We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resorte Marinha Dourada
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Coventry, West Midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back here!”
Reviewed December 11, 2006

What a wonderful place this is!!
We stayed at Marinha Dourada for the first time, but will definatly be returning. It's worth at least 2 more stars by its name, as the rooms, gardens, pools and grounds are fabulous.
Our room was spotless and made up daily by very polite and friendly staff, the bedding and towels are changed each 2 days, and mini bar is restocked for you daily.
Showers had very hot water most of the time, and power failures, although frequent, only usually lasted a few mins. (Candle and matches provided in rooms for when these happen).
We stayed in the annexe, and our room overlooked the lake, and jungle beyond - Beautiful!
Both pools good sized, with showers beside and plenty of sunbeds, with free towels from the health club/spa.
Restaurant, Bar and Reception staff were delightful, and helped at every oppurtuity.
Taxis available 24/7 from gate, dedicated firm, cheap and reliable.
We took a taxi to the beach each day for 100 rupees (just over £1), as we were too chilled out and lazy to be doing walking!
Hotel situated in fab country side with loads of local wildlife to see. We saw an elephant being walked through the busy streets every day, and Cows have free roaming rights, and are curious and beautiful, though they do slow the traffic sometimes.
On Saturday nights, 2 markets compete for business within 10 min walk of thehotel, we went to Mackies market, opp MoJo pub, and found everything to be exceptioally good value for money - just like everything else in this wonderful country.
Food was amazing, and we had 2courses each, with beers, voddies, and waters for approx 8 to 10 quid between us.
Sea food is everywhere, and is as cheap as chips, and as fresh as you like.
Local restaurants we would recommend are All Spice, and AlFresco, both in Arpora, and East Meets West, and Over The Flames, both in Baga, near Titos Road.
Best shack on Baga Beach is Marine Beach Shack - food amazing, staff wonderful, can't recommend them enough!
Hope this has helped you when choosing your hols.
Where ever you end up, have a Brilliant Time!!

  • Liked — The Staff, and the cleanliness of everything
  • Disliked — Breakfast - weak coffee and eggs with everything!!
  • Tips/Secrets — Buy your mozzie cream out there, chemist sells Odomos cream for about 22pence, and its brilliant
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
19 Thank vindaveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    283
    109
    51
    31
See reviews for
170
373
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wales, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2006

Having been to Goa for the last 7 years on holiday, this hotel is without a doubt the best standard 3 star i have stayed in.

The rooms were spacious with good facilities including Air conditioning at no extra cost. The bathrooms were modern and very European. Lovely thick soft towels, clean sheets every other day, fridge which was stocked with a variety of drinks from the hotel bar and not over priced at all.

The breakfast was very good for Goan standards with a variety of different egg dishes free every day.

Although i did not eat at the hotels restaurants the menu was neither overpriced and there was something for everyone.

This hotel has won the Thomsons Golda star award for best faraway hotel for the past 5 years - I think that sums the quality of this hotel up.

  • Liked — Excellent quiet Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank coco-lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

From Heather and Graham.
We have been going to the Marinha since 1996 , then it had only been opened a few months , and since that first visit we have been 9 times , the 10th visit will be in Nov.2006 when we go for a month to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary, we had our 25th there on our first visit.
Yes the hotel has changed over the years , about 3 times as many rooms as when we first went , of course lots of new guests but the staff are still fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them ,they are very proud of their work and hotel and they do the work because they want to and not just for a tip,and if you decide to tip them then you would think that you have given them the earth.
Obviously with all the extra guests there are the usual problems of inconsiderate/ selfish guests putting their towels on the sunbeds at about 6.30 am and never using the beds all day ,result other people can't enjoy the beds.
The taxi drivers at the hotel are very helpful and most of them are very safe drivers but obviously you do get the odd "mad" one.
The hotel is in a very peaceful and quiet place , very little noise apart from the breadman ringing his bell at about 6.00am and the occasional squeak from the ox cart as he drives past.
It is an ideal setting for the holiday maker who wants a quiet holiday , there is a little night life within the hotel and plenty of attractions nearby , although the staff are very children friendly like most parts of Goa there is very little for young children to do apart from swimming and spending the day on the beach.A note of warning be careful of the sea on Baga Beach as it can be very strong .
The food in the hotel is excellent and there are plenty of places to eat and drink , the Saturday market is right next to the hotel,plenty of bargains to be had , lovely food and good music , but be prepared to "haggle".
All in all , the hotel is excellent , the staff are fantastic, the rooms are basic but very clean and although the beds are hard you do get a good nights sleep.

Do we recommend a holiday at this hotel

YES.

  • Liked — Very clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Tips/Secrets — Unless you drink a great deal and never go out of the hotel DON'T go all inclusive , get out and explore and try the local beach shacks and restaurants and see the beautiful country side and see the local people and more important talk to them , they are so friendly and it's not a false attitude from them.
  • Stayed November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
22 Thank Tyke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2006

The hotel was great, however upon arrival at the airport we were informed that the hotel was "overbooked" and we were moved to Silla Goa in Calangute "chav-n-gute" as we called it).

We had to stay in a vastly inferior hotel for the 1st week (ground floor room, by entrance to kitchen = food poisoning and cocroaches aplenty", and our operator were very disinterested.

WARNING, make sure that you dont book and then get moved to inferior property.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Eleanor98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2006

Okay well first of all the hotel is huge! It has a beautiful view and is located in a perfect spot if you are visiting North Goa. It's right between Baga and Calangute ... the two most happening beaches in North Goa. It's close enough to the party scene but yet far enough to chill out and relax. It's very affordable also. I wouldn't go for the breakfast included plan though. The breakfast is pretty basic. The service is very good. Whatever you need whenever you need it!

A few mental notes ...
1) please keep your valuables in a safe deposit box ... never can be too safe.
2) bring your own press / iron ... unless your willing to pay for the pressing / ironing services which you have to ask for a day in advance.
3) be prepared for power shortages ... they don't last that long but still bring a flashlight / torch.

Well that's about it ... check out the pics for a vivid picture of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank mycaress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

Absolutely fantastic hotel and the staff are 110%, this is the second time we stayed. Would we go again – most certainly YES
We planned the first visit one year prior, but this time got well and truly stitched up by Travelpack and we had to find a hotel a short notice i.e. we walked out of or chosen hotel on arrival.
The staff at Marinha Dourada not only recognised us from the previous year, but also were able to accommodate us despite it being peak season.
As we got married in Goa on this occasion you can appreciate that this visit was special to us.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank SLAHNorthWestUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
0.2 mi away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 15 in Arpora
1,583 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#6 of 15 in Arpora
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Sunila Suites
La Sunila Suites
#2 of 15 in Arpora
203 reviews
21.7 mi away
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
Jasminn by Mango Hotels
#2 of 5 in Betalbatim
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
Casa De Goa Boutique Resort
#2 of 110 in Calangute
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorte Marinha Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorte Marinha Dourada

Property: Resorte Marinha Dourada
Address: Tambudki | Anjuna Beach, Arpora 403518, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Resorte Marinha Dourada 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorte Marinha Dourada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte Marinha Dourada Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Resort Arpora
Marinha Dourada Hotel
Resorte Marinha Dourada Hotel Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing