We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delight”
other travelers have booked this property
Breathtaking sunsets painted almost every night.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breathtaking sunsets painted almost every night.
Nestled in a corner of Candidasa Bay, Rumah Imbang embodies the essence of harmony and balance. Dining bale overlooking the sea.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Breathtaking sunsets painted almost every night.
Nestled in a corner of Candidasa Bay, Rumah Imbang embodies the essence of harmony and balance.
Dining bale overlooking the sea.
Panoramic views to the scuba diving island off the point from the meditation bale
Main villa & bale
Flowering trees, palms & the sea abound
Lush garden greets you upon arrival
Living room, with satellite TV.
Kitchen is well equipped & available for all.
Purple sunset in the pool
Bed in Master suite.
Master outdoor shower.
Splashhhhhh
Garden twin beds
Pool is modest but sea just down the steps is grand.
Garden (left) and Seaview (right) overlook pool
Seaview suite (left) bedroom
Seaview suite (right) bedroom
Seaview suites shower
Seaview suite bathroom sink
Compound from trekking path
Our beach & neighbors
Sunsets always changing...
View of Candidasa from trekking path
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Candidasa, Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Ronnie H
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delight”
Reviewed October 11, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We’ve just returned from a 4-generation, 12-person family holiday based at Rumah Imbang. Most of the family had not been to Indonesia before and we wanted everyone to enjoy themselves – Rumah Imbang proved to be an ideal base.

We arrived quite late at night after a 2-hour drive from the airport, and it was immediately obvious that the rooms were comfortable and attractively furnished, but it was not until next morning that the beauty of the location revealed itself. The outlook was postcard perfect, right on the beach, looking across the bay, with fishing boats coming and going nearby, and larger ships and ferries further out adding interest. The gardens were full of flowering bougainvilleas and frangipanes, with coconut palms and lush green grass completing the perfect tropical setting. The big hit with the children was the pool – although small it was big enough and they were in it at least 3 times a day. Behind Rumah Imbang the land is thickly forested (jungled?) and slopes up steeply, and we were delighted one sunset to hear and see macaques playing in the trees above the compound. There were also exquisite butterflies in the garden and much birdsong. (I might also add that I saw the biggest gecko I have ever seen on the wall of the main building, but that may not be a positive for some guests – I thought it was excellent!)

As said previously the rooms were lovely – we were in the most humble (garden villa) and were very comfortable, right up to the master which was large and luxurious (we’ll grab that one next time!). The children had beds set up in the overflow room which still had aircon and an ensuite bathroom, and their parents had a lovely ocean villa room next door.

The open-air dining bale had great sea views and always had an ocean breeze cooling it (how do they arrange that?). The large lounge area was a great location for card games. As stated on the website, the sunsets are always gorgeous and worth sitting on the garden swing to admire.

Candidasa is definitely away from the hustle of the main tourist areas, but that doesn’t stop it from having dozens of warungs (simple eateries) and restaurants and other facilities. Rumah Imbang is at the end of the village so you’ll need to walk 15-20 min to get to town, but there are closer eateries along the local road. The first section of the walk is a short steep uphill but then it’s relatively flat. (But of course, it’s hot and humid, so if you don’t want to walk, there are cars/taxis to call, and some restaurants will pick you up/take you home, or deliver food). You don’t have to eat out – breakfast is included, and you can have lunch and dinner in-house too but you do need to order ahead - I think half a day’s notice was suggested, but we generally ordered a day ahead. The food was very tasty and generous.

The closest warung is Warung Boni (5 min walk) and it’s a gem, and extremely good value. eg nasi goreng is 25000 rupiah (AUD $2.50). We ate there a lot and the children rapidly became addicted to the crispy chicken and fried potatoes. Between us we also sampled Ganesh, Vincent’s, Aquaria, and The Dining Room. All were good, and Vincent’s was outstanding – go on Thursday night for jazz. Wacky Jacky provided the intriguing combination of great iced coffee, “Australian meat pies” (didn’t try!), and batik and quilting classes and embroidery supplies.

Apart from the location, the other great thing was the staff, including Kade, Ketut, Sri and Nganga. Nothing was too much trouble – between them cooking, cleaning, organising laundry, organising cars, boats and snorkelling excursions, organising a suckling pig feast for our last day, buying in our preferred drinks, and dealing with our numerous last-minute changes of plans, all went seamlessly and happily.

A couple of practicalities - you are in the middle of real village Indonesia here – be prepared for roosters at 2am, dogs barking, and cats fighting (earplugs dealt with these issues easily and they don’t go all night). Staff don’t live on site but we felt safe - despite the aforementioned animal noises it is a quiet place. Going on car excursions takes longer than you think, as the roads can be poor and the traffic crazy.

All in all highly recommended for a peaceful retreat, and base from which to explore east Bali.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 12, 2018
Rumah Imbang was filled to the hilt for Michael & Ronnie's large family gathering, and the staffed worked extra hard to make run smoothly --- which was clearly the case. The entourage is welcome back anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajiv U
1 review
“Dr”
Reviewed September 29, 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Excellent place for vacation. Lovely sea view. Very relaxing environment, friendly and very cordial caretaker staff.
Can go for boating.
Recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2018
It was a pleasure hosting Dr Rajiv!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisma V
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful villa with a seaview”
Reviewed July 9, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Very well-looked after property with direct access to the sea, lush garden and tastefully furnished interiors :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2018
Aisma's stay was short, squeezed in between Ubub & the Gilis, but was a pleasure hosting them. Most welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Bethel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely heaven on earth!”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This wonderful quiet get-away is an amazing place to relax and enjoy the sea breezes during the day. Sunrises and sunsets are sights that take your breath away. The ability to walk to town, be pampered by the knowledge and friendly staff are perfect reasons to book your stay here. Snorkeling and swimming are just steps from the private gate and it's fun to watch the local fisherman and families from the lounge chairs. The owner knows the area well and shared some of the local history and assisted with recommending dining, music and near by attractions to visit. Our stay was a memorable one!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 20, 2018
It was such a pleasure hosting Michele for the week. She quickly was able to kickback and soak up that Rumah Imbang calm vibe, & was aglow most all the time she was with us. To say she's more than welcome to return is a major understatement :).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inkepink7
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Intimate private wedding ”
Reviewed May 13, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We were privileged that we could have our wedding in Rumah Imbang.

The minute we visited the resort, we felt at home. Anya, Garry and the lovely staff gave us the feeling that we should have the wedding and the party at this place and they would worry and sort everything out.

From the make-up and hairdressing, the priest, the ceremony, the flowers, the party, etc….

Everything was done in a perfect way, they converted our wishes in a better way that we could ever do it.

A wonderful idyllic small resort in Candidasa on the beach with a breathtaking view with lovely people who really understand the words “hospitality” and “passion”.

Next time when we want to have a celebration or a nice relaxed weekend, we know where to go.

But maybe more than only visit this beautiful and relaxing spot, it will feel like visiting new good friends.
Ingrid & Bert

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 14, 2018
Bert & Ingrid were a inspirational romantic couple with an infectious sense of happiness that filled the air. It was a joy to host their intimate private affair here at Rumah Imbang. And we especially pleased with new friendship cemented in the process
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glenngold...
Candidasa, Indonesia
1 review
“Awesome experience on first trip to Bali”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This vacation rental was an amazing place. The beach view and location on the beach could not be beat. Our group was treated like royalty by the friendly staff and being able to order custom cooked breakfast any time in the morning was great for the late sleepers. At night the lounge chair sunset with our cocktails was wonderful. Going into town was very walkable for all the many restaurants and music choices. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
It was a pleasure hosting adventuresome Glenn for the week @ Rumah Imbang. His upbeat energy was infectious, not to mention his capacity to down Bintangs & cocktails. While hanging here much of the time leisurely shopping strolls thru town, trips to White Sands beach, massages by the sea, Tirtagangga water palace, Tanganan culture village & blue/jazz nites at You&Me/Vicent's packed their stay. Look forward to their return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wojciech...
1 review
“Great stay In Rumah Imbang”
Reviewed October 7, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Iis a beautiful and very relaxing Płace to stay In Bali with a wonderful, friendly, and attentive staff. We were very happy with the setting and peaceful ambience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 8, 2017
We total enjoyed hosting Patrica and her family & look forward to seeing them on their next visit to Bali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing