We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible room bathroom disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Oka Beach Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed in the standard room, checked out after one night.Have travelled a lot and this room we found equivalent to staying in a three or four dollar room in India.The bathroom was filthy and fixtures broken and disgusting.The door has a large gap of about 10mm in it so when you have your light on there goes your privacy.Room full of termites.......we paid for a mid range resort and yet the room is well below what we expected.
To be fair the staff are very nice and the restaurant serves good food ....the restaurant is priced for the mid range traveller.
The pool is ok old and a bit on the dirty side.
hope this helps.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpeaceable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 205 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Visited here for 1 night last year as was highly recommended by some friends. Returned this year for 2 nights but once we arrived wished we had have booked for much longer. We have fallen in love with this place. The staff are fantastic, the food is great and the view is to die for for. My husband had one of the local fisherman take him out fishing for the morning and came back with lunch. The staff at Puri Oka cleaned and cooked the fish and served it with some Balinese salad and chips. It was sooooo good. If you want 5 star with the works you won't find it here but if you are after basic, clean accommodation for a good price it may be the place for you. There are not a million other tourists to contend with which makes it a lovely place to relax, unwind and enjoy the views or some of the local attractions such as fishing, diving and snorkelling. We've already booked to go back...this time for much longer. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShazzaNDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We spent 5 perfect days in Ocean Wild Villa in March 2012. People are very kind, food is good, ocean and massage every day. I recommend everyone to go to Candidasa and stay in Puri Oka. Master bedroom is perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirinda_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Puri Oka has simple, basic accommodation right on the beach.
There is a protected area to swim in front of the hotel- lovely.
Staff are friendly and always willing to help. There is free wifi at the beachfront restaurant.
Very peaceful and very cute.
Staff are happy to help you organise transport into Candi Dasa, trips to White Sandy Beach, snorkelling and transfers.
If you need a break from the rat race and are happy with basic, friendly accommodation then this is for you.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My first impression of Puri Oka wasn't a great one as the driver was late to pick me up from the airport and then we couldn't find each other. I was about 10 minutes away from getting online and finding a new place to stay when we finally found each other. All was soon forgiven however as he was very apologetic and friendly.

After a treacherous two hour drive, we finally arrived in Candidasa. I chose this location because I wanted peace and quiet and the hotel definitely fulfilled my expectations there (with the exception of a few noisy tourist children, but that can't be helped!). The grounds are very beautiful with gorgeous plants and statues and I loved the pool!! I also had a massage by the pool and ate in the restaurant for every meal and was quite satisfied. All of the staff were friendly and accommodating. And my room had a bathtub! Big plus.

The hotel isn't perfect however... My room was very dark and hot. Definitely get a room with AC!!! Also to make it cooler you had to leave the curtains open which means less privacy. And there are only screens on the windows so there's also the lack of privacy there. However this was the same at the other hotel I stayed at so maybe it's a Bali thing.
Wifi was only available in the restaurant and not the room.
The room wasn't spotless for sure... I found a few things left over from the last person who stayed there and saw a few small spiders in the bathroom. No big deal though. The bed itself was clean.
Unfortunately there was no beach to speak of, and what sand there was was covered with boats. The water did not look inviting so I didn't go for a swim in the ocean. In one of the pictures on their website the water looks really clear. Maybe it was taken in another season.

Despite these minor grievances, I would still highly recommend a stay at Puri Oka. I really enjoyed my stay there; it was so relaxing. Just get a room with AC!

Room Tip: Get a room with AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iselynjenniep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

very nice little peace of bali
food good
rooms good
service excellent

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kahl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

A perfect place to spend some time on the beach in Bali, away from the crowds. Yoga who runs the desk is extrememly friendly and helpful, flexible in meeting our needs for the right room at a good price, arranging transport, and even keeping some items left behind until a friend could retrieve them.

Good swimming beach with semi-white sand and calm warm water. From here you can get a boat to a great "White Sand Beach" with good snorkeling, local fish cookout, and crystal clear water.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nowick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candidasa hotels
1.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
860 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#13 of 20 in Candidasa
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ganesh Lodge
Ganesh Lodge
#1 of 28 in Candidasa
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Tunjung Beach Resort
D'Tunjung Beach Resort
#14 of 20 in Candidasa
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Oka Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Oka Beach Bungalows

Address: Jalan Puri Bagus | Jl. Puri Bagus, Candidasa, Karangasem - Bali, Candidasa, Karangasem, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Candidasa
Price Range: $28 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Puri Oka Beach Bungalows 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Launching Posted: 14/07/08 Purioka Beach Bungalows is now launching .. Design and maintenanced by Sudigital Multimedia Puri Oka Beach Bungalows Candidasa Puri Oka Beach Bungalows for a true taste of Bali. Nestled in a fishing village where the mountains meet the sea are the Puri Oka Beach Bungalows, located directly on the ocean we offer a different range of accommodation to suit all individual needs and budgets. Enjoy our restaurant and pool facilities. Our friendly staff will cater to all guests and arrange day trips to explore Bali also boat trips, snorkeling or scuba diving. We can pick up or drop off to airport or other destinations including Lombok or the ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Puri Oka Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Oka Beach Bungalows Bali/Candidasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing