borrow free from the desk. for someone with limited mobility like myself,so not a lot of walking to pass time, it was great.the bathroom is old but clean. there is an outdoor shower but it was built before the 2 storey villa next door,so I didnt use it.i am surprised at the previous 2 reviews, our room was cleaned every day and the linen and towels were new and spotless, and smelled divine. There was an occasional ,what i call, 'burp" from the drain which gave the occasional unpleasant waft of smell. it was not often and did not bother us. I have found the same in many hotels in Bali.
Candidasa has to be the least bothersome in the way of hawkers in all of Bali! I did not find that the fisherman or the massage people to be pushy or intimidating. we were asked, said no and were not bothered again. If you sit at the blue tables above the beachfront for breakfast you will find the fisherman and snorkel service will ask you if you want to go out on the boat, and will chat if you waisnt to. Staring and intimidating??? definatly not.
The breakfast is lovely and enjoyable, we only ate a couple of dinners here and they were nice. The staff are lovely,nothing is too much trouble.It is a bit away from town, and when our driver wasnt available the manager took us up on the back of his bike. would I stay here again? definatley, i miss it already, I could look at that view all day every day :)

Room Tip: choose the beachfront bungalow opposite #3 if you want to use outdoor shower naked :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beemay063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The sewage smell coming from the toilet into the room was really bad, so bad that we couldn't sleep at night. Never ever stay there again. The massage hawkers and the boat hawkers looking for work were really intrusive, the boatmen constantly peering at us as we ate breakfast. One woman travelling alone asked me to accompany her for a swim as she was intimidated by there constant gaze and harassment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Judy371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We only booked one night at this place to see how it is first, but then we left as soon as possible the next day. Although the property is small it was actually quite beautiful, directly at the beach with a little pool and a nice restaurant. The rooms were rather basic. What bothered me was that the rooms did not feel clean with spots on the bedsheets (although it smelled fine), the bed was squeaky and had a rusting metal frame. The window had a broken screen which wasn't so bad but they actually did try to fix it - with about 20 BAND AIDS plastering the screen to the wall.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Estella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just finished a four night stay at this lovely little hotel,set in a quiet beachside location off the main road. it's location is great,small restaurants are close by (warung boni recommended)and is an easy walk to the main road.
The rooms are basic but comfortable and clean,tropical gardens lead you down to the seaside restaurant and pool area and is a nice place to eat at (reasonable prices) or to read a book.
I highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a really good budget hotel.
The staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: Room near reception can be noisy if people are checking in late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Justine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times now and have just booked in for this September for a 4th time. The friendly staff, the atmosphere, the location, the price and the snorkelling is what keeps us coming back. Right on the beach with it's own bar, restaurant, manage area and pool are some of the attractions Puri Oka has to offer. Can't wait for September to experience this all over again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the ground floor rooms - couldn't fault them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kas93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My partner and I stayed in a beach bungalow for 7 nights during May. The room was large including a comfortable, 4-poster king sized bed with mosquito net, had a balcony outdoor sitting area overlooking the pool and restaurant and decent sized bathroom with outdoor shower. The staff are lovely and incredibly helpful too. The price was great value and the restaurant and drinks are cheap too!

Room Tip: Ask for the beach bungalow (Room number 3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pondok Bambu
Pondok Bambu
#5 of 20 in Candidasa
177 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Hotel Genggong at Candidasa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Oka Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Oka Beach Bungalows

Address: Jalan Puri Bagus | Jl. Puri Bagus, Candidasa, Karangasem - Bali, Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Candidasa
Price Range: $28 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puri Oka Beach Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Launching Posted: 14/07/08 Purioka Beach Bungalows is now launching .. Design and maintenanced by Sudigital Multimedia Puri Oka Beach Bungalows Candidasa Puri Oka Beach Bungalows for a true taste of Bali. Nestled in a fishing village where the mountains meet the sea are the Puri Oka Beach Bungalows, located directly on the ocean we offer a different range of accommodation to suit all individual needs and budgets. Enjoy our restaurant and pool facilities. Our friendly staff will cater to all guests and arrange day trips to explore Bali also boat trips, snorkeling or scuba diving. We can pick up or drop off to airport or other destinations including Lombok or the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Puri Oka Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Oka Beach Bungalows Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing