We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Quality”
Review of Nic and Nat's

Nic and Nat's
Ranked #14 of 79 Restaurants in Arpora
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Poor Quality”
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited this place as it was on a list of recommendations and listed as Indian food - apparently it used to have more variety until last year when they changed the menu to concentrate primarily on European dishes. The size of the portions are pitiful and not even in a large plate small portion beautifully presented sort of way. The quality is very poor and we basically ate and left. The greatest shame is we wasted an opportunity to visit one of the other many great restaurants by staying at Nic and Nat's that night and tolerating at best mediocre food.

Helpful?
Thank AndasC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the best”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went here as we were just staying around the corner and read some of the reviews. We were really disappointed!! When looking at the menu, i did think it was cheap for a la carte food. My soup was just a bowl of cream with maybe 1 or 2 small prawns cut up. The steak was definitely not fillet as stated on the menu....im not sure if it was even cow!! It was tough as old boots and tasted vile! I also asked for potatoes instead of chips...it didnt happen. Service was slow and cold. We skipped dessert and ordered a couple of large espresso's. These were cold and made of instant rubbish coffee. Why didn't they say thats all the coffee they had?? There are plenty better restaurants around. I personally wouldn't waste my time or money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yeatesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worst Lasagne i have ever had.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Went on a recommendation. I ordered the vegetable lasagne and my husband the meat lasagne.
Well when it arrived what can i say. It was basically some veg in the bottom of the dish. I think one thin layer of pasta. Covered in a watery cheese sauce. There was no substance to it. When i tried to pick it up of the fork it just slipped off.
Really was a joke. I don't normally complain but told the waiter. He gave a nervous smile and scampered off. When he came back again i told him once more, same silly smile and off he went. Nothing was mentioned to a manager or anyone.
To me it appeared to be the kind of place where you put a nice table cloth on, some wine glasses, give you a big smart menu that gives the owner the excuse to be able to charge more, and serve up sub standard food and get away with it.
The worse thing every table was full. Because it was full the service was very slow.
Husbands food was not any better.
I have had good lasange here in Goa. At Fiesta. So there is Chefs out there that can cook nice food that i would recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“OUR FAVOURITE !!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

everyone recommended this place when we got to Goa, and we found out why the food,service and atmosphere was fantastic. we went a few times and it never disappointed.the fish on the menu was fantastic and also had the best fillet steak i have had anywhere for a while.it is quite modern looking but not to modern, it is clean and very reasonably priced.we met the actual Nic & Nat (the Owners little girls). i wish we could have brought it home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
421 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Best steak and ribs in all of Goa!”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

From the outside this place does not look like much as the sign unfortunately is in front of a laundromat. We had been to this place three times - it was just that good! Every meal was spectacular. The beef steak that they served was actually the best steak we have ever had. Period. We have been raving about this place to our friends. As it is not yet so popular the restaurant is always quite empty but I do hope that changes. However that may be due to its location and the fact that this year tourism has really dropped compared to the previous years. We spent hours there and had a good chat to the boss and praised him with man thanks for such great meals.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ivana-banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nic and Nat's also viewed

Arpora, North Goa District
Arpora, North Goa District
 
Arpora, North Goa District
Arpora, North Goa District
 

Been to Nic and Nat's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing