We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resorte Marinha Dourada
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Arpora
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Returned from Marinha Dourada today ,had 2 weeks of sunshine,best sleep ever the beds are so comfy,our 2nd visit there and looking to book again for xmas & new year 2010.....

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Posiloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (781)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 781 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2010

Having read all the other reports i wonder if there are 2 marinhas dourada hotels in apora!

This is my experiance one which (luckily) has not been experianced by may others.

Overall you could stay here and have a lovely time . As long as you had no problems and didn't eat at the hotel. oh and was in the block closest to the small pools.. We Stayed 2 weeks here and had a few problems that were addressed in a lazy , slow rude manor. Upon arrival it became apparent that many repeat visitors were recognised (which is nice) and welcomed , as were we. The repeaters were whisked of into the early blocks close to the mini pool or the 1st block as you turn the corner towards the larger pools (as were we later ) . We however were taken to the furthest block .which did not seem a problem , we are young enough .. we can walk . Upon arrival to our room after the obligatory uncomfortable long pause from the bell boys we noticed that the room was rather dark. A strange cheap plastic drape hung on the wall with a picture of a flower on it. At this point , if you see it , turn on your heals and get the bell boys to take you back to the reception. The reason for the darkness is that the window has been bricked up so you cannot see the building work being carried out in the shadow of the hotel. It is that close. 30 meters behind (if you look out the bathroom slat window) you will see the grand entrance to the new build hotel. This grand entrance is where most of the banging and crashing starts at 8am. Angle grinding and furniture assembly that echoed around the block and straight up through the slatted non closeable bathroom window. Due to the fact that none of the doors in the rooms fit well (bad for noise and mozzys) we put a towel by the bottom of the door and hoped for the best. Alas wishfull thinking. Bright and early the next day awoken to the sound of angle grinding. We asked to be moved and about 5 hours later we where. This was taking up our day ,now hanging around. We went for breakfast. This is truely shocking. If you actully had to pay cash their and then , well you wouldn't. It would have gone out of business years ago. Lunch itself ( that you do pay for) is better but still poor. However poor management customer relations made it our only visit. My wife who drinks coke noticed that it tasted of tin. Upon checking the can we noticed it was out of date. We called the waiter over and asked for it to be changed and pointed out the date. Instead of replacing it he chose to embarrassingly loudly call over another waiter with a glass announcing to the whole restaurant what was happening , tasted the coke and said ther was nothing wrong with it and we would have to pay for it. Fumingly i called the managment over and he took one look at the date a replaced it.
Getting back to the room situation. We were called after lunch to move room.This was a lot better. room 104. Far away from where we were first put. A vast improvement. We had a great view and stayed here for the rest of the holiday. Sorry to keep moaning on but another downfall is that there are no mosquito nets ,and once again the balcony doors did not fit properly with large gaps under the door. This we covered with towels alas a day too late , having been munched by mozzys during the night. Also a few days later the hot water did not work. We phoned it through to evening reception who said they would come out straight away. Later that night , not sorted so called reception again they said they would sort it 1st thing in the morning, they forgot to tell daytime reception. Another call Excusee after excusse followed till eventualy when the maintainance man turned up he said he had only just been told. 48 hous later .. ok we had a cold shower .. not the end of the world but it just shows the lack of attention and sloppy way this hotel is run.
all in all not a great stay.
I have travelled to many poorer countries and understand 3rd world living. But that means not ripping out a 1970s bathroom because the colour is out of fashion. It is still functional so use it. It does not mean employ somone who cannot fit doors properly and say "ah well we are a poor country" Nope don't subscribe to that .Poorness does not equate to lazyness.
Rant over.
Hope you have a much better time than us.
As mentioned if you do not eat here or are in the right block or have any problems then you should have a great holiday. As shown many people return here. This i think leads to a double standard .As mentioned by the weak manager "should we return we will be put in the early numbers!" .

PLUS POINTS.
Clean , quiet , spacious , friendly staff (mostly) , well tended to gardens , picturesque surroundings. mopeds available outside at £2 a day. well worth having gave us freedom to travel to beautiful beaches with only a handful of people on.
LOVED GOA, would go back but definitely not here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLEMOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

Well after a would we /wouldnt we go,due to back problems,we went 21st jan for 2 weeks,and as usual it was so lovely.We had a good flight from east midlands with no delay,and got to dambolins chaos,which is all part of the fun,to have a 100mile an hour taxi trip to the calangute/arpora junction to which the driver said im lost! Good job this was our 5th time and had to give him directions from there.
On arrival at the hotel,we were greeted by the lovely smiling faces of the hotels security guard and staff,they make our holiday,and love you to talk to them and have a laugh.
Edwin the manager came and greeted us and said the room we had requested was ready,overlooking the lake in the annex building,and as soon as you walk around the grounds which are so pretty and well kept you can feel any tension leave you.
We had a shower and went to a Nicks Place,which is right of the hotels gate,they do lovely indian and english food and also the wine isnt too bad,if you fancy a glass/bottle.
We were told that there was a new restaraunt opened left of the hotel gate called Raza,which was so lovely,clean surroundings great staff,amazing food with great variety,and clean loos too,what more can you ask for!
Baga beach was the same crazy place as usual, cake,fruit,jewellers etc,we tended to stay at the ocieanic shack,the lads really look after you.
The weather was great, lovely and hot rangeing from 90 to 100 degrees,i can honestly say everything was great.Even the normally rude russians seemed to of taken happy pills.
Im sorry if you think this is a boring review,but for us it was a miricle we got there and not have any problems with my back,it was a total chill out break,with good weather,great hotel ,amazing food and mostly the people,the goans are just so friendly,with the most wonderfull smiles.
For those that want a 2/3 star hotel which is cleaned daily,has a fridge and air con and large room,with stunning viewsof a 5 star standard the marinha dourada is for you.And i will say there is so much you can do and see,and lovely quiet beaches at ashwam/mandrem if you get fed up with baga.
The only thing that i would say,considering we have to pay for a visa to get into the country and they have all of our details,it still shocks me that the airport staff when you get there and especially when you return home must think you turn into the taliban in ten steps,as they check and re check your passports so many times it is so silly.but thats my only moan.
Hope you all have as good a time as we did

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoolouzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

great hotel. big rooms. great location. very quiet and peacefull.good service. huge garden. two swimingpools. rooms are very nice. i got little bit disappointed from the spa and from the breakfast that dont chance allmost everyday same food. but it worth the money. and very much romantic and good for fishing

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nayya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We found this hotel to be a peaceful haven after the hustle and bustle of the area.
We liked the well kept grounds and friendly staff.The tailor will make you 6 made to measure shirts for £50. Excellent value.
The rooms are spacious,clean but dated.
We didnt like the breakfast area or the pool areas. The usual Benidorm style reserving of sun beds . Not for us Im afraid.The bathrooms were functional but not pleasant.
It was a good base to explore the northern beaches from ,although we spent alot of time and quite alot of money on taxis.
We always felt safe in the hotel and felt it was a good choice for a first trip to Goa.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itcyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We went to Marinha Dourada for 10 nights over the New Year 2009/10 after touring North India for 5 days (Golden Triangle).
On first impression this is a hotel with lovely grounds with 2 very large lakes which you can see from your room.

All the staff are friendly and despite reading reviews about items being stolen from your room, we personally didn't have anything go missing. We did however use our suitcase to store any valuables as we weren't going to go through the long drawn out process of going to reception, signing a card and then being escorted to your tiny safety deposit box where it will be opened for you.

When we arrived at our room we were very disappointed in the quality and standard of the room. Considering the hotel was built in 1986, the rooms are like 1970. We have had far superior rooms in India for half the price I'm afraid.

Whenever you are in your room, day or night, all you can hear is your noisey neighbours and doors being slammed. Unless we were very unlucky but there are 6 appts to each block and we could hear noise coming from every direction.

There are a variety of ages who stay at this hotel with the majority of them being over 55, whom I must say are probably the noisiest. They fall in singing at 2am in the morning and then decide to put the TV on.....Complete nightmare.!!!!

The breakfast is pretty basic and you are seated in a large dilapidated tennis court with all the tables laid out regimental style. We gave it a miss after the first day and went to the beach for our breakfast.

The restaurant isn't wonderful and the main bar is very cafe style. The best bar was probably the Baracuda Bar which is setup on a grass area and reasonably quiet.

The swimming pools are always full with kids and there isn't much room to find a sunbed, so once again we went to the beach most of the time.

Don't get me wrong, we love partying and went to the beach disco shacks most nights but we also like our quiet comforts, but the Marinha Dourada just doesn't have anything to make you want to stay let alone come back, its just boring and a waste of money. It does look beautiful of a nightime when all the fairy lights are on and when there is wedding being held, although the singer is usually very noisey and doesn't shut up until after 12.30am.

Personally if we go back to Goa we will find cheaper accomodation further down in Calangute or Candolim which will probably have a similar room standard which is all you need in Goa. The best views you need are all along the beaches so you don't really needs lake views at costly prices.

Not mush else to say other than 'don't bother'..........

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holiday-Boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We booked through expedia.com for 5 rooms. Just spent 5 nights at the hotel. On first impressions this is a good hotel. Room was the international standards. Breakfast at Coffee shop was served by smiling and professional staff. It was truly a 3 star experience in all the respect

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie_Joe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.2 mi away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 19 in Arpora
1,750 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
1.9 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 18 in Anjuna
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Sunila Suites
La Sunila Suites
#2 of 19 in Arpora
232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resort Lagoa Azul
Resort Lagoa Azul
#5 of 19 in Arpora
373 reviews
8.6 mi away
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
Sandalwood Hotel & Retreat
#2 of 11 in Dona Paula
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorte Marinha Dourada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorte Marinha Dourada

Address: Tambudki | Anjuna Beach, Arpora 403518, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#4 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
Price Range: $53 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Resorte Marinha Dourada 3*
Number of rooms: 206
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Resorte Marinha Dourada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resorte Marinha Dourada Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Resort Arpora
Marinha Dourada Hotel
Resorte Marinha Dourada Hotel Arpora
Resorte Marinha Dourada Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing