We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clueless service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Arpora
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
74 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Clueless service”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

For any traveler, be it for business or pleasure, a hotel is supposed to be like a home base... so no matter how good the beds are or how yummy the food is, the service can make or break the experience.

I stayed at DoubleTree for 2 days this weekend on a work trip. Because I landed by 6:30am, and reached the hotel by 7:15am - I requested an early check in. The lady at the desk said it would be chargeable, and I agreed immediately. From that moment, it was a downhill experience. It took them over 90 minutes to find me room, do basic housekeeping and give me the swipe card. They kept saying 10-15 min, and not once did either of the people at the desk even bother to go upstairs to check on the status.

I had requested that I wanted to have a word with the manager to share my feedback - no manager got in touch during the stay.

Later that night, one of my colleagues needed a Crocin. They said that they don't keep medicines, and we'd need to pay for a cab to send someone to get the meds (!)

They don't have a 24 hour menu. Another colleague wanted to order a sandwich at 11pm, after a long day of work, and there was repeated pressure from the waitstaff that "This is the last order for food".

The coffee cups, that were brought to my room at 1pm were not cleared till I checked out the next day.

Any one of the instances above, and I would have dismissed it as a off day. But all these together really got me riled. Paying customers, expecting basic levels of hospitality and warmth should look for other options. I would not recommend this place to anybody.

Oh, and the supposed USP cookie had tiny bits of really hard shell of some nut. The breakfast too was extremely basic (equivalent to a 3 star). The bathrooms are small, have new fittings, but old tiles.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dee_swam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    475
    201
    61
    59
See reviews for
457
466
46
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were a group of 6 adults and stayed at DoubleTree for four nights. Everything from food, rooms, services, facilities was great. The check in took longer than expected but the service during our 4 days stay made us forget that.

We got complimentry pick and drop from the airport; the staff was very friendly and accomodating and the location is perfect.

I would suggest repair of the pool table.

Thanks to the staff for the lovely experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swati M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGOA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Swati,

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Goa Arpora Baga,

Let me thank you for sending your valuable feedback. It is our pleasure to know that we were able to match your expectations in terms of service and product standards. Such feed backs give us the strength to further develop the standards of our hospitality.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

regards

TP

T.P.Sreejith
General Manager
tp.sreejith@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here to bring 2013 in. Nice place. What really differentiated this property for us was the client centric approach of the hotel staff. They do what it takes. In busy time, to be able to live up to / exceed the expectations of your guests, I am sure, takes very significant effort and commitment. Well done Hilton. See you guys soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SachinChhabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGOA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear SachinChhabra,

Let me thank you for sending your valuable feedback. It is our pleasure to know that we were able to match your expectations in terms of service and product standards.

We are very happy that the team at the hotel were able to match your expectations and were able to showcase the true standards of Hilton hospitality.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests. Looking forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

regards

TP

T.P.Sreejith
General Manager
tp.sreejith@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here for almost a week. Alltogether a good hotel, very nice premises, but there are many problems with hotel services: shuttle busses don't always come to take you from the beach (one needs to take a taxi then); shuttle busses start only at 11a.m.; one night at 5a.m. we woke up because of noise just a few steps from our room door - there were some 5-6 hotel emploees sitting and talking very loudly. In the middle of the night? What the hell? Also there are not always towels at the pool; once fire siren went off for no reason, there are also continuous electricity brown-outs, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wytska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharuch, India
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

HI,

We checked in this hotel last night and the property is very good also one of the rooms we got upgrade however today evening when my wife wanted to go for shower there was not hot water and when we called someone it took them 20 mins to send someone to come and have a look and again no response for other half an hour until i rushed to reception as no one was picking the phone up. Staff said it will take them an hour to resolve the issue so had to take a cold shower not very happy at all.

Regards,
Shyam

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShyamMajithia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTGOA, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Shyam Majithia,

Greetings from DoubleTree by Hilton Goa – Arpora-Baga!

Thank you for taking time to post your valuable comments and meeting in person to discuss and ensure that you had a memorable experience for the rest of the stay. Your feedback will help us consolidate our strengths and further improve our services.

While it is our constant endeavor to delight every guest and give them a memorable experience; we do acknowledge that it did not happen with you. Please accept sincere apologies.

Lastly, and most importantly, we hope you will grant us an opportunity to welcome you back to a true and warm DoubleTree by Hilton experience.

Sincerely,

TP Sreejith
tp.sreejith@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

When we booked in, we enquired about the compulsory New Years Dinner Gala ,we were informed it was not compulsory but on the day we were told it was compulsary at approx INR 7000.00 per person what a rip off as the meals and the entertainment provided was not worth it INR 2000.00,main course was only served at 9.30 In Goa ,most hotels have these compulsary New Years Xmas Dinners ,why must these dinners be imposed on to there guests which is unfair to the guests as this really and furthermore you are forced spend New Years at the hotel as you can access Baga Beach due traffic congestion of up to 3 hrs. Daya n Family. South Africa

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Arpora-Goa had been my home for about 54hours. It is a beautiful hotel with nice interiors. I was approached warmly by Ms. Kimberly Alphonso who gave a brief about the hotel and its facilities. My room was clean and spacious with an amazing view from the balcony overlooking the lagoon. The hotel restaurants had their charm. The servers were quiet friendly. The Sula wine and martini were perfect and the schezwan sauce the best I had tasted. Not forgetting the goan dishes that were very delicious. The lobby area is pleasant with comfy chairs. The seat out spaces and play areas were very relaxing and good to hang out. The staff was very professional, friendly and willing to assist.
I appreciate the attitute and certainly recommend Double Tree Hotel.
Special thanks to the fantastic staff :-)

Room Tip: Balcony overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cal_Evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
3.8 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
3.4 mi away
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
Novotel Goa Shrem Hotel
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
6.9 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
10.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 2 in Bambolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#14 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
Address: Ximer | Arporra Baga, Arpora 403518, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
#3 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga 5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing