We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the crowds”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Candidasa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karma Royal Candidasa
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Candidasa
Certificate of Excellence
ca
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

One week at this hotel left us very relaxed. The complex is on the ocean with lovely pool. Retaurant is good but pricey and we ate at the small restaurant outside of the complex. Also had massages down the road at $10 pp rather than the hotel $30 pp. Our 2 bedroom unit was really very comfortable, good ac and quiet. Only noise was some local motor bikes and the roosters.
Went snorkeling at Amed and do not recommend to go there as its dirty and the corals are all dead and few fish. Infront of Candidasa the snorkeling use to be fabulous but I have heard from various people its not worth going either.
Only complaint I would have about this resort is that its too far out of Candidasa center - 5 alms and one must take a taxi to get there as the walk into town is very hot and dangerous along the busy road.

Room Tip: choose rooms away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dedicatedtraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Candidasa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,
Thank you for your reviews on this tripadvisor.
We are sorry for the unpleasantness caused by the noise of the motorbike and roosters during your stay. It is difficult beeing in the middle of the local village where the noise of the animals and peoples are alwars there, however this is the real Balinese village, it is more traditional and nature life if you compare to the south part of the island. Some peoples like it as it has a real Bali feeling.

Anyway, once again thank you and hope that we all will see you again soon.

Very best regards
Sulinggih - Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    122
    39
    9
    5
See reviews for
86
157
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This ISLAND is so breath taking that it has literally floored me I am yet to come to terms with this beautiful BALI & its people (ever smiling people). The RBBC resort rooms are good, clean, well maintained. Very friendly staff. I would surely recommend it to my friends. Its ideal for HONEY MOON couples & people who would like to take off in solitude

Room Tip: Quite & Serene place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L V R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Candidasa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs LVR,
Thank you so much for your positive reviews about us and Bali.
We look forward to have you come again soon.

Kind Regards
Sulinggih - Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

When our driver turned into a tiny little lane somewhere in the middle of nowhere, I was a bit worried. We pulled into the entrance of the 'Royal' and were greeted by a wonderful group of people, a gratefully recieved welcome drink and the fastest check in ever!
I must advise that our pary consisted of 5. Myself and my husband, both in our 40's, our 7yr old son, our 17yr old intellectually/physically handicapped daughter, ad my Mother, 71.
We stayed in a 2 bedroom appartment, which had a basic kitchen, (microwave, fridge, toaster, coffee maker, sink, cutlery & dishes for 6, a non-refidgerated water cooler, and a few other bits & pieces) quite adequate. We had 2 bathrooms, and the lounge folded down into a double sized bed. It was lovely. Considering in was january, it also had 3 of the hardest working air-conditioners on the planet!! The tv was excellent, with pay tv channels, and a dvd player, perfect for watching the dvds you can buy for around $1.50 at the local markets! ;). In the room was an information leaflet, introducing us to some of the local wildlife we might encounter..The 'Tokay Gecko', heard but not seen! and the 'Thick-Tailed Shrew', seen & heard alot!! We had nightly visits from our shrew, that was simply delightful! Though it might freak you out if you don't like small furry creatures. The don't move fast, and have failry poor vision, so if you watch them they will usually find their way out!
The grounds were gorgeous! I took more photos of the trees, flowers and butterflies than of the family, and I'm not really into gardening.
Te restaurant was good. The breakfasts were simple and tasty, the lunches the same, and the dinners were terrific, though as we were there for 2 weeks, it felt a little repetitive.
The pool was outstanding! We spent alot of the time there when not out and about discovering the local area. It overlooked the ocean, had plenty of places to sit, a spa, and all the towels you need.
The K-spa was great, I had a few massages and enjoyed each one. While you can get much cheaper massages just outside in the laneway, (They were wonderful as well!) The K-spa offered other treatments as well.
The immediate surrounding area, (the laneway) had a few general stores where you can get eggs, bread, milk, your laundry done for a pittance, a variety of breakfast stuffs and snacks, as well as Bintang. There are also at least 3 places you could get a massage, and a few place where you can get kites, wooden objects, Ikat and Batik, as well as as least 2 places to eat. (They were rebuilding a restaurant while we were there).
Candidasa pronounced Chandidasa we found out, was just like how I remember Legian to be when I first went there in 1983. Very green, a few places to buy clothes and Souvenirs, a great Silver shop, 3 'supermarkets' and a lot of great places to eat at! People hasselling you for taxi service, and massages, street sellers selling sunglasses, wallets, watches etc, nostalgic! Temples, wedding decorations, local ceremonies including roadside cremations (I kid you not!).
They also had an english speaking doctor who was very professional. I must admit, it's been a long time since I have witnessed such a thorough examination! There is also a very good hospital near by.
We regularly used the serviced of Ketut and his brother, and found them simply wonderful. If you are going to stay at the Royal, contact the resort before you leave, and ask them to get Ketut to meet you at the airport. It would have been much easier & cheaper, if we had done this.
Well I guess that covers it! We had a good time, The only other thing I would add, is that at the time of our visit, we were the only family at the resort, which was sad, as our son is very social, and would have loved other kids to play with. When we were there, it was mainly older couples, and a few honeymooners, no other Australians, mainly Americans so very far from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tacaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Resorts_Bali, General Manager at Karma Royal Candidasa, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Cakaga,
We thank you very much for spending your valuable time to write such a long reviews in this forum. we are all the staff and the management here at Candidasa hoping you and your family stay well and in a good spirits. please do not forget to visit us at Candidasa whenever you plan your next trip to Bali.
We all love to see you and your son again very soon.

very best regards
Sulinggih
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great hotel with staff that go the extra mile to make your stay memorable.
Remembering our names a real personal touch.
Excellent restaurant with first class food, a couple of theme nights during the week.
Local restaurants up in Candidasa will pick you up for a meal and drop you back to the hotel.
Nyomans out on the road leading up to the hotel has great meals with ice cold drinks at budget prices.

Room Tip: Ocean and pool view room balcony a great place to sit, rest and have a quiet drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This would be my 7th stay here at the Royal Bali Beach Club at Candidasa and its just getting better and you can see that the grounds are always well kept, it is private and the people staying are of the older generation (over 40) and there was not a child on this occassion. The staff is very attentive and the Manager is always there with a smile and will help you with any question you have to ask. The Restuarant is great but yes the prices are bit high for Bali but you can be guaranteed that the dreaded "Bali Belly" wont get you. Tip DONT DRINK THE TAP WATER, for the amount of about $4.00Aus get 19 litres delivered to your room and into the dispenser this will last a week for coffee, brushing your teeth and for drinking straight as well.
The location is a little out of town of Candidasa which I have seen evolve into what Kuta was 30 years ago with more little shops, a few more street sellers who are not as pushy as their Kuta counterparts and more Restuarants, my favs are The Dining Room for a great Pizza Wood Fired and other food,Janger for Nasi Goreng and the best Mixed Fruit Juice and the Crazy Kangaroo for the Calimari or squid.
UNLESS YOU LITTLE DARLINGS CAN AMUSE THEMSELVES at this point of time Candidasa is not for the younger ones as after awhile a $50 van ride to waterbom park in Kuta will become rather expensive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stcsgt54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at the RBBC in August. Staff there were very friendly and attentive. Rooms were clean and beds were made and folded down twice a day. There was 6 of us staying in a two bed. The pool was very cold, we didn't use it very much and at peak times around the pool there weren't enough sun loungers. The sun disappears around 4:30pm so missed the late evening sun due to the position of the RBBC, which is a pity, The food from the restaurant is very nice although a tad expensive, the restaurants on the road outside are far cheaper. We weren't able to walk anywhere and taxi drivers are appointed to you for the whole stay - unfortunately our taxi driver had poor English and wasn't able to tell us anything about Bali while driving us around. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

It was our first time to Bali, and it won't be our last.

The resort is lovely and peaceful, its about 7 minutes from the Candidasa the nearest town.

The resort has an excellent restaurant, but its UK prices, when its very cheap to eat just out side of the hotel or in Candidasa.

The staff were quite simply brilliant, helpful and friendly.

The room itself was ideal with full kitchenette, spacious bedroom and clean.

There is beach next the resort which is good for a walk but not one to bathe on. There is a nice beach which is a short taxi ride away with white sand if you want.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PhatKat1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candidasa
1.1 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
782 reviews
18.6 mi away
Karma Mayura
Karma Mayura
#82 of 198 in Ubud
199 reviews
3.0 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Nirwana Resort and Spa
Nirwana Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#9 of 20 in Candidasa
123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#8 of 20 in Candidasa
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karma Royal Candidasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karma Royal Candidasa

Property: Karma Royal Candidasa
Address: Jl. Villa Kandara | Puri Buitan Manggis, Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Candidasa: Royal Bali Beach Club)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem > Candidasa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Candidasa
#4 Family Hotel in Candidasa
#5 Spa Hotel in Candidasa
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Resorts: Royal Bali Beach Club at Candidasa, located on Balina beach on the outskirts of Candidasa, is the perfect site for anyone seeking relaxation and peace in a stunning location. The ambiance is uniquely Balinese with traditional architecture and stone carvings of ancient Gods, which adorn the surroundings. A combination of beautifully furnished studio, one and two bedroom apartments surround lush gardens, the pool and outdoor Jacuzzi lead directly onto the beach. The international restaurant caters for all tastes and regular entertainment evenings are staged. There is a comprehensive excursion programme offered on-site giving guests a combination of relaxation and adventure. Diving, snorkeling and fishing are extremely popular activities here and the local fishermen land their daily catch of fresh seafood right on the beach in the same way that they’ve done it for hundreds of years. The verdant hills behind provide a variety of lovely walks and some optional hard climbs, whilst the town of Candidasa offers shopping and dining experiences for all. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Bali Beach Club At Candidasa Hotel Candidasa
Karma Royal Candidasa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing