We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel”
Review of Resort Rio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Resort Rio
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Arpora
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2014

nice place
good rooms
good food
close to baga beach
good spa & pool
The new villa was exceptionally...
And the best part is its lovely location ......
cleanness is my priority and this hotel was good enough for me.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chiragsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and a positive review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you have referred us as an ideal family hotel and that you appreciated our convenient location close to all the major attractions in North Goa, the general cleanliness and delectable cuisines.

We thank you once again for your great comments and look forward to your future visit!

Please do visit us on face book and our website for special promos, updates and offers..

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,775)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,146 - 1,152 of 1,775 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

First, the hotel is clean, has good facilities and friendly helpful staff. However the pricing while your staying at the hotel spoils the experience. On our first night we had a buffet meal and a couple of drinks, the bill came to £38. Considering you can eat out of the hotel for £12 for a great meal this is more than double the price for just average buffet food.A plate of chips is £5 and a beer is £2.30. Out of the hotel a beer is 80p. It's a real shame they over charge for everything because the hotel is so nice.
Resort rio was also the only place where they dont tell you the actual price of things. Every menu, including the spa gives a price, then when the bill comes approx 20% is added to the bill- 10% service charge and 10% tax. It would be better to just be up front, It makes you feel that they are trying to trick money out of you. I asked a number of the staff serving us if they got the service charge that was added to the bill and they said they don't receive it. Goa also has tax free alcohol but the hotel still adds tax to the bill.
Another annoyance was half way into the holiday they increased the pool bar prices by 15% without informing the guest or changing the menu.
When staying at a 5star hotel you expect the prices to be higher than the local area but I really feel they need to change the way they price things and be up front and honest.

The hotel is well maintained and has staff who can't do enough for you. At points it even felt like there were more staff than guests. The pool and pool bar is great and the gym facilities are pretty new. Resort Rio is near to a few restaurants and only a short taxi ride away from the beach. We had a fantastic relaxing holiday and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and regret the average review of our resort. Your review states that our resort comprises of good facilities, friendly and helpful staff eager to assist and that the general cleanliness is top notch. However your concern was the price factor.

We are a five star property employing hundreds of staff. We also maintain our property in terms of ambience and hygiene to a very high standard. Further our property is well secured and safe and guests safety and happiness is our priority. The cost to provide such facility as well as fantastic competitive rates for rooms inevitably means that we have to charge to recover and make a small profit. Accordingly, comparing of our resort prices to shacks and small time restaurants cannot be correct as we not only look into the hygiene aspect but also fresh quality and care both in preparation and replenishment that we simply offer the best and delicious food to all our fellow guests. I truly believe that the so called eateries outside the resort lack in few of these aspects. An operational cost of any resort never lessens but in-fact inflates every year.

The other hand you mention that taxes are applied, unfortunately to which we do not have a control on as they are government applicable taxes. Without the tax money, the state may not be able to develop the infrastructure. Goa is widely known as a tourist destination and an able means for the state to generate revenue from this sector, hence the taxes are levied. This is a proven fact and to ease your concern please note the link as follows for your reference http://www.goacomtax.gov.in/index.php.

Goa is duty free but not tax free. Tax on liquor is chargeable. I am disappointed that you implied that we were charging taxes even though no taxes are levied since this is absolutely not true and I wish you had done your research prior to going public in a site such as tripadvisor. Also note that the service charge that is duly levied is paid to the staff in a timely manner, no establishment would want to play with their hardworking staff's dues. There may have been a misunderstanding that they have not been paid the service charge amount now but will be paid later after reconciliation of the same.

Nonetheless we are pleased to know that you had a fantastic relaxing holiday and would refer us to fellow travelers.

We hope to see you soon again!

Please do visit us on face book and our website for special offers promos and updates..

Warm regards,
Pracilo Dsilva
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

it was good hotel .......... cleanness is my priority and this hotel was good enough for me. And the best part is its lovely location . but when it came to services i had an average experience .... and the interiors as not that good . ok ok types but yes it was very secured .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweta2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and a positive review of our resort. We value your comments on the general cleanliness and convenient location to all the major attractions in North Goa. We regret that you had an average experience with our services; we consider this a miss and assure that a future visit would reiterate our genuine hospitality.

We thank you once again and look forward to your next visit!

Please do visit us on our website and face book for special offers, promos and updates…

Warm regards,

Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were a party of 13 some sharing a villa and the rest in 3 luxury bedrooms staying for five nights.Arrived on Xmas day and were treated with a sumptuous gala dinner and entertainment.There was such a variety of well presented starters main and desserts both for vegetarians and non-vegetarians.The villa was exceptionally furnished to a very high standard and so were the bedrooms.For those who are Jains or vegetarian the award winning JALSA restaurant is highly recommended.We visited the ZAARA Spa for various treatments including getting haircuts! Deepak and Suvidha in ZAARA were excellent at treating our ever needs.Excellent trained staff who are very attentive and helpful.Even though the resort was fully occupied it seemed extremely quiet.Looking forward to the next visit there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilesh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and an excellent review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your accommodation, our sumptuous X’mas Eve Gala Dinner and entertainment, specialty restaurant – Jalsa and Zaara Spa.

We appreciate your comments on the genuine hospitality received from the staff and have noted your special mention of praise for particular staff member i.e. Deepak and Suvidha from the Spa.

We thank you once again and look forward to your future visit!

Please do visit us on our website and face book for special offers, promos and updates…

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you're looking to go to Goa, stay nowhere else but Rio Resort!!! First class in all aspects. From dining to customer service. We rate spa here at the Rio, the best we have ever been to. Taxi services all the time, with friendly guides. Jalsa Restaurant is one of the finest Dining ever!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne Lynette I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and an excellent review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you had an excellent stay and that you rated us as first class in all aspects right from dining to genuine hospitality.

With easy accessibility to rent a bike, taxis, close proximity to all the major attractions in North Goa and that our Jalsa restaurant is the finest dining outlet ever.

We once again thank you for the great comments and look forward to your next visit!

Please do visit us on face book and our website for special promos, updates and offers..

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

In Short this was our third visit to this fine hotel, a warm welcome from the staff at all stations as they recalled our previous visits. The hotel continues to evolve, always looking for further ways to delight, impress and attract new customers.

Although the Hotel seemed extremely quiet it was in fact fully occupied, we visited during the second week of January just for three days, so that we could meet with some friends staying there.

On this visit we made use of the well equipped Gym, overlooked by us in the past because we were no aware of it, great equipment and under used it was a treat. We made use of the Zaara Spa experiencing the Head, Neck and Back massage and the Tibetan Singing Bowl Massage which was a delightful 1hr 30min of pure indulgence and highly recommended.

This will not be our last stay of that we are sure, the hotel is still to be discovered, the themed evenings and creations by the chef's are superb to look at and consume.

Room Tip: High Floor Rooms provide the best views. Bookings advisable way in advance during the festive season...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirateofthecaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and an excellent review of our resort. We are pleased to have you as our valued and esteemed customer same reciprocated by our staff by the warm welcome and genuine hospitality. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the time of their lives and are always finding ways and means to enhance guest experience.

We value your comments on the resort facilities especially the Zaara Spa and the treatments offered, the restaurants and the delectable cuisines artistically arranged.

We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Please do visit us on our website and face book for special offers, promos and updates…

Warm regards,
Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

After my prev stay in another hotel in North goa, I didnt have much expectation from this hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The high light of the hotel are the staff. They were very attentive and helpful. We were three women travelling alone with a baby and we always felt safe.

Our room was big with a nice big balcony. The bathroom was perfect 5 star standard. The only issue with the hotel is the location (baga is the closest beach at 2 kms) and the narrow road that leads up to the hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms are well sized. We were three women plus a baby and were quite comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aishwarya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pracilo, Front Office Manager at Resort Rio, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your time and an excellent review of our resort. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay, our accommodation and its interiors. And yes were just 2 kms from the renowned Baga beach.

We regret that the location was a concern however our convenient location is truly a great asset and appreciated by fellow travelers for its close proximity to major attractions in North Goa.

We thank you for the room tip and hope to see you soon again!

Please do visit us on our website and face book for special offers, promos and updates…

Warm regards,

Pracilo D’silva
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arpora
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Goa - Arpora - Baga
0.7 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
6.3 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Spazio Leisure Resort
Spazio Leisure Resort
#4 of 18 in Anjuna
409 reviews
9.9 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resort Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resort Rio

Address: | Near Baga Beach, Tambudki, Arpora 403518, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Arpora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Arpora
#1 Luxury Hotel in Arpora
#1 Romantic Hotel in Arpora
Price Range: $89 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resort Rio 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resort Rio, a five star luxury deluxe spa resort in Goa, is spread over 10 acres on the banks of the Baga River and is just a 5 minute drive from the world famous Baga Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Resort Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Rio Hotel Arpora
Resort Rio Goa/Arpora

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing