We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of swindlers” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cansaulim
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware of swindlers”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked a room at the Park Hyatt and when we checked out, the manager Ankur informed us that the rate had changed and we were going to be charged 70% more than we initially agreed upon. We argued for a while, but they wouldn't budge. Mind-bogglingly unfair. He said if we had a problem it would have to be sorted out later when the revenue manager was back. But in the meantime, they'd have to charge the "full" amount.

While the property is beautiful, we also had some issues with the rooms like non-functioning AC and some ants.

Disappointing because the property itself is really beautiful. But the staff was incompetent and downright swindled us.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arsachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Arsachs,

Greetings from Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa!

I am deeply disheartened to know you had an unpleasant experience during your stay at our resort. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you were put through. However, I understand my Revenue Manager got in touch with you as soon as possible and resolved the issue immediately. We do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to serve you.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more.

Kind regards,
Thomas Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,792
    785
    220
    95
    88
See reviews for
1,079
926
96
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Excellent location, exclusive beach access, tasteful decor, the Italian Restaurant Da Luigi as well as the Goan Casa Sarita are to die for.

The Spa is a bit overrated, nothing really exclusive about it, pricing is a tad high.

Overall amazing property with staff to match!

Will certainly stay over again.....

Room Tip: Better to book directly with their own booking office, since they offer value adds. Rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REN1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear REN1402,

Greetings from Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa!

Thank you for staying with us! I am delighted to know you enjoyed your stay at our resort. Thank you for your encouraging comments about Da Luigi, our Italian restaurant and Casa Sarita, our signature Goan restaurant. I am saddened to know you believe our award-wining Sereno Spa is not exclusive and is overrated, was there anything in particular that you would like to bring to my attention? Your feedback would go a long way in improving the spa experience that we offer our guests. I am delighted to read your kind comments about my colleagues and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more.

Kind regards,
Thomas Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Rooms are nice and well maintained the ambience off the hotel is also very good the best part is the beach which is very clean and not crowded. there is a shack close by which has very good food. the bar is nice in the evenings

Room Tip: try and get pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Dmittle,

Greetings from Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa!

Thank you for your wonderful feedback about our resort! I am particularly pleased to read your positive comments about our rooms and the pristine Arossim beach. We do hope you visit again and give us another opportunity to delight you.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more.

Kind regards,
Thomas Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We booked the Park Hyatt for the last two days of our two week trip in India.

A lovely hotel, set in a beautiful location, with fantastic grounds, and lovely friendly staff.

Our room was outstanding, with a spacious bathroom and lovely facilities and a gorgeous terrace looking over the grounds - I would definitely recommend choosing a sea view room.

The pool was gorgeous - huge - with two water slides (they were small, and slow, but a nice relaxing touch). Plenty of sun loungers around the pool and in the grounds.

We were there early season so the beach wasn't open (you could still sit on it, but no sun loungers and the restaurant wasn't open), but it was still beautiful, and lovely to walk along in the evening.

The spa was amazing too, and very reasonable for all treatments. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly, and were really keen to ensure that you enjoyed the full experience.

Restaurants were all fantastic, especially the Goan restaurant which I can't recommend highly enough. We also had breakfast included in our rate which was lovely, and the choice was incredible.

The only downside was that as it was early season, the hotel was still working on it's monsoon maintenance (completely understandable and obviously necessary). This wasn't too disruptive apart from in the spa where, during treatments, there was a bit of banging, which didn't aid relaxation too much! But the hotel manager was very apologetic when we mentioned this, and quite frankly, these things do have to be done at times. It really didn't ruin our stay at all!

The other point to note is that the hotel is very isolated, so really is the type of place you escape to if you want total relaxation, and are not too concerned about seeing the local area. You can get a taxis out of the hotel, but it is quite remote.

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie_lou2284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas A, General Manager at Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Katie_lou2284,

Greetings from Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa!

Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your stay with us. At the onset, I once again regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the routine monsoon maintenance work that was being undertaken. Thank you for your understanding. On a positive note I am delighted to read your great comments about our resort, especially our award- wining Sereno Spa and Goan restaurant Casa Sarita. It was unfortunate that since you were here during the monsoon months, the beach beds were not out yet. We do hope you visit again soon and give us another opportunity to delight you.

Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more.

Kind regards,
Thomas Abraham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Park Hyatt at Goa is truly heaven on earth.

Lush green meadows , rooms in lovely Portugese Villas, a huge pool, a great activity Centre for kids – Camp Hyatt , 5 great restaurants (Including one on the beach) and a lovely beach which is as good as private. a lovely gym and a great Spa. (What else can you ask for !)

The Park Hyatt has 205 rooms , 12 suites and is spread across 100 + acres and extends to the beach. ( Room rates vary from 12,500 to 35,000 / night) . The sand at the beach is soft and fine like talcum powder and the water really warm & nice.

Right on the beach you have water sports run by private agencies. These are not cheap – a 10 min Para Sailing or Jet Skiing can cost Rs 1000/- , and a trip in the morning to watch dolphins can put you back by Rs 3000/- (But you do see dolphins – we saw 5 of them playing around with our boat)

There are some lovely restaurants in the Hyattl – Indian , Italian , Multi cuisine , Sea Food etc – all of which have a common open area where every evening there is some entertainment happening. The Palms restaurant is located right on the beach. Food is decently priced and dinner for a family can cost up-to Rs 3K (Liquor not included). The Child Menu has a lot of options. The breakfast buffet is extensive – so do ensure that your room rate includes breakfast.

Service is excellent.

Strongly recommend a 3 night 4 day package to enjoy the Resort and Goa.
For more details pictures etc visit

http://vak1969.com/2012/11/16/goa-the-park-hyatt-lush-green-luxury/

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vak1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at the Park Hyatt for 6 days in the first week of November having spent two weeks travelling through India and Nepal. We booked the Hyatt with high expectations that it would deliver an exceptional experience.

There are many things that this hotel does extremely well....the rooms are first class, as is the food, particularly the Indian food at the Masala. The staff are always very attentive and very friendly, although rarely had the courtesy/training to address us by name. The gardens are stunning and well worth exploring as they are full of beautiful flowers and wildlife. Access to the beach is very easy although we had mixed views as to the quality. The sand is amazingly soft and White and the beach stretches for miles and was always quiet. However the water was never clear and very poor in comparison to the carIbbean. Also while we were there, there was a permanent haze detracting from the views.

It is important to recognise that the hotel is in splendid isolation...great if it is what you are looking for, but if you like to wander and try the local villages / shops you are a captive audience and reliant on the hotel.

Our biggest disappointment was the state of the pool. It was undergoing constant maintenance work during our stay which left the water filthy. The lack of an explanation or apology from the hotel management only added to our disappointment.

Room Tip: Avoid a north facing room, as the balcony's become obsolete...dark and dingy with no sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We last visited 4 years ago and had a truly lovely time, so we returned for October half term (UK) thinking that not much would have changed.

We were right, not much has changed, the rooms are lovely, the staff nice enough, the pool still fabulous and the beach clean and the sand like icing sugar.

What has changed was that the hotel clientele has shifted from corporate/conference types to bucket and spade holidaymakers. Can't complain really, that's what we are. But instead of being able to potter down to breakfast, back to the room to change then down to the pool to read a book on a sun lounger....forget it!

Every single sun lounger was reserved with the obligatory hotel towel by 0900 each day; we couldn't even get one on the lawn, never mind four. Now this would be ok if those reserving the beds actually used them, but they didn't. We spoke to the towel staff who said they were sorry and I spoke to a manager who said he'd have a word with his amenities staff. Not sure what word he had as there was no change whatsoever during our stay....on the day we left at dawn, much to my amusement there were some Russian speakers bagging their beds by the pool, so I'm glad I didn't try getting up early to join in the fun, dawn is just ridiculous!

The net result was that with nowhere to sit, on day 1 we ventured down to the beach, where we recalled nice times on hotel sun loungers on the sand from 4 years ago, which also feature on the hotel website. There were none.

Now having too few beds for guests by the pool is one thing, but showing beautiful beach pictures on one's website featuring beds on the beach that don't exist is quite another. Anyway, we laid on the sand for a while - not really the 5* resort experience - then ventured over to Aaron's Beach Shack which had around 10 beds outside. We were told that they are free to use if we ate lunch there. A large Kingfisher is Rs100 (Rs480 in the hotel) and food was quite ok.

I can't quite understand the hotel management's logic in effectively driving their customers out to the beach shacks, but that's what happened for our stay, so I can't really review the rest of the hotel's facilities as apart from a potter round the shops and a couple of beers from the bar, we didn't use the facilities of the hotel because there was nowhere to veg out in the hotel complex. Although the very nice toilets adjacent to the beach are worth a mentio...they are either side of the beach access where a hotel guard is posted.

There are 3 beach shacks: we were the first customers of the anonymous one (turn left out of the hotel) that 4 years ago was the Venus Beach Shack. The staff didn't know what it was called but told us that some of them work for free - selling clothes and jewellery when the police aren't looking to earn ££ - and that one big boss owns several of them, so they aren't all competing with each other in a commercial sense. This anonymous shack didn't have a menu but a Diet Coke was Rs50 here compared to Rs60 most of the time at the others.

Turn right out of the hotel onto the beach and you find Aaron's Beach Shack. No complaints about this one, many of the Russian/Ukrainian/Kazakh types seemed to get very animated over their bills at time but we must have had 10 meals there and only had a problem once where an extra Rs1000 found its way onto the bill, but I think it was a genuine mistake.

There is another shack beyond Aaron's which had the Venus Beach Shack sign ready to be put up but it was still in the final stages of construction when we left on 4-Nov.

The food in the shacks takes a while to arrive but we assumed that this meant it was being freshly cooked and for your average Brit tourist family it was fine, the pasta, naans and curry were really nice. Having eaten shack food for several days, if you're wondering about health, I should say that none of the 4 of us had any tummy troubles at all as a result.

If we'd been able to sit by the pool we'd have eaten and drunk in the hotel, we were expecting to pay resort prices, so the fact that we ate for 5 days for the price of 1 in the hotel is a spinoff bonus for us, but I just cannot see Hyatt's business sense. The problems of sun lounger reservation exists all over the world and it's dealt with in a variety of ways normally (policing, clearing up unused towels, charging) ot simply providing supply to match demand. Even a lounger on the grass was good enough for us and it would have kept us on site.

It is a beautiful resort so I'll rate it as average as others won't be there on a family holiday. If you are on a family holiday and don't fancy the stress of lounger grabbing, this may not be the place for you unless you are happy to do what we ended up doing and eating/drinking in the beach shacks. If happy to do this and save significant ££, then you'll have a great time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Spongthrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cansaulim
6.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,792 reviews
12.2 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
12.5 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
9.1 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
15.9 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa

Property: Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa
Address: Arossim Beach | South Goa, Cansaulim 403712, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > Cansaulim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cansaulim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa is an award-winning hotel nestled along the pristine Arossim Beach and 15 minutes from Dabolim Airport. Set within 45 acres of landscaped gardens with glimmering waterways and lagoons, the resort combines elegance with distinctive regional character, perfectly reflecting the vivacious heritage of Goa. With its dramatic architecture, Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa was conceptualised as a charming Indo-Portuguese village housing 250 Pousada-style guestrooms and suites, each offering a surreal spa-inspired bathing experience. Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa showcases a selection of exquisite restaurants and superlative culinary experiences, including a signature fine-dining Goan restaurant, Casa Sarita, the award-winning Sereno Spa, one of the largest swimming pools in India, picturesque function spaces and a Camp Hyatt for younger guests. Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa creates the romance and aura of a luxury boutique hotel while having the amenities and vibrant attractions of a resort. True to the Park Hyatt brand, the resort epitomises understated luxury and gracious service in an intimate sanctuary, offering guests an experience that is distinctively inspiring.Recent accolades include: 2016 World Luxury Spa Awards - Best Destination Spa (#1), asiaSpa India Awards 2015 - Cashew Ritual - Most Luxurious Spa Treatment (#1), Conde Nast Traveller India Readers' Travel Awards 2015 - Favourite Destination Spa (Runner-up), Conde Nast Traveller India Readers' Travel Awards 2015 - Favourite Indian Leisure Hotel (Runner-up), asiaSpa India Awards 2014 - Most Luxurious Spa (Resort), Conde Nast Traveller India Readers' Travel Awards 2014- Favourite Leisure Hotel in India (#1), Conde Nast Traveller India Readers' Travel Awards 2013 - Favourite Destination Spa (#1, 2012 Favourite Leisure Hotel in India (#1) - Conde Nast Traveller India Readers' Travel Awards 2012 Favourite Destination Spa (#2) - Conde Nast Traveller India Readers' Travel Awards 2012 Asia's Leading Resort (#1) - World Travel Awards 2011 Best Resort Spa (#1) - asiaSpa India Awards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Goa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Goa Hotel Cansaulim
Hyatt Cansaulim
Cansaulim Hyatt
Park Hyatt Goa Resort And Spa India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing