We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just the jazz...”
Review of poco loco - CLOSED

poco loco
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not just the jazz...”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I've been using this restaurant on Baga River road for years. Its main appeal to me is the live jazz and I've had some truly memorable nights here as some times the place just rocks. Good mix of food of food, its known for its Mexican food but they do a mix of various cuisines. My rating of four stars is for the jazz nights!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Blublublu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Puri, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome place by the road side”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

poco loco provides a nice ambience , very pleasant lighting. and on the days they play jazz , the place jus roars and people enjoy their food dancing , laughing and having the best tym in goa.. love the paper lamps specially :)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jagdish P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Meximagic on the Baga river”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nicely positioned on the Arpora road along the lazy Baga river which joins the sea ahead, Poco Loco is a merry mix of many cuisines, like most other places in Goa. But this Mexican hotchpotch has managed to select the nicest dishes of each country and ends up offering "Mexitalianindichingoamericano"! and bravo to that.
 Choose, from, for example, Pollo en salsa verdo, Sizzling Fajitas, Chilli Con Carne,Pork Vindaloo, Manchurian chicken, Texas style  Pork Chops with Mexican rice, lasagnas and Risottos, and Butter chicken, and on and on. It took me a good fifteen minutes to read through the menu and another fifteen to choose from such a creative offering. My sizzling Fajitas with strips of steak beef fillet on a bed of sautéed onions, peppers and veggies, accompanied by sour cream and salsa were a visual delight, the steak was tender and done just right. Sohan our waiter was so cheerful and ran up and down the stairs to the hotel kitchen bringing trays of goodies for the hungry guests, some of whom were staying in the Royal Goan Resort, and others like us who walked in, trying to escape the hot Goa summer, the hottest to date. I will keep going back, there is so much more to try, the Chimichangas, home made tortilla chips with guacamole , the Pomfret Recheido...
The prices were a wee bit higher than maybe Brittos, but the portions were large and good for sharing . I would recommend dinner if you are there now as the temperatures are hitting 35 centigrade but soon the rains should be here and lunch would be great too. The bar belts out music not too loud so you can chat and hear yourself eating.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“big serving”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

it serves mexican food near a beach club.the service is fine,or i shall say normal,not too bad or not too good and the food serving is really big!i ordered a beef steak which cost around 400rs and they gave me three big pieces of beef steak!i couldnt finish it.its an average restaurant with a very reasonable price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“okay”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just had a snack here. Fish and chips. Nothing special. The OH had a club sandwich which was ok. Free wifi. Slow service. Maybe better at dinner time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 01480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed poco loco also viewed

Arpora, North Goa District
Arpora, North Goa District
 
Arpora, North Goa District
Arpora, North Goa District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing