We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3* facilities...NOT VALUE FOR MONEY !”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rio Residency

Rio Residency
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rio Residency
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Arpora
Udaipur, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3* facilities...NOT VALUE FOR MONEY !”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed there for 4D & 5N. Overall not satisfied with the hospitality. We were 3 couples so booked a 3 room Villa but the 3rd room was too small . When contacted the Manager , he upgraded to 4 room Villa @ a cost of 5000/- per couple . We felt cheated but had no option. In the 4 room Villa they made the 4th room where there was a kitchen in 3 room Villa. Over all the room were not upto the mark. The geyser was not working , the safe was not working they had to change couple of times. The Kids recreational room was pathetic. They announced for Housie , Rain Dance , nothing took place . As it was raining during our visit so we stayed at the hotel but there was no activity going on there . The pool side bar where they were serving complimentary drinks shut down the lights , music by 10 pm even though we were sitting there.

Overall , not a pleasant experience . OK for company meetings but for families going Goa would recommend to stay in a Hotel having a private Beach . One such hotel is Cida De Goa having private beach , Disc & casino.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kavish_Karanpuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Rio Residency, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is with utter disdain to have read your review and without any hesitation to term it as false. A special discounted rate had been conveniently offered beyond our base price for the 3 Bed Villa but it did not meet your room configuration preference. In order to meet your expectation you were upgraded to a 4 Bed Villa at an extra cost of Rs 5000/- per night and not per couple as stated.

Technical issues do arise but we do have an experienced technical team to attend to these concern. At times all the fixtures and gadgets work fine but due to pure ignorance they are reported as defective.

In terms of events, certain criteria have to be met in terms of guest interest, weather permitting, sufficient participation from guests etc... in order to conduct them hence the conditions apply remark against the inclusions.

Unfortunately all operational outlets have opening and closing times that is a must as per international hotel norms for effective service operating procedures.

It is with regret that your stay did not meet your expectations in terms of not having a private beach, disc and casino but we commensurate the same with our evergreen lake and river view, close proximity to the famous Baga beach, major attractions… that is convenient to majority of our guests.

We are truly disappointed that you were not satisfied with the hospitality despite our best efforts but rest assured we pride ourselves in providing the time of your life.

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just back after an excellent stay at Rio Residency. We were two families and hired the four bedroom with plunge pool villa I must say were absolutely superb. The room on the ground floor is bigger than a suite with superb lounge opening into a verandah leading to the plunge pool. The three bedroom upstairs were also tastefully done. We were able to use all the facilities of Resort Rio which included all the activities. We were lucky to enjoy the rain dance on Sunday by the pool. Thank you Priyanka and Nirmal for looking after our kids. Thank you also to Jose, Armando and Deston for the fantastic cocktails which were included in the plan. We will definitely be back. Loved it !

Room Tip: If you are a family, then hire the villas. They are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garamchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Rio Residency, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Rio Residency and for posting your comments of your experience and your excellent stay in our 4 Bedroom Luxurious Villa!

We are pleased to hear thatyou and your families had a wonderful time and that our dedicated team members took special care of you and your kids during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you in our midst again soon for another memorable stay !!

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza - Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

We had gone for a friend's wedding... And it was just disheartening to see how everyone was treated... Not just the guests, but these guys made it their mission to harass even the bride and the groom!! Three hours before the aspicious time of the hindu wedding, the management decided to shut service and locked the wedding venue simply in retaliation to a few fun loving friends partying the night before( I mean hey! if you don't want ppl playing music in their private villas you really shdnt be running a hotel) .... These guys had the nerve to stop serving water throughout their property and even refused to lend an iron to the groom!!!!
Exorbitantly priced food(which is at best mediocre), rude receptionists, leaking bathroom fittings, and service is something they are not even familiar with.....
So much more I cld write...But in this case the less said the better...
If you're looking for the "time of your lives" ... Run as far away as you can from Resort Rio.....!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajvee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Rio Residency, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Let me state some accurate facts first and tell you why the hotel took the steps it did. Some of the wedding guests were so inebriated that they threw an ice cream cart and cycle into the swimming pool causing breakage of swimming pool tiles. Two of the guests were caught with their pants down and peeing into the pool. The few fun loving friends that you refer to were causing a racket in a private villa belonging to someone else. Some of the wedding guests were caught smoking in the conference room and when told to stop they stubbed the cigarettes out on the carpet causing burn marks to the carpets. Now, I am sure you wouldn’t allow this kind of behaviour in your own home. If you do, let me know and we will have a party there. And I am surprised you complain about exorbitantly priced food bearing in mind that your hosts were kind enough to agree an all inclusive option for all their guests and so there was no need to purchase any food ! In fact the hosts from the grooms side were so embarrassed with the behaviour of some of the guests that they wished the police had been called. Please contact Mr Tiwari if you don’t believe me. Now, party in jail would have been fun.

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arpora hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed last Month In rioresidency.rooms are really cozy as describe.they have separated rio residency from rioresort but the Resort is awesome.staff is courtious and helpfull specially front desk.they have A huge pool with attached bar.baga And Calangute Is Just 10 minutes From Resort.its a Family Resort With A Wonderful Staff.we Will Definatly Come Back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlstond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedict D, Director of Sales at Rio Residency, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have had a good experience to share on trip advisor of your fantastic stay at Rio Residency !!

It is truly a proud moment for us to receive such appreciation and we look forward to your return.

Warm regards,

Benedict D`souza -Director Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.0 mi away
Resort Rio
Resort Rio
#1 of 14 in Arpora
1,552 reviews
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
0.0 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#10 of 64 in Candolim
946 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
870 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Residency

Property: Rio Residency
Address: Tambudki, Arpora 403518, India
Location: India > Goa > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
#5 Spa Hotel in Arpora
Hotel Class:5 star — Rio Residency 5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique resort in North Goa in the same grounds as and with access to all the facilities and hospitality of its sister resort, the 5* Deluxe Resort Rio. With best of both worlds, Rio Residency combines a beautiful peaceful setting on the banks of River Baga with the famous salt pans of Goa beyond but with all the comforts and pleasure of refined hospitality of its 5* Deluxe adjoining resort. In North Goa, close to the famous Baga Beach.The accommodation comprises from great value cozy rooms to one bedroom apartments to luxurious 4 bedroom villas with private plunge pools. A true home away from home. Guests have the use of the swimming pools, restaurants, spa and all other facilities of the incredible 5* Deluxe Resort Rio, less than 2 minutes walking distance through our gardens. Stay with us, and feel like home…… But don’t miss out on having the Time of Your life ! Rio Residency twinned with Resort Rio. The best of both worlds ! Main Attractions a). Beautifully appointed accommodation from Cozy rooms to family villas. b). In North Goa and close to all the action, beaches, restaurants nightclubs and yet in a beautiful peaceful location. c). The famous Night Markets and the day flea market just a short distance. d). Beautiful location. e). A paradise for bird watchers. f). Panjim, the Capital of Goa, just 12 km. g).“ Jalsa”- The pure vegetarian Gujarathi Restaurant - Awarded by Times of India Good Food Guide as the Best Vegetarian restaurant in Goa in the last two consecutive years. h). " Mamma Mia "- Ristorante Italiano and Pizzeria. i). " Aagor "- the Goan shack. j). " Rio cafebar" A 24-Hour Cafe & Lounge Bar serving a choice of alcoholic & non alcoholic beverages from coffee to cocktails . k). " Pickled Mango" All day dining multi-cuisine international restaurant serving culinary delights from around the world . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Rio Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Residency Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing